We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AWESOME SAUCE!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Avli Lounge Apartments
Ranked #2 of 165 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AWESOME SAUCE!!!”
Reviewed 29 December 2010

From the moment you step into the lounge/restaurant area of this hotel, you're given a warm greeting. The ambiance of the entire place gives you a cozy feeling and it almost feels like you're in another world, separated from the popular/exciting town that AVLI sits in. Everything is within a stroll of whichever building you stay in once you step out. It reminded us of Greenwich Village in New York with the exception that the apartments were very spacious!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jskilz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    34
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
73
362
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Centered in the old town of Rethymnon, this hidden gem is both unique and comfortable. This is a great location for exploring many facets of Crete; from Venetian ports to beaches to Samaria or ruins. Our hosts were able to arrange both local and island adventures in advance. Their outstanding hospitality and willingness to accommodate our needs is often not found in larger resorts. Don't miss the local cuisine featured in a charming courtyard !

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rskee44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2010

We stayed at Avli for a week in October as part of a delayed honeymoon and found the hotel after searching for hotels with great restaurants... of which Avli can certainly boast. It was the best place for food we found and ending up eating and drinking there most evenings, taking advantage of both the lovely service and extensive wine list.
The host Thanasis is very much the heart and soul of this place welcoming you like a long lost friend and certainly a most welcomed guest. He takes his time for all the guests and diners advising on wine, the best food to eat or where to explore on the island.
Whilst there we had a cooking lesson which was fantastic, thorough and enjoyable - its definitely worth doing if you are of a foody persuasion.
I would absolutely return and recommend Avli to all those looking for a unique and special place to stay not only in Crete but in Greece.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sleats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telluride, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

We needed to be surgically removed from our address in Chania, Casa Delfino. We had melded with the place. Casa Delfino would be a hard act to follow, but Avli fit the bill. Like Casa Delfino, Avli was created on the bones of an ancient Venetian structure and beautifully integrates past splendor with modern convenience. Our suite, the White Suite, was spacious and well appointed. The high speed Internet worked, which is the bottom line for two people who own an online magazine. (We review Casa Delfino and Avli @www,tellurideinside.com. Just type either name into Search.) Best of all was the service, primarily from the man who was, effectively, our host, Thanassis Fragidis. He takes a hands-on approach to all his guests, meeting and greeting them upon arrival. Standard Operating Procedure you say. If that's where the niceties ended, you would be right. But that was not the case. Thanassis orchestrated our dinner in Avli's superb restaurant, he arranged for a town tour with his top guide, Joanna, who came because of her regard for Thanassis despite a flu. On our last night, he walked us to a restaurant owned by a friend right on the harbor. We asked him to order and to join us for a drink. His conversation proved wide-ranging, way beyond chitchat. We had to leave ungodly early the next morning (4 am). Thanassis made sure we had our breakfast in the room that night. What can we say? Our stay at Avli was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tellurideinside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

We stayed at Avli suites with 2 kids. The welcome and the personal recommendations offered by the managers Eva and Thanassis, made our stay both at the hotel and while touring the area, a memorable experience. Dinner outside in the beautiful patio restaurant, was perfect - a combination of traditional food and a modern interpretaion. The kids were especially catered to. The rooms are amazing in size and originality of design, and the extra perk of the rooftop jacuzzi was a woinderful surprise. The rooms are in a quiet charming pedestrian street in old Rethymnon, so there are great walks just outside you door.Although the place is mainly suited for a romantic vacation, the children were made to feel welcome. A perfect stay. Thanks to Thanassis and Eva.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IMichal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

My wife & I stayed at Avli for 5 nights on our Honeymoon. It was absolutely perfect from the moment we landed till the day we left. My wife and I have traveled extensively all over the world, Europe, Asia, Africa, South America and North America. Avli is hands down our favorite place yet. We can't wait to go back. If your looking for a resort style place, this is not it. But if your looking for culture, life, love, friendship, personal hospitality, character, intimacy, kindness, privacy then this is a must. We felt so cherished by the staff. Easily the friendliest place we have traveled to. If you travel to Greece and don't stay here then I think you would be really missing out. Vacation or Business Avli is a must for every traveler coming to this are. Thanks Avli!!!! We miss you! HA.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryanwegenast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
140 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights on our honeymoon in late July 2010. Overall, this was perhaps the best place we stayed in all of Greece. The service was first rate and the food was exquisite--they really made us feel like movie stars.

When we arrived we were greeted with some white wine while the manager spoke with us about our expectations for our stay in Reythemnon. He provided excellent personal service throughout our stay and helped us in many ways (with local tips and tricks) to see and do the best things. They were attentive hosts throughout the stay and ensured that every moment was enjoyable. We were in the "white suite", which was absolutely beautiful. The restaurant was also decorated beautifully with native flowers and trees in the outdoor courtyard.

Speaking of the restaurant, it was Cretan cuisine at its finest. The chefs and someliers really did a wonderful every time we ate there (3 times in 5 nights). The baby goat and roasted lamb were excellent and the shrimp was very well done.The wine list was amazing and we had several great bottles of whites and reds during our stay. We tried other restaurants, but decided that the Avli restaurant was the best one in town. The breakfast was also extremely nice every morning--the fresh squeezed orange juice was perfect along with the cakes, spreads, yogurt, and cretan omlettes.

The location of Avli is right in the middle of old town Rethymno. It was easy for us to get around and we walked to a bunch of places. We also rented a car and found cheap parking just down the street.

We enjoyed our stay so much we hope to return here on future visits to Crete.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EuroHoneyMoon2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
0.0 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 165 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
4.3 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.1 mi away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#3 of 165 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments
27.5 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
70.7 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avli Lounge Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avli Lounge Apartments

Property: Avli Lounge Apartments
Address: Xanthoudidou 22 & Radamanthios, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#4 Business Hotel in Rethymnon
#5 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Avli Lounge Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small boutique - only ten suites - hotel in the middle of the old town of Rethymno. Each suite ranges from 375 sq.feet to 645 sq.feet and each is decorated differently using a color scheme. Two junior suites and one penthouse suite feature an open plan Jacuzzi tub inside the room and two junior and the two executive suites feature same Jacuzzi tub in a separate area. All suites are equipped with a refrigerator/mini bar, satellite TV, stereo, safe deposit box, internet access. The penthouse suite features two balconies, one executive suite features a Romeo&Juliet balcony and the second executive suite features one balcony. The building itself is a 15th-century Venetian mansion that was renovated in 2006. The suites are served by an award winning restaurant - considered one of the best in Greece - featuring a wine cellar with over 400 labels of wine and a courtyard where guests can enjoy their a la carte breakfast (included n the price of the suite). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avli Lounge Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avli Lounge Apartments Hotel Rethymnon
Avli Lounge Apartments Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing