We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good deal !”
Review of Casa Dei Delfini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Dei Delfini
Ranked #42 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
AVIGNON
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A very good deal !”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights and we were very pleased to have found such a comfort and warm welcome. We had the appartment at ground floor that has been very well decorated. We found everything we needed and the kitchen is perfectly well furbished. We were in the city centre but with no noise at all. The owner was very nice with us and helped us sorting out with a dammage we had with our rented car. No need to take the car that is safely parked very close to the flat. For sure, we strongly recommend this address.

Room Tip: If you want to have a lot of light, you should ask for first floor accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YLLAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    25
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
85
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Very nice little hotel. We really like the decoration and the way this little house is kept. Our room was on the second floor and had all the amenities we needed. Including a nice baby cot. The manager (I don't recall her name) is a very warm and nice lady and she is always willing to help with anything you need. This hotel has a superb location. Right in the old town of Rethymno but away from the noise. In general, a great value for the location and what you get. I definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Any room located in the upper floor. Not the one in the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

After staying in a dump in Chania, arriving to this place was like a dream. It was beautiful, just so quaint and lovely. The flowers (Jasmin? not sure but they were white) were flowering and the fragrant smell traveled to us when we sat on the little balcony at night, drinking some Raki we bought locally.

Even the bathroom was the most interesting style we've ever seen. Although at first I was a bit surprised to see the shower being so small and no curtain or door, it was really not that bad to use and sort of added to the atmosphere.

The one and only complaint we had was the noise of chairs dragging on stone floor above our bed. I believe above our room was a patio and we were woken up middle of the night, early in the morning... which was not very pleasant. We were going to tell the hostess but didn't get around to it as she was soooo nice and for some reason we didn't want to complaint something to her. (I know, weird. I guess she was THAT sweet?)

Anyway, I don't think this is really a place for families with little children - the sound echos and it's generally has a more romantic feel to it in my opinion. It's a gorgeous place for a great price - I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoMali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Loved staying here, location was perfect for our needs - easy reach of restaurants, shops, castle, harbour, beach, bus station. We had the lovely maisonette with it's own little roof terrace to sit on - especially nice for cocktails before dinner! Vangelis and Katerina were really helpful - for example on our last day we weren't transferring to the airport till late in the evening, but they gave us the (free) use of another room during that day. Vangelis even came with us to make sure we caught the transfer bus as it couldn't pick us up from the apartment (pedestrian streets).

Room Tip: Check out floor area - rooms are all different sizes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Crete is the distinctive Mediterranean island with a blend of Minoan, Mycenaean, Roman, Byzantium, Venetian, Turkish and Greek cultures. As the third biggest city on the island, Rethymno carries traces of all these civilizations in terms of culture, customs, food and architecture. Strolling through its narrow, cobbled streets with antique street lamps hanging tall, the Medieval Crete comes alive…You could almost see the tradesmen, householders and their livestock constantly encroaching along adjacent houses with high walls and spectacular wooden doors.

Casa dei Delfini, is a perfectly restored 16th century Venetian -Turkish town house, conveniently located on one of those original Venetian main streets. Stepping into its tiny, picturesque courtyard, you immediately feel the ‘protection’ and ‘privacy’ intended by its high walls centuries ago. The stunning beauty of the architecture, the sense of Middle Ages encircled within it's walls and the heavenly scent of the jasmines is amplified by the warmest greeting presented by Katerina, the owner, keeper and preserver of the historic mansion.
She welcomed us into our maisonette upstairs and gave us a much-needed orientation around town. We had specifically asked for Room #4, which was carefully renovated to preserve its original charm and character; like fascinating wooden cabinets built in stone walls, wooden beams in the ceiling, vaulted stone gate opening up to a kitchenette, parquet floors for additional warmth and a historical Turkish Hamam stylishly restored to reflect a journey of relaxation and a clear mind. I must admit, as a Turkish traveler, this was the first time I’ve ever stayed in a room with en-suite hamam, outside of Turkey! Grateful to Casa dei Delfini for preserving the Ottoman heritage :)

Sitting in the balcony overlooking the inner courtyard was yet another delight of the place. High walls surrounding the patio would let you hear, but not see the "outside world". Your imagination flourishes as you try to match up the sounds of the pedestrian street with certain images in your mind. Just listening the world go by your door, while remaining in the calmness of the cozy inner patio was a priceless experience.

Another unforgettable act of kindness presented by Katerina was during our check-out. We could not believe she offered us a ride to the bus station at 6 am in the morning!!! She actually parked her car in front of the hotel at that Godforsaken hour, loaded our luggage in to the baggage and tool off. What a thoughtfulness… We really don’t know a possible way to thank Katerina enough for all the consideration she had shown throughout our stay.
Casa dei Delfini is our accommodation if we are every back to Crete….

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Taslardan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012 via mobile

My wife and I wanted just a short getaway from Chania. We just loved the hotel. The room was beautiful, the staff was so friendly. Just a great place for a long or short stay. We would stay again especially with the hotel within walking distance of everything.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bettiegirlsarebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

Location
In the old city very close to the archaeological museum, fortress, Venetian harbour and the bus station. The road is closed to cars so you'll have to drop off luggage then park/ask taxi driver to get to nearest access point if arriving by car. The owner is very helpful & will talk taxi drivers to the best drop off point if need be.
Noise
Scooter noise only for street facing rooms. If you have the ground floor room immediately facing the courtyard door you may be disturbed by guests returning late.
The hotel
Stunning. If you want to experience Venetian Rethymnon but don't run to top end prices, the House of the Dolphins is for you. The rooms are spacious and beautiful. Original features are well preserved. This is the first time I've stayed in a room with its' own well!
Do be aware that this is in fact "rooms" not a hotel. No food is served but rooms have a fridge & simple cooking facilities. Also there is no formal reception. You'll need to advise the owner of your arrival & departure times.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ptahsuti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leo
Hotel Leo
#44 of 175 in Rethymnon
195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#4 of 175 in Rethymnon
600 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Vecchio Exclusive Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#6 of 175 in Rethymnon
582 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fortezza Hotel
Fortezza Hotel
#32 of 175 in Rethymnon
233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rector Suites
Rector Suites
#12 of 44 in Rethymnon
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Dei Delfini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Dei Delfini

Property: Casa Dei Delfini
Address: Nikiforou Foka 66-68, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Dei Delfini 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Casa Dei Delfini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Dei Delfini Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing