We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apollon Hotel Apartments
Ranked #47 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2012

This hotel was a great find. We were a little apprehensive about booking a hotel over the internet,but so pleased we did. The Apollon was spotless, the staff were friendly and always happy to help.Our room 111 had 3 beds if needed Kettle,fridge 2electric rings, pots pans etc if reqired .table chairs inside and table & chairs on ballcony. There was also a small washing line on balcony,which we found useful. Bathroom was Lg Basin ,toilet & shower.hairdryer.Towels & bedding changed every couple of days.Air conditioning available if needed.Also continental breakfast available.Great place to stay, as a couple, families or a group of friends.Not a noisy place to stay so nice to relax.Only 5 minutes walk to 2 local friendly Tavernas,& at 10 minute walk down hill to main strip with lots of places to eat,drink & shop,& the beachHotel sell bus tickets into Rethymnon @1.20 euro each way which is about a 20 minute ride fromPlatanes main St.This was our first visit to Crete,but the Hotel made it a Great experience.Would deffinatly use again.

Room Tip: Groud floor good access to open door & jump in pool or go to Bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gill f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2012

We booked this hotel for a cheap holiday before I went back to work after been on Maternity leave.
The hotel was lovely and quite, towels and bedding changed every other day. All Staff were very friendly and helpful, they loved our baby daughter and did as much as they could for us and her. We booked for Bed and Breakfast, and the hotel room had a kitchenette in it. Its was continental breakfast served by Maria. There are many cats around the hotel but they pose no problem at all. It was just so relaxing, with some music on during the day, which is what we wanted. The pool and Pool bar was clean and our daughter enjoyed swimming twice a day.
A short walk to the main town where there was bars and restaurants and shops, where the people were friendly.
Thank you to all the staff, especially Maria.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lauraksenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Arrived at the hotel greeted by Zac the friendly bar man, helped us to our rooms by carrying luggage and let us know a little about the hotel. On first impression hotel and room appeared tidy and pool was amazing lit up at night. Our room was very spacious and had all your basic utensils. Balcony was lovely and private.
The location of the hotel is not too far from the main strip, quiet area with a few restaurants close to the hotel. The walk to the main strip is about 5-10 mins, passing a lidl which was handy. On the main strip there were lots of tavernas and shops suitable for couples and families. The beach was close by too.
Rethymno is easy accessible from the hotel, u can order a taxi which would cost 8 euros or buy bus tickets from reception wich only cost 1.20 euros and stop is on the main strip.
The pool bar is open till late and a little shop is inside the hotel. Breakfast and snacks are also available at a reasonable price throughout the day!
All the staff are really friendly an make you feel so welcome, we will sure go back again !

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FionaD89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Following an all too short stay with the Appollon Family, I would love to recommend this hotel to any traveller. A quiet spot, with more than adequate facilities with friendly staff - who serve fantastic Frappes!!

No sign of any noisy families or nosie from the bar - I stayed in Room 206 and found this to be clean, tidy and more than adequate cooking facilities for my needs.

I am really looking forward to returning as soon as I can!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Just back from a two week holiday with my family. Lovelly clean apartments, towels and bedding changed every other day. Staff always friendly and willing to help. A short walk to the main strip for restaurants but a pleasant one at that. Lovelly friendly people. The beach was lovelly the bar was open late but only till the last man went home no roudy holiday makers. We will be going back again.

Room Tip: Do not go here if you have walking difficulties unless you are willing to hire a car or get a taxi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

The hotel is lovely and the rooms are basic but clean. Our room was facing the back of the hotel I think near 'the noisy family' which was quoted in an earlier review. However this was no problem at all they were NOT noisy!!. We were on a bed and breakfast basis and our continental breakfast was served to us every day on the terrace by the very lovely Maria. It was so peaceful The hotel is in a great place just a 10 to 15 minute walk to beach and all the bars and resaturants down the road and under the bridge. I would definitely return. Jack (Iakovic) the barman is a real character and we all loved him. There are many cats around the hotel but they pose no problem at all. It was just so relaxing, with some music on during the day and the holidayers got together at night for a last few drinks before going to bed. Jack will keep the bar going as long as you want and he makes great cocktails!! Enjoy!!

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor and the room was fine for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dizzdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

My girlfriend and I are just returning from a stay at the apollon. We would definitely recommend this hotel. However you have to bear in mind you get what you pay for. If your looking for a friendly, quiet, relaxing budget break then this is the place. We are about to have our first child and wanted to get away before the madness starts! If your wanting night life this place is not it.

What we found bad were that It's not in rethymno it's in platanias which is a 8-10 euro taxi journey. Which we were not told by Thomas cook. Platanias is a bit tacky and run down.

The restaurants are not very authentic and in general you need to go to rethymno. We usually go by the rule if the restaurants full then it can't be bad! Exception avoid verginas. Always packed in both restaurants, food was below average. However there is an excellent Meze place 2 mins down the road from the hotel opposite the church. I think it was called boemiss. Excellent food, Meze portions are big beware! We always left with full belly. You must try the koukouvaiga. Mother and daughter who run it are brilliant. In rethymno the lemon tree had great food.

Some people may find the hotel too far from platanias. It's 10 mins walking to platanias and 15 mins to the beach. Didn't bother us. Beaches were clean and it was 5 euros for two sunbeds. Yiannis beach taverna was good for lunch. (can you tell we like nice food!)

Everyone is friendly and helpful. At the hotel, at the beach, in restaurants.

I know it's a cliche but it's true. The hotel is clean and tidy. Our room was cleaned and beds were changed every other day. For the cost it was perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mick77York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
1.5 mi away
Aristea Hotel Rethymnon
Aristea Hotel Rethymnon
#30 of 175 in Rethymnon
157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Axos
Hotel Axos
#2 of 21 in Platanias
410 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castello Bianco Hotel
Castello Bianco Hotel
#14 of 21 in Platanias
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cretan Sun
Cretan Sun
#15 of 21 in Platanias
127 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marianthi Apartments
Marianthi Apartments
#64 of 175 in Rethymnon
66 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Batis Rethymno
Hotel Batis Rethymno
#48 of 175 in Rethymnon
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollon Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollon Hotel Apartments

Address: Nees Fokees Street | Platanes, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Rethymnon
#36 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range: £20 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Apollon Hotel Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Platanes of Rethymno, one of the most beautiful areas of Crete, a quiet and hospitable place was created for you and your family. Traditional villages surround Apollon Apartments and they are within 10 min walking distance from the sandy beach of Platanes. Our apartments offer you a friendly, pleasant and hospitable environment with excellent and modern facilities including a fully equipped kitchenette with fridge, phone, radio, safety box and air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apollon Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollon Hotel Rethymnon
Apollon Hotel Apartments Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing