We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Vitae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Vitae Hotel
Ranked #3 of 167 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Our Casa Vitae Hotel visit was one to remember,from before our arrival the girls were very helpfull and kind. We stayed for two nights and because we attended a wedding on the second night they extended the breakfast time till noon (thank you). The rooms were very spacy and clean with everything we needed inside,the location is a big plus because even though you are in the center of Rethimnon the hotel is very quiet. I would definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kolibianakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    67
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
57
409
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chania, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay in Casa Vitae in early January. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect, inside the old town and in proximity with the best parts of Rethymnon. The superior double room was nicely decorated and comfortable. The only drawback was that the heating in the room was provided through air conditioning, which is not to our liking. But that was a minor issue, compared to the overall nice experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Apostolos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

My room (a superior double) was very nice, and the staff was fantastic, very friendly and helpful; the location is perfect right in the middle of the old town but a fairly quiet street. Rethymnon is wonderful in the off-season, and the Casa Vitae was the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of September 2013 as part of a trip travelling around Crete. We felt instantly at home, all the girls are lovely and can't do enough for you.

Our room, which was a junior suite, was excellent value with lovely original features and a very comfy bed. The jacuzzi bath was a little noisy (we were warned), but the shower was high pressure and warm :)

Breakfast was excellent, the honey and yogurt was quintessentially Greek, and a great start to the day. The hotel is in a lovely spot, with a courtyard covered in flowers for breakfast. We also had lunch at the hotel one day, the salads were huge and very reasonably priced. As other reviewers have mentioned, when we traveled to Samaria they booked it for us and gave us a packed lunch at no additional cost.

All the ladies that work there are a credit to the hotel. They made our first visit to Crete so much better by answering all our questions honestly and helpfully, and giving us lots of tips about the best places to visit. They even helped us understand the olive oil classification system!

Overall, this was one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in and we wouldn't hesitate to go back again (and trust me... we will).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ChecklistCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

This hotel was amazing. Staff cannot do enough for you and accommodations are terrific. Upon arrival you are given a complimentary drink and asked to have a seat in the courtyard and relax for a few minutes while they prepare for you. Your luggage is taken up to your room and then they come for you and walk you through everything. As for breakfast, there is so much food and the morning we were leaving, we were leaving before breakfast. Although we couldn't have hot food, the evening before they brought up everything for breakfast and put in refrigerator along with more coffee and tea.

My friend tore a strap off her carry-on bag and they assisted us in finding a shoe repair place who fixed it while we waited for hardly any cost.

This place was too touristy for us to spend too many days but the facilities could not be beat. Also took the on/off bus tour which took you out of city which was certainly worth the low cost

Room Tip: Some rooms have a terrace while others do not. Terrace is nice but don't pass up this hotel if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmbierl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Oldesloe, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We enjoyed a lot the stay in this hotel. We (a family with 2 teenage girls) stayed 9 days. The hotel is very small with 8 rooms and is located perfectly in the old town of Rethymno. You will find countless taverns in walking distance, nontheless it is a very quiet place. We were very much pleased by the offered service attitude of each staff member. When you have a wish they will make it.

Thank you all a lot for a wonderful holiday

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas23843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Namur, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We enjoyed every minute of the 15 days we stayed in this small (8 rooms), delightful hotel perfectly located in a quiet Old Town street at a short walking distance from a free parking, the Fort, the sea, the museums and the restaurants.
The place has so much charm, with its patio covered with bougainvillaeas, its old (16th c.) blond stone walls and the gurgling sounds of a fountain that passers by kept taking pictures from the porch.
Our room was lovely and spotless, with a bed large and comfortable, a sofa, surprise-goodies on the coffee table, enough drawers and a very quiet air conditioning (also a large TV); the bathroom boasted a spectacular "sitting" shower. When we asked to have a peek at a room with a balcony in between clients, the ever helpful desk lady offered us our last 4 days in that superb room ( with a canopied bed and a jacuzzi!) for the same price.We enjoyed it enormously.
The generous breakfast, snacks and drinks are served in the patio by the efficient, smiling young ladies of the all feminine staff.
And here is the opportunity to stress the importance of this extraordinary staff. My husband and I traveled extensively in our life, and we can affirm that Casa Vitae's team of ladies was the most welcoming, helpful and generously hospitable we have ever come across.
We shall visit again, and recommand warmly this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mother-Christmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
0.1 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
8.6 mi away
Kapsaliana Village Hotel
0.2 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#5 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Vitae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Vitae Hotel

Property: Casa Vitae Hotel
Address: 3 N. Patelarou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rethymnon
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#4 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Vitae Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel situated in the old town of Rethymnon, Crete, Greece. The hotel is a recently renovated house dating back to the 15th century. The house has got 8 luxury suites to let out to prospective customers. Each of them has got a Jacuzzi, Bath, W/C, A/C, SAT-TV, Telephone, Hair Dryer and Safe. We do offer Bed and Breakfast and Room service. Customers can also enjoy the lovely patio hotel. We do operate throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Vitae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Vitae Hotel Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing