We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excelent experience”
Review of Casa Vitae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Vitae Hotel
Ranked #3 of 165 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Excelent experience”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The hotel is perfect in every sence. Location is very good to discover old town of Rethymno, staff is super-friendly and ready to help with anything. The way hotel looks is absolutely beautiful. We also had no problems having short 10 minute walk to the beach. Definetly good starting point to discover Crete.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vladimir G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    67
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
57
416
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My husband and I chose a sporadic style honeymoon, booking our next location just one or two days before arriving... not an easy job in the height of the summer season in August! We were lucky enough to get a room at the Rimondi Boutique for three nights then Casa Vitae for two nights.
Both were outstanding. I just loved how personal and friendly the boutique hotels were. Everyone was smiling and doing absolutely anything and everything to make our stay special. Nothing seemed like a task for them. The staff in Casa Vitae were especially friendly.
The rooms - WOW!! So tastefully decorated. Just amazing. We were in a superior room for one night then upgraded to a Junior Suite for the second. Both rooms were out of this world. It was a true Oasis.

With these hotels you are slap bang in the middle of the old town, all the hustle and bustle is just outside - but somehow the hotels are silent and peaceful and you feel like you are in your own little Oasis of tranquility.
I would recommend to absolutely anyone!
Comparing the two - I would say that Casa Vitae had much nicer rooms, so comfortable that sometimes you didn't want to leave and get up for the day. The only thing I would change is that it is a shame it doesn't have a pool. as it can get so hot it would be lovely to have a quick dip like you could in the Rimondi - but saying that, it is a very small hotel and is probably not worth their while running a whole pool system.

Beautiful, you will not ever regret staying here.

Room Tip: All the rooms were amazing - the junior suite was amazing, but if you don't want to have a huge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller_fran84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We spent our honeymoon in Rethymnon and stayed at Casa for 10 days. It was amazing! The staff is very friendly and helpful. The service is good and the hotel itself is very nice and cosy. This creates relaxed atmosphere and you can really feel that you are on vacation :D. Casa is situated in the historical center and it is about 15 minute walk to the beach. So make sure you like strolling. Another thing that could have been better is Wi-Fi coverage. In our room it was rather poor. As for the rest I would definitely recommend Casa.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay in this beautiful haven in the heart of Rethymnon. We stayed for longer than most at this time of year (hot for a week without a swimming pool) as we had friends staying in the area. But the decorative water pool in the flower draped courtyard made breakfasts outside really enjoyable. We found plenty of variety for breakfast – lovely coffee, delicious fresh juice and eggs etc cooked to individual order. They even offered to prepare/save something specially when one of us didn't feel like coming down to breakfast. We loved everything about the hotel – and service was friendly, helpful and genuinely committed to making the stay the best it could be. We booked through Cachet travel www.cachet-travel.co.uk who tailored our trip with a more remote location in Crete.

Room Tip: Suite on higher floor overlooking the courtyard was worth the short climb up the outside stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
c
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed for 5 nights for our honeymoon. The atmosphere of the suite was romantic, the bathroom was large, clean. The service was absolutely helpful and immediate. But the breakfast didn't have variety and it wasn't traditional. Also an other disadvantage is the fact that you have to walk about 5 minutes to reach the parking area and of course to carry all the luggage!!!! Finally, it didn't worth its value. We had stayed in luxurious hotels in touristic places such as Chios,Mykonos and other places in Crete but they did offer the same or better amenities in lower prices (they shouldn't exploit so much the fact that it is a touristic area and period).

Room Tip: All rooms have a view at the patio of the hotel, but the room we stayed at didn't have a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilias P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Casa Vitae was the perfect place for us to finish our trip around Greece. The staff were incredibly helpful and considerate - we arrived very late in the evening, but the staff member on duty was still happy to show us around and make sure we were settled in even though it was later than she would normally have been there. At the end of our four nights, we then needed to leave very early in the morning - as well as arranging our taxi the staff provided us with a packed breakfast to take with us. The room itself was beautiful, very clean and with a very nice jacuzzi in the bathroom. Breakfast was great, and the service was consistently excellent. It's also a good location for wandering around the old town and close to the fort, although the beach is a longer walk. Definitely a great choice - couldn't recommend it more!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKD14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We recently stayed in this charming hotel for one night at the beginning of our two week holiday in Crete. The hotel is a slice of tranqulity in the heart the old town and a stone's throw away from the Fortress and harbor. The staff welcomed us with smiles and an iced coffee, and led us into a lovely, flower-filled, courtyard to relax after our car journey. Our room was small for our family of four but very functional and comfortable. The staff was helful in recommending a fabulous restaurant for dinner (Erofili) which was excellent!!!! Breakfast was a plentiful buffet with an option to order eggs upon request. Would would definitely return!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 450Kelley_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
0.1 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 165 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 165 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
8.6 mi away
Kapsaliana Village Hotel
0.2 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#5 of 165 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Vitae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Vitae Hotel

Property: Casa Vitae Hotel
Address: 3 N. Patelarou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rethymnon
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#4 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Vitae Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel situated in the old town of Rethymnon, Crete, Greece. The hotel is a recently renovated house dating back to the 15th century. The house has got 8 luxury suites to let out to prospective customers. Each of them has got a Jacuzzi, Bath, W/C, A/C, SAT-TV, Telephone, Hair Dryer and Safe. We do offer Bed and Breakfast and Room service. Customers can also enjoy the lovely patio hotel. We do operate throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Vitae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Vitae Hotel Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing