We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmospheric hotel in a great location”
Review of Hotel Leo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Leo
Ranked #81 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We really loved this hotel. It's perfectly located. Driving into the centre of the old part of Rethymnon is not possible - however, you can easily park on the coastal road that goes around the fortress and walk to it. (We drove to the very end of the road and unloaded the luggage, and then my husband drove back down the road and parked in the first available spot before returning. It's then a minute or two's walk straight on and the hotel is on the right.) We met three receptionists and all were extremely pleasant, helpful and willing to chat and give information. (One lady's English wasn't as good as the other two but she was really nice.) The whole building is very atmospheric and dates from 1650 (or may be even earlier) and they have made a great job in renovating and decorating it to a very high standard. The breakfast was simple - you choose one item from a list, and it is freshly prepared and very tasty, plus fruit and breads to go with it. And it only cost us €5. The location is extremely good, right in the heart of the old city. This is a place we'd want to return to.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

Quite simply the Leo Hotel is a really relaxing and comfortable hotel to stay in and its conveniently placed within very short walking distances to the old town, beaches and the beautiful port/harbour.

We stayed here for 7 days and found the staff very friendly and helpful, the hotel is very clean and tidy, it has recently been refurbed throughout, so the whole hotel looks really well presented and tastefully / modernly decorated. Very good value for money as this is been decorated to a very good standard.

Rooms were a little dark, but the space in the rooms made up for this!

Not sure why they charge 5 euro's for breakfast as it would make more sense to include in hotel price. Id dint find the breakfast that great so opted for a place called cul de sac who did a couple of great breakfast options.

One gripe would be that the walls are rather thin, so you can pretty much hear anything that squeaks and creaks in the other rooms or passers by in the hall way - was quite amusing!

Over all though we thoroughly enjoyed our experience here and would revisit if coming back to Rethymnon for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We probably got one of the best rooms (loft style with high ceilings) with a street view for 1 night stay at this property. The front desk staff was very polite and she actually escorted us to the room herself offering to carry one of our luggage pieces. For a first timer, the hotel is a bit difficult to get to especially if you are driving into town. Large parts of the old town is restricted to foot traffic and you have to know in advance where exactly to park so that you are not walking for too long. We had to call the hotel to figure out the optimal place to park our car overnight. The hotel is located in the heart of old town and close to the marina. The building itself is old but the rooms are very well updated with nice touches. I wish we had spent more time here since we really enjoyed our short stay.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank travelmusings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed at the Leo Hotel for 5 nights and loved every moment of it. The location of the hotel in the middle of the old town is perfect, a wide variety of restaurants and bars close-by. The room totally lived up the the pictures we saw on the website and on bookings.com. When we arrived we even had the choice between two different rooms. The room including bathroom was very clean and staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is served just outside the hotel (100% greek old town city feeling) and is very good value for th 5 Euro.

We can recommend this hotel 100% and will definately be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barca02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Excellent location, great hospitality, and very big rooms.
The host was extremely nice and helped us with information about the area and restaurants.
We added 5 euros for the breakfast, and it was absolutely worth it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here and found the hotel to be very charming, and the service excellent. The renovation has been very tastefully done and it feels very Venetian. The location is wonderful - right in the heart of the old town, but no noise. There is no parking, something to be aware of if you are renting a car. You have a choice of breakfast added on top or to go out elsewhere, which was fine, as there are so many options. A little bit of crockery for those who like to occasionally depart from a Greek breakfast and just have a bit of muesli would be handy but we made do, and really the continental breakfast was good value considering the fresh juice! We would stay here again if we returned.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turngold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

When we arrived at midnight I was thinking where are we, the owner was still there to welcome us & showed us to our beautiful old rooms I was still thinking where are we, then to wake and see the beautiful old town it was Devine just beautiful I loved it felt very safe and we found the most amazing restaurant the last night it is a must to go to Avil restaurant it was so beautiful the service was excellent & it's boy so even better guys buy yr ladies Moët from a bottle shop then take to restaurant lol.
There is 1 laundromat & all I can say don't go there unless you want yr clothes to shrink the ladies doesn't understand English so honestly don't go here..
Jules & mike

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.1 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#5 of 175 in Rethymnon
627 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Casa Dei Delfini
Casa Dei Delfini
#38 of 175 in Rethymnon
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#3 of 175 in Rethymnon
615 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aristea Hotel Rethymnon
Aristea Hotel Rethymnon
#28 of 175 in Rethymnon
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mythos Suites Hotel
Mythos Suites Hotel
#7 of 175 in Rethymnon
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leo

Address: Vafe 2-4 & Arkadiou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range: £62 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Leo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Leo Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing