We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get Real”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grecotel Plaza Spa Apartments
Ranked #47 of 177 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2011

I have seen several criticisms of this location stating that it is not a five-star and has many problems. Get a grip! sure they don’t iron your Times newspaper every morning but what they do is – free drink while you are registering in reception upon arrival – spa tub in the very clean apartments – three pools and one heated – gym on site – spa with loads of treatments on site – great poolside bar and restaurant – the food served is produced organically on their own farm – apartment layout is like an old higgeldy piggeldy town with narrow street and therefore not all rooms have a sea view (so what) – private beach 20 mtr from the front door across a small road (so what) – free cold water, water melon and frozen towels brought to your sun bed – you can order drinks and food from your sun-bed – fantastically friendly staff – nice walk into the town - free WiFi access – no onsite parking WHAT! I parked right outside the front door. Before people criticize they should take a close look at their own home and standards and I for one will certainly be back there again, fantastic location, staff, apartment and facilities what more could you ask for.

Room Tip: Just accept what you are given and then go enjoy your holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NottinghamOggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed there at the end of August 2011. It was our 3rd visit to this hotel and we regret to say that it looks a bit "tired". Also we were really disappointed to find out that this year there was no parking for the customers.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Eleni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

we've been there for first 2 weeks of june in 2009.
first surprise we've got - it's 2 rooms suite with sea view instead of standard! good!
we had breakfast and diners included. food was really OK.
kitchenette is important option for us as we cook for our kids.
supermarkets and lots of food shops are close to hotel so you can buy some fresh local food - meat, fish, dairy and enjoy it for lunch or whenever you want.
centre of Rethymno - 20 mins walk or 5 euro taxi drive.

i'm surprised with comments like 'full of Russians'. so what? we're from Ukraine (very close to Russia) and those time it was full of Scandinavians and Brits.

nice hotel for reasonable money. probably sometime we'll back there.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AlexMykhaylyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

Like many past reviewers I'd agree the website is misleading and the hotel is not 5 Star! We were offered a larger room and received a warm welcome on arrival. The rooms are designed for self catering - not sure why - makes them bigger but it's a hotel really.

The staff were very good as I developed a cough and cold and they gave us extra bedlinen without charge to use the sofa bed. They did charge for the room's safe key which I think was tight in the extreme for a supposed 5 Star hotel. The breakfasts were fine if slightly repetitive. We tried the €10 / head evening buffet one night and it was poor. For a 5 Star hotel one would expect more choice. The bar was OK at night but had a miserable and quite rude lady staffing it in the daytime. The staff were mixed - there was an older lady who really cared. We felt many of the others (mix of nationalities) were just there for the money. The beach was fine and don't agree with an earlier reviewer's comments at all - the road outside is not that busy and it was easy to cross to the beach. The hotel also had a nice pool.

The big gripe was the hotel was jammed full of Russians! Surely it could have had a more balanced clientele. We met one other British couple and that was it, which was a shame, That's why I would not recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJS15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We spent two weeks in this new Grecotel hotel in August and we were far from being happy about it. As regards good points, there are not so many of them... One is size: the hotel is relatively small so there are not too many people around what can easily happen in other huge brothers and sisters in the Grecotel network. We also enjoyed breakfasts which were good, fresh and with plenty of things to choose among. Also the staff in the hotel restaurant and reception was nice and friendly (beyond the fact that some of the Greeks working in the bar did not speak a single word of any language apart from the Greek and even giving a room number required writing it down for them...). This would be it for real advantages. As regards smaller or bigger inconveniences, here's the list:
location: the hotel is neither in the centre of Rethymno (it required 25-30 minutes walking), nor directly at the beach. Yes, of course it is just across the street from the beach, but there is still a pretty busy road in between. we visited friends in a much less luxurious hotel some 4 km further, but which was located directly at the beach and we saw the difference... it was nice, quite and safe for children.
beach: was one of the biggest disappointments. it was dirty and we littereally had to clean the area around us before we put on the sand our 1,5 year old son. but even after cleaning he was still able to find old cigarettes and other trash which he was digging out what meant that the beach was not being properly cleaned for quite some time. also the access to water was not very friendly. the beach was sandy, but there were a several-meters-wide strip of stones when entering the sea and it was not very comfortable to go into water. we ended up going to the hotel beach twice in two weeks and tried to go by car to several other beaches in the vicinity, which were much, much better.
hotel area: it was small and unattractive. for a family with a small kid it was disastrous as there was no space which would be safe or designated exclusively for children - there were either unprotected swimming pools or exit to the busy road or other elements which were not children-friendly. we couldn't have a single calm minute - we had to chase our son all the time to make sure that he was ok comparing to other spaces that we tried (another hotel, tavernas, restaurants at the beaches, etc) where it was enough to keep an eye on our little one when he was playing on a big lawn or so and not to go after him all the time. it means that it is possible to arrange the space in such a a way that a family with small kid can feel safely. also the hotel advertises itself as offering baby sitting services. well, when we asked for a baby sitter for the first time, they gave us ... a high chair! pretty anecdotal ;-) then it took the reception 3 days to establish that they had only one baby sitter who spoke only Greek (so even explaining her something would be problematic), who was anavailable in the evenings and in general not too happy to do the baby sitting. we didn't have big plans, just planned to go out for dinner from time to time, but we had to give it up... from our observation, it also looked that the kids club advertised by the hotel was neither working as forseen. it was open only for max 4 hours a day and only in the mornings when most people take their kids with them anyway. the effect was that hardly anybody left the kids there.

hotel room/apartments: nothing special and definitely not a **** hotel design. a sofa that should be already changed for a new one some time ago, some cables sticking out of walls, very, very small bathroom, strange smell in the bedroom. etc. well, the kitchen was well equipped, but who would cook if there were plenty of eating possibilities around, both good and cheap? also, the very first day a bottle of coke exploded next to our bed so there was a big brown spot on the sheets that were changed only after 6 days! in the meantime there were doing nicely our bed leaving every day this huge brown coke spot on the top of the bed. unbelievable!

summing up, I don't think that this is a particularly bad hotel, but it is not good either and definitely doesn't meet 4 **** standards. as somebody has already written it - it should be qualified as solid 3 *** .

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AleksandraJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

It was ratet as a 5* hotel. We rate it as a normal 3* hotel. On the hotels homeside they do not tell that it is heavy trafic between the hotell and the beach, and the photoes does not tell the real situation e.q. room standard.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rotnikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2009

This was a timeshare exchange, and after we paid an extra 20 Euros per day, we were given a nice large unit with a great view of the sea and bay. The first unit was small, dark and very unwelcoming. The mosquitoes were a problem until the front desk gave us little gizmos to plug into outlets in our room which seemed to do the trick keeping them away. We enjoyed the 25 minute walk into town where there are countless bars and restaurants to chose from. Although there was no parking we never had a problem finding a parking space close by. It was a great base to explore all the wonderful sights the area has to offer. Everything was close by, restaurants, grocery, bars, beach. All in all a very enjoyable week, just a shame we had to pay extra to get a decent unit.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
1.6 mi away
Marinos Beach Hotel Apartments
1.6 mi away
Grand Leoniki Residence
Grand Leoniki Residence
#4 of 22 in Platanias
280 reviews
0.1 mi away
SENTIDO Aegean Pearl
SENTIDO Aegean Pearl
#8 of 177 in Rethymnon
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#12 of 177 in Rethymnon
741 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kriti Beach Hotel
Kriti Beach Hotel
#25 of 177 in Rethymnon
255 reviews
0.8 mi away
Swell Boutique Hotel
Swell Boutique Hotel
#29 of 177 in Rethymnon
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grecotel Plaza Spa Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecotel Plaza Spa Apartments

Address: 60 Ari Velouchioti, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Rethymnon
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
#24 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#27 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range: £76 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grecotel Plaza Spa Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grecotel Plaza Spa Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classical Plaza Hotel Rethymnon
Grecotel Plaza Spa Apartments Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing