We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem”
Review of Yperia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Yperia Hotel
Ranked #4 of 41 Amorgos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
Reviewed 2 August 2011

This is a little gem , probably the best hotel in the best place on Amorgos.: Quirky, good location, clean, great views, well run and very reasonable – what more can you ask for. (Probably internet which is by Ethernet cable in your room and lightning fast !!!) The only decent alternative to this place was the so called posher hotel over the bay which seems to have music banging out of it until the early hours (which you can hear from the beach not Yperia).
Our room (superior double with sea view) was very spacious, with a hard but comfy double bed, fridge, the essential air con (which worked very well) and an ok sized balcony - perfect base.
In terms of other amenities breakfast was limited in choice but hearty and the pool area was quiet and serviced (not that we used it).
Down the hill and round the corner (1-2 mins walk) are all the shops, restaurants, small port and a great family beach. Food in Agia Aegiali is generally good not fantastic (Katapola is definitely better in this department especially Captian Dimos) but in my opinion it is the better looking of the two coastal villages.
Generally speaking Amorgos is stunning, very chilled and still totally authentic (which is becoming increasingly rare) – if you want the Greece of the 60s this is one of your best bets.
Downside to Yperia is they don’t have any transportation and a taxi is about €25 each way. I would definitely recommend hiring a car/scooter from Katapola and saving yourself this overpriced fare if you can’t get the ferry direct to Agia Agali.
Recommendations:
Hire a Scooter/Quad bike: Drive around this island. The views are stunning and driving either of these vehicles is great fun.
Hike: There are numerous trails – we walked the spine of the island (Hozoviotissa - Potamos – Aegiali) which is stunning and not too strenuous (4-5 hours)
Beaches: As well as the great beach at Aegiali, Kalotaritisa and particularly Mourou are very good.
Chozoviotissa – Everybody visits but just in case you are wavering this place is a MUST SEE.

Room Tip: Use the ethernet cable not wireless for internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WannabeMichaelPalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    37
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
104
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

this is an excellent boutique hotel run by a lovely couple who are extremely helpful and willing to please. our room was spacious and all rooms have good views as far as i could tell. the pool is excellent for those who prefer pool to beach. and you are only a few minutes from the beach and restaurants, don't go too early in the year though - things were only just opening up in aegiali in early june and before this you may find many amenities closed and of course the ferries are less frequent

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank scousecousin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2010

Having stayed at Yperia for close to two weeks this summer we´ve got nothing but good things to say about the place. The rooms are spotlessly clean and modern. Our only small complaint are the beds that are somewhat small if you´re a tall person. We used the pool almost every day, a great spot for reading after a day at one of the beaches. The location is great in the centre of Aegali, which we also found was our favourite village of the island. There's a number of restaurants within walking distance from the hotel, ask Antonis for advice. We had our best evening at a cliff top restaurant in the tiny village just next to Aegilai, the view was amazing.

If you´re looking for a small, relaxed and personal hotel in a village far away from the large commercial resorts, this is it. A big thank you to Antonis, his wife and their family and staff for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Josefin81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

In August 2010 my family (3 persons) has spent 2 weeks at Amorgos/Yperia-Hotel.
Our experience: friendly and relaxing atmosphere, comfortabel and very clean rooms with spectacular sea view, good breakfast, excellent drinks at the pool-bar, suitable prices.
Passing in rewiew our holiday-time we looked at trip-advisor for judgements concerning the Yperia hotel amorgos.
Surprising: one mail containing disproportionale criticism! It hardly could mean that hotel we have lived in nearly the same time!
Yperia hotel, thanks for beautiful holidays, see you summer 2011

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank emeraldverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

My partner and I arrived on the early morning boat, only to be greeted by a grumpy and slightly creepy hotelier, who jokingly(?) threatened he would 'go to sleep' had we arrived a minute later. The hotel itself, described on the website as "small luxury hotel", is nothing more than a haphazardly built, dirty, and below mediocre 'rooms-to-let' style accommodation. Our room was poorly furnished, and dirty; unwashed linens, dusty surfaces, and a soiled white couch. It was with horror that we opened the smelly refrigerator to find two frozen flies in the ice cube tray! !
The sewage in the W/C exuded a continuous, gut wrenching smell, which rendered it impossible for us to remain there for longer than a minute.
More importantly, we found exposed electrical wiring at three different spots on the wall, which could have easily electrocuted us, had we come in contact with it. A massive safety hazard, especially for children.
The hotelier was unhelpful, odd, and at times incoherent.
We left after a day. Avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Kassandra_K2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yperiahotel, Owner at Yperia Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2010
Ridiculous to the point of pitiful.

You forgot to mention the raccoon running through the rooms at night!

We are generally open to criticism because improvement of any kind of the hotel is our aim, but being confronted with a review as ridiculous as this one just leads to the conclusion that this hateful article based on lies is the personal revenge of a couple that was probably hoping to get off without paying the full amount.
The reservation was made for 3 nights, because of personal affairs the couple decided to come one day later, so they stayed 2 nights and checked out, as planned, the next day.
We are expecting that this review will be removed by TA because this person violates the terms of use of TA for she is personal insulting the owner of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

My girlfriend and I just spent 10 nights at Yperia and it really made our holiday. The rooms are spacious, tasteful, have great views and are very clean but what made it a great stay for us were the personal touches which you wouldn't find in a larger or even a smaller hotel. One morning a lady (the owners Mother I think) came round the pool with a bowl of fresh figs for all the guests. In the evenings they would make lovely cocktail shots for all the guests by the pool. Also much appreciated was the free Wi-Fi access by the pool and a cable for my laptop for internet access in the bedroom/balcony.

The pool itself is a great focal point for the guests at the end of the day when returning from the beach. Despite the hotel being very busy and there being several families, the children were delightful and there was always a lovely vibe between the guests who congregated by the pool at the end of each day. I also have to mention their great taste in music which was spot on for lounging by the pool as well as the delicious iced coffee, salad and toasted sandwiches.

The owners are indeed as friendly and helpful as all the previous reviews say but the other people who helped out were equally as nice, especially the ladies at breakfast. Yperia is a great place to come back to at the end of the day exploring the island and (even though it was never our intention) an equally great place to spend your day relaxing day by the pool.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yanstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We stayed a couple of nights at the Yperia hotel following poor reviews of the Aegialis Hotel, and were hoping for a perfect exeperience. We have been somewhat disappointed by the choice - maybe bad luck with our room. Every step of the top floor above us felt like it took place in our room, people kept coming in and out until 2am, and the noice of doors closing woke the whole family each time. Also, we had some water flowing from the bathroom to the lounge area every morning, not knowing where it was coming from. Finally, half of the fittings in the bathroom were either missing or broke during our stay.

The owners are really friendly though, but are not present in the morning, leaving you with a more complex check out process which becomes stressful when you have to take the bus back to Katapola and don't want to miss your boat.

The hotel has a nice small pool, which is nice when not too cramped (which can happen when people not part of the hotel guests join the party...)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Midouille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amorgos hotels
1.2 mi away
Vigla Hotel
Vigla Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tholaria
269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aegialis Hotel & Spa
Aegialis Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Aegiali
609 reviews
2.9 mi away
Aquapetra Hotel
Aquapetra Hotel
#4 of 12 in Amorgos
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Hotel Minoa
Hotel Minoa
#1 of 1 in Katapola
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Big Blue
The Big Blue
#2 of 8 in Aegiali
81 reviews
7.3 mi away
Amorgion Hotel
Amorgion Hotel
#3 of 13 in Katapola
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yperia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yperia Hotel

Property: Yperia Hotel
Address: Ormos Aegiali, 840 08, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Amorgos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Amorgos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Yperia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yperia Hotel has at its disposal large rooms with a fantastic view over the Aegean Sea and the port of Aegiali. The architecture of the building is inspired by the traditional Amorgian character of the ancient housing estates of the island. All the rooms are decorated with traditional hand made furniture and iron beds, which gives a unique feeling of elegance and comfort to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Yperia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing