We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost perfect”
Review of Casa Vitae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Vitae Hotel
Ranked #3 of 165 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

The Staff and hotel was fabulous, very personal and friendly but still quite luxurious. My husband came down with a bug and they rang a doctor without us asking, to get advice on how to treat it. Nothing was too much trouble. I love that its run by all women, often you see women taking a back seat in hospitality in Greece with men being the 'patron'.

Only slight criticism for us was the breakfast, neither of us thought it was brilliant. Slight touches like having fresh orange juice rather than powdery synthetic OJ would make a real difference and we both at times questioned the freshness of the bread and fruit available. Apart from that it was fantastic, we were on our honeymoon and the beautiful room with its jacuzzi bath, wood beams, fantastic service and the beautiful old building helped make it exceptionally memorable.

Room Tip: Our room was called Daphne and was one of only two that had their own balcony overlooking the main c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    67
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
57
416
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

The staff at the hotel were great!!! When we arrived they gave us a plate of complimentary mezzes/tapas to eat while the paperwork was settled. Breakfast was HUGE! In fact we never ate lunch while we were there because of the food which helped us to save money. The staff speak not only English but German as well. The rooms were very clean. The staff was sooooooo friendly. We got married on the trip and they gave us a few very nice gifts and they were really into the wedding. Considering all of the amenities the cost was unreasonably cheap. We paid a lot more for a hostel in Athens with much lower quality than this hotel. When we asked for advice on where to wash our clothes they did our laundry for free! Cannot wait to return to this wonderful establishment. Location and ambiance were wonderful as well..

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 369Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
152 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We got one of the suites, and I've never seen anything like it in my life. It was like a little palace (see pictures for yourself). The mattress was a little too hard for me but that's something personal. Also the bath was small but we know that it's common in Greece. The breakfast was served outside and it was brought at your table. There was so many choice: honey, little hot/cold treats, home made jam, milk, coffee, orange juice etc. Then my boyfriend asked for an omelet and he got a surprise in his omelet: it was filled with ham and cheese :)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EgyptAndSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This is a fantastic hotel in the Old Town. Our room was the original wine cellar, it was spacious and very comfortable. The staff were brilliant, we were greeted with refreshments on arrival and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was excellent, in fact, everything about this hotel was excellent and we were sorry we only booked for one night! We will certainly return in the future and stay longer

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

Casa Vitae is a hotel that offers a relaxing environment that makes you feel well the minute you enter its front courtyard. We stayed in one of the standard rooms, if you can call standard a room with great space, an amazing mural on the bathroom ceiling and many great stone and wood details everywhere. The al fresco breakfast is the best way to start your day while planning the exploration of the city of Rethymno. All rooms are beautifully made. A great place to visit! We will come back next year !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASt40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This is a fantastic boutique hotel nestled in the back streets of Rethymno's beautiful Old Town. A Venerian-updated-by-Turks castle Lovingly restored to it's full glory by the owner. The cafe style courtyard sits under a canopy of vines and bougainvillias next to a gorgeously lit pond and ancient fountain. The ambience is just fantastic. Perfect for a romantic getaway - or for any other type of stay for my money. Great staff, great service and right on the doorstep of all the delifhts of the old town. We loved it - Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinofExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We spent three nights in one of the standard rooms at Casa Vitae, and our experience was excellent. The hotel is centrally located and the room was beautiful and very quiet. The staff were so friendly and helpful! When we found ourselves without any sunscreen and with nowhere to buy it (we visited outside of tourist season), the hotel staff went out of their way to find some, bringing it in from home. The breakfast was excellent with both buffet items and hot table service.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
0.1 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 165 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 165 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
8.6 mi away
Kapsaliana Village Hotel
0.2 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#5 of 165 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Vitae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Vitae Hotel

Property: Casa Vitae Hotel
Address: 3 N. Patelarou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#3 Business Hotel in Rethymnon
#4 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Vitae Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel situated in the old town of Rethymnon, Crete, Greece. The hotel is a recently renovated house dating back to the 15th century. The house has got 8 luxury suites to let out to prospective customers. Each of them has got a Jacuzzi, Bath, W/C, A/C, SAT-TV, Telephone, Hair Dryer and Safe. We do offer Bed and Breakfast and Room service. Customers can also enjoy the lovely patio hotel. We do operate throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Vitae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Vitae Hotel Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing