We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautifully restored manor with jacuzzi in away...”
other travellers have booked this property
A wonderful outdoor jacuzzi tub awaits you at the terrace!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A wonderful outdoor jacuzzi tub awaits you at the terrace!
Relax at the jacuzzi and have fun! Lovely dining area outdoors!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
3 reviews
A wonderful outdoor jacuzzi tub awaits you at the terrace!
Relax at the jacuzzi and have fun!
Lovely dining area outdoors!
Terrace decoration detail!
A panoramic view of the terrace!
Building exterior!
Great view from the balcony!
Rustically decorated living room with an open fireplace!
Gather around this large dinner table and enjoy a homemade meal with your family!
The kitchen is totally functional and fully equipped!
Beds have very comfortable mattresses! You'll surely have sweet dreams!
Linens, towels and essentials are provided!
All rooms are spacious, airy and sunny!
Double Bedroom with access to the balcony!  Take a breath of fresh air when you wake up!
Double bedroom with en suite bathroom!
The village is very quiet at night! You'll certainly sleep well!
All rooms are air conditioned!
All bedrooms are tastefully decorated!
The bathroom is quite spacious and comfortable!
En suite bathroom!
Bathroom with bathtub!
Towels and shampoo are provided...all you have to do is enter the shower!
An aspect of the surrounding area!
Ground Floor Plan
First Floor Plan
Panormos beach!
Water sports available at the beach!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
eviephill...
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautifully restored manor with jacuzzi in away from it all location”
Reviewed 7 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Two families with teenagers spent a lovely week at Askoutsi Manor. The teens enjoyed the jacuzzi and their privacy and the parents relaxed in the traditional courtyard drinking the Cretan spirit raki that the owner provided.
Ayios Ioannis is a quiet village the foothils of Psilritis mountain. It is not far from the large cave with stactites and stalagmites in Zoniana (about 20 mins). You will definitely be away from "the madding crowd". If you need to decompress and relax, this is the place for you. The house is what it seems in the photos. Tastefully decorated, spacious, it has wifi, air-conditioning. The owner was very welcoming and stocked the fridge with goodies including home made cheese pies and a lovely dessert. We would recommend to drive through the main highway and turn up at Bali or Panormo to make your way through the more 'picturesque' roads. Having said that we also enjoyed a lovely lamp on the spit and piglet as well as stuffed vegetables for our vegetarian daughter in Drosia a little village about 25 minutes away. The beach is about 25 minutes away by car at Panormos and Bali. We really enjoyed our week and toured around the island while we were there. Another plus which u usually don't get in self -catering places is that a cleaning lady comes in twice a week and changes the sheets and towels.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2018
Dear Evie, we really appreciate your great review and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Crete! Regards, ThinkVilla Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stylish, spacious and special in a real Cretan mountain village”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Tucked away in a completely un-touristy but very attractive village, the Manor is tardis-like and offers loads of space for eight people.

There are four large double bedrooms, each with a large veranda with table and chairs. Each bedroom has quiet and efficient air-conditioning, complete with remote controllers, which we really appreciated with temperatures in the 30s. Two bedrooms have large en-suite bathrooms, the other two share a bathroom. There's also a separate toilet downstairs.

All the fittings and fixtures are of very high quality and the whole place is tastefully decorated and feels really luxurious. There's free wifi (though the signal didn't reach upstairs) and each bedroom has a flat screen TV on the wall as well as a large TV and DVD downstairs.

The kitchen has brand new appliances including large oven, microwave, coffee maker and huge fridge-freezer. There are nice areas to socialise inside, but we all tended to migrate to the enclosed courtyard where we had most of our meals. The courtyard is very pleasant with plants and a feature well (once a real well, now used to capture rainwater) and there's a large jacuzzi which was lovely after a long day's exploring.

Because the verandas are inward-facing there are only limited views of the surrounding mountains but we liked the privacy. In the mornings we would sit outside and listen to the cockerells, goats and the inevitable cicadas. Sheep were herded down the road outside each morning and most days we'd hear a local trader selling produce from a van announcing his wares as he drove through the village.

The owners could not have been more hospitable. Even though we arrived in the middle of the night, two hours late due to flight delay, the family was waiting to welcome us and share a huge spread of home-made food prepared with their own produce, cheese and olive oil.

To get to the Manor you'll turn off the main north coast road - note that it's a twisty 20 minute drive on narrow roads to get there. So you'll need to hire minibus or two cars for the duration of your stay. We had open-top Vitaras which was great fun and the route takes you through attractive villages and lovely mountain scenery, but this does of course take time out of your day. On the other hand, being situated centrally you can explore either east or west, but most of your excursions will involve getting to the main north coast road first, even if you want to visit the south coast - the main route down is from Rethymno.

At the town of Perama, about 15 minutes drive, you can get fuel and stock up in one of several good supermarkets. Again, this not a tourist area at all, but everyone we met was friendly and we had no problems. We got a real sense of local life.

Tip: we found it was better to take the fast road noth east from Perama to Panormos to get to the main coast road - the western route out of Perama was slow going.

Panormos is the nearest beach resort, we found it a friendly, easy-going place. Our trips took us all over the island but there are local attractions too, the owners left us a hand-written letter detailing many of these together with mobile numbers to get in touch if we had any problems. Another nice touch which made our stay at the Manor such a special one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The style, comfprt, decor and amount of space
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2015
Dear John, thank you so much for taking the time to write such great things about our Villa and services. It was our pleasure having you as guests! We are truly happy to hear that you enjoyed our amenities and had a comfortable stay with us. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Crete!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conraudf
Bayeux, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2018
Dear Mélanie, we really appreciate your great review and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Crete! Regards, ThinkVilla Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing