We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“superb friendly apartments” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apollon Hotel Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Apollon Hotel Apartments
Ranked #48 of 167 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“superb friendly apartments”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Just had the most relaxing and enjoyable two weeks in these apartments. Very comfortable bed and shady balcony. There were plenty of sun beds, and comfortable seats around the bar area. The pool was not too crowded, and I enjoyed swimming several times a day. Everything was very clean, and the family and staff extremely friendly - nothing was too much trouble for them, they would make phone calls to find out specific information for us. Great location, just 10 minutes walk from the hustle and bustle, with two great tavernas very close by. I would have loved to stay on for a further 2 weeks, and definately want to return here.

Room Tip: Room 113 is an apartment close to the pool, with a shady balcony. Room 121 has a balcony which gets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank perpetualtraveller60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    50
    27
    10
    4
See reviews for
55
71
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed here in August for a last minute holiday. The hotel and staff are just perfect they welcome you like you are their family it was just like being at home. Nothing is too much trouble they are so warming and traditionally Greek in the fact they are trusting and layed back and nothing at all is too much trouble. The hotel is spotlessly clean the rooms are traditional wood frame beds but so so comfortable I wanted to bring mind home. The room was spacious immaculately clean and they left us a breakfast pack as we were in late which had crackers, juice, cheese, water tea and coffee and milk ( nice touch ) we paid for that the next morning with our air con and safety deposit which came to a total of maybe €34 tops didn't take much notice as it was so cheap!!! The hotel is not expensive at all for drinks we never ate their but snacks looked lovely and were reasonably priced. We strolled to plantanas most nights but stayed local on the first night always used the first pub as a beer stop en route in to town again dead cheap we had good one night their half carafe wine and moussaka and salad was only €17.80 . We ate in a fish restaurant one evening only because we fancied fish that was a bit pricy but we knew it would be. Rethmynon is very expensive nice to see it we took a taxi only €10 I believe you can bus it. We preferred staying local or in plantanas the pool at the hotel was lovely size and very clean although we did beach it 3 times only be ause it was so hot was nice to have a breeze as we love to bake in the sun all day read a book and relax their are trips if you want them but we didn't bother as all we wanted to do was relax. That is exactly what we did nothing was over priced the hotel was perfect for us as we wanted a quiet get away and village type stay which is what we got and were able to walk to the town if we wanted it. The staff work so hard at the hotel Maria runs around all day was sorry to have to say goodbye and come home, but we had to and we were TOTALY TOTALY relaxed when we did. We will return again and would take the kids for a week. If u want traditional style Greek and relaxation then stay here if you want loud entertainment and kids clubs and all inclusive and water slides etc then book something else. We loved it and can't wait to go back :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kdoverplymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

stayed here for a week with my husband and son this month and we thought it was lovely.All the staff were so very friendly and helpful.Our room was cleaned every other day and the pool cleaned every day which was a good size.Just have to say if you book a holiday here you would not be disapointed.
Great Tavernas near by and nice beach bars too.Overall fantastic holiday. :)

Room Tip: the room with a view over the garden is quiet,shady and cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissy730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Have been to lots of Greek properties on lots of islands and the quality of the Apollon shines through. Better than most apartments, spotlessly clean and friendly and helpful staff.
You do need to factor in the location as it's a fair walk from the main drag and beach, but apart from that, highly recommended.
The short cut to the White Lady / Remember end of the resort makes a refreshing change on an evening. Turn right at the bakery, then left and through the underpass.
Lidl at the bottom of the main hill has everything you need and the hotel has water in it's little shop, so need to lug that up the hill.
Taverna Vergena rooftop was our favourite place and the vegetarian moussake is the best I've ever had. Remember does excellent pizzas.
The 10 min bus trip to Rethymnon is a must

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay at apollon and we had a lovely time. all staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are quite basic but clean and everything you need. The pool is a good size. There is a supermarket 5mins away, useful if you want to make own breakfast and lunch. The apartments are about a 10 min walk from platanes itself which is a lovely place. Plenty of tavernas, cocktail bars and typical tourist shops. You can also catch a bus from platanes to rethymnon for only 1 euro 20, but we found everything we needed was in platanes itself. Would definitely recommend for a quiet, good value and friendly holiday

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheffieldRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed here for two weeks last June and had a great time. Friendly staff, very clean room and a nice pool. Our room (221) was very spacious, a separate bedroom, a nice balcony with view over the garden, 2 sofas, a tv and a basic kitchenette we used for breakfast and coffee. The staff was very friendly and solved the only complaint we had very quickly (very noisy English neighbors that stayed indoors all the time). We loved the bar for a refreshing drink in the afternoon or a drink before bedtime. Our favorite places to eat where Pagona's Meze Place just 100 meter away in Tsesmes and Popeye on the boulevard in Platanes, both traditional Greek cuisine. Overall a very nice holiday and I am sure we'll return there some day.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

We loved the location here as it isn't right in the middle of a busy resort but a leisurely 10 minute walk. Platanas is lovely. There are loads of tavernas, shops, mini golf, go karts, and the beach. We had 2 children aged 6 and 8 and they really loved the place and the pool. It was never too busy around the pool area but everyone put towels on the sun loungers whether they came to use the pool or not. A word of advice - don't eat here! We had snacks in the bar area one lunchtime, but it was actually inedible - it was that bad! We ordered hot dogs and burgers and the bread was toasted and it was rock hard. We all had to leave the bread and just eat the burgers and sausages which weren't brilliant. Chips were overcooked too. Ate out every lunchtime after that. We stayed bed and breakfast and the food then was lovely, although very repetitive! It was cooked by a lady in the morning and she didn't burn everything, like the man cooking in the bar area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Axos
Hotel Axos
#2 of 20 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marianthi Apartments
Marianthi Apartments
#69 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eveline Apartments
Eveline Apartments
#5 of 20 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cretan Sun
Cretan Sun
#13 of 20 in Platanias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castello Bianco Hotel
Castello Bianco Hotel
#16 of 20 in Platanias
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
2.0 mi away
Daisy Hotel Apartments
Daisy Hotel Apartments
#80 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollon Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollon Hotel Apartments

Property: Apollon Hotel Apartments
Address: Nees Fokees Street | Platanes, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rethymnon
#34 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Apollon Hotel Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Platanes of Rethymno, one of the most beautiful areas of Crete, a quiet and hospitable place was created for you and your family. Traditional villages surround Apollon Apartments and they are within 10 min walking distance from the sandy beach of Platanes. Our apartments offer you a friendly, pleasant and hospitable environment with excellent and modern facilities including a fully equipped kitchenette with fridge, phone, radio, safety box and air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Apollon Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollon Hotel Rethymnon
Apollon Hotel Apartments Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing