We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location and rooms”
Review of La Strada Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rethymnon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Strada Suites
Ranked #130 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing location and rooms”
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Superb location in the heart of old town Rethymno, we stayed here for one night as part of a honeymoon and weren't disappointed. The hotel itself is a beautiful, 600-year old structure, with great stonework and recently renovated throughout. We stayed on the top floor in the Cristina suite, which was a huge room with a four-poster bed and french doors out onto a private balcony. The location cannot be beat.

The bathroom was sufficient, although you have to hold the shower head in your hand as there's no hook, but hey, there's always something small. The bed was sufficiently large, although the sheets/comforter were very thin (a common theme on this trip). The room itself was quite huge with great stone walls and 13' ceilings probably. There was a super loud party going on on the rooftop next door that night (on like a Tuesday!) until 2 AM so that made it difficult to sleep, but it wasn't the hotel's fault. The provided breakfast is actually quite huge, with tons of bread choices, coffee, hard boiled eggs, yogurt with honey, etc. There was also free wifi, but it didn't work in the room, so I had to go down to reception to get the signal.

In the end, La Strada was a good choice for a short stay as the location was superb and the historic nature of the building was quite cool. The service was also adequate and the room was huge - all for a reasonable price based on what I saw in the area.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluedog423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    4
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

As this was our first time in Crete we decided to split our week between the old and new towns of Rethymnon. We had seen La Strada on these pages and chose the hotel partly based on the reports we had read. Our taxi transfer from the airport had a bit of trouble finding the place but it was well worth the wait. We were eventually guided to the hotel by a young boy (the son of the family who own the property) and he checked us in and took us to our room, the Cristina Suite, on the top floor. Our first impression was "fantastic". The room was dominated by a four poster bed, it had the original stone walls and high ceilings giving it real character, the sun shining through the blinds on the windows filled the suite with a golden light which was most relaxing, it was also furnished with a comfortable two seater settee. There was a small balcony overlooking the street at the side of the hotel. The bathroom was of a reasonable size though there was no bath, but an adequate shower. There was plenty of wardrobe and drawer space, a fridge that came in handy and free air conditioning. Breakfast consisted of boiled egg, pastries, meats, cheese, bread, preserves, cakes, a bowl of fruit and as much coffee as you could drink. Service was always with a smile and very pleasant. It was a really nice place to stay. The hotels selling point is its olde charm so don't be expecting to find swimming pools, spas or computers, what you will find is a comfortable, friendly, laid back place that is more than pleased to meet you.
The old town was a wonderful area with a laberynth of narrow streets filled with shops selling all sorts of souvineers, leather goods, clothes, shoes and jewellery. There was an abundant choice of bars and resaurants. Two I would recomend were the Lemon Tree Garden and the Melody Garden, both serving great food in really charming surroundings and again the service was brilliant. There was a lovely harbour surrounded with resaurants and a short stroll up the hill led to the fortress. There was a very friendly atmosphere around the whole place and we were made to feel more than welcome everywhere we went.
All in all we loved our holiday in Crete and I would have no hesitation in recommending the La Strada Suites and Rethymnon to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IandMEastKilbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2009

We stayed at La Strada Suites for 6 nights and had a wonderful time. The location is very central in the old town so made a perfect base. Our room 'Cristina' on the top floor was spacious with high ceilings, well appointed and had a small balcony overlooking the rooftops of the old town towards the Venetian fort. At sunset we were treated with swallows circling in the sky above! I really was delighted with the room which was great value in comparison to other places I checked online. The staff are all very helpful friendly and low key. The breakfast was fine - standard continental (ham, cheese, pastries, boiled eggs, breads and jams, coffee etc), personally I would have preferred a simple greek yogurt, honey and fruit - but I like a light breakfast.
Recommendations for things to do. Hire a car and head off to some great beaches. Prevelli Beach (about 40 mins) on south of the island is well worth a visit. Great for swimming and very picturesque. Be prepared for the steep walk down and back up to the carpark!
Balos Beach (west tip of crete, about 1h.30m by car - not recommended for a nervous driver as there is a half hour drive on a very bumpy dirt track - or you can get a boat). Beach/lagoon is stunning but again be prepared for long walk down and back up.
Local restaurants in rythemnon. Fountain Taverna - great food, great value and very friendly staff - highly recommended. We had one of our best meals here and ended up chatting to the owner and drinking Raki until 3am!
Castelo - very pretty setting, good for a romantic meal in their garden area. Our best meal. We had fish of the day (seabream baked in the oven) and large prawns in creamy ouzo sauce - it was superb & presented beautifully.
Avli - a very well known restaurant (next door to la strada) with an inventive and delicious menu. I had a fava bean, caramalised beetroot and squid starter - it may sound strange but it was great!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onawa31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2009

We loved La Strada. The location was great, right at the center of the old town, busy but not too noisy. Breakfast was minimal but very good, room was clean (they dont change your towls everyday, maybe you need to ask for that).
Very friendly staff, we didn't hear from them at all, only when we needed something.
Great places around to eat local food, within seconds walk.
Perfect for a romantic getaway. Great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank realgingit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2009

A lovely hotel in the old walled town. Very friendly owner. Each bedroom en suite with some lovely designer touches. Comfortable beds, small bar. Wonderful breakfast - too much too eat. Small roof terrace to have a drink and watch the sunset. The welcome drink and small farewell gift were nice touches. Would definitely go again and recommend.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

Had a week at the La statda Suites last week and had a wonderful stay. We went looking for a room as we were staying at the Pepi studios on a thomson package and couldnt get a good nights sleep. The rooms we stayed in (had to change rooms part way through due to booking they already had in place) cost 50-70 euro per night including breakfast. The rooms are very well appointed with very confortable beds, air con, safe box, en-suite facilities. When the rooms have been done they have not gone for the cheapest items they have put quality fixtures and fittings in. Breakfast was wonderful, pastries, bread, cakes, cheese, meat fresh fruit, fruit juice, coffee, water. There is also a roof terrace fot the guests to use which is very comfortable. The staff are very frindly and helpful and they keep all the rooms very clean. All in all a great little hotel which puts every b&b/hotel i have been in, in the Uk to shame for quality and price.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stef2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2009

We loved this place and it really made our stay in Rethymno.

We arrived without a reservation and walked around and looking at the rooms in 4 different hotels (including Palazzino di Corina and Hotel Fortezza). La Strada just happened to be along the way so we took a look. The rooms at La Strada were both nicer and cheaper than all the others.

The owner and his daughter were very friendly and really helpful. He grew up in the 800 year old house which they have since gut renovated and converted to a small hotel. The exterior walls looked original while everything else is modern.

There are only 5 suites. We stayed in the Christina on the top floor which I think is the nicest. Neither the room nor the bathroom are huge but it has very high ceilings, a nice sort of canopy bed and little day bed. It also has a very small private terrace which barely fits the 2 folding chairs. But the day bed is set back a couple feet in front of the terrace so laying on the day bed drinking a bottle of wine is wonderfully romantic and feels like you're on the terrace. There's also a common roof top terrace at the end of the hall that sits about 8-10 people.

The photos on their website are accurate. It has free wireless if you have a laptop. Free breakfast although only between 9-10. Very conveniently located near restaurants and basically around the corner from Hotel Fortezza.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mangelotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.0 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 175 in Rethymnon
550 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leo
Hotel Leo
#45 of 175 in Rethymnon
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antica Dimora Suites
Antica Dimora Suites
#35 of 175 in Rethymnon
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Nakli Traditional Guesthouse
#37 of 44 in Rethymnon
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Minares Luxury Suites
Minares Luxury Suites
#42 of 44 in Rethymnon
2 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Enetiko Suites
Porto Enetiko Suites
#72 of 111 in Rethymnon
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Strada Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Strada Suites

Property: La Strada Suites
Address: Xanthoudidou 16, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
Hotel Class:4 star — La Strada Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
La Strada Hotel
La Strada Suites Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing