We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely stay”
Review of Filoxenia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amorgos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Filoxenia Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Amorgos
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Lovely view from the balcony over the harbour, great for sunset watching. Rooms are very comfortable, balcony, bedroom with fridge and hotplate for making a pot of coffee, crockery and tea towel provided, separate bathroom with wc. Breakfast taken on patio overlooing the harbour. Only a few minutes to the main areas where there is a choice of bars and restaurants. Lovely family who own the property. Would return again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MozBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

We started badly when they failed to meet us at Katapola! Not the first time this has happened to me with Aegali hotels (I did e-mail 2 days before but should have rung from the boat) - still there are worse places to wait than Katapola on a sunny evening. After that all was fine. The room had a terrific view and was extremely well appointed and thought out. We were very comfortable for an eleven night stay. This is the 4th place I have used in Aegali and certainly the best - and cheapest! Shame the Sunset Cafe was not open to watch the sunset but a drink on our balcony was as good.

Room Tip: It is a long way up the steps to the top rooms but the view makes it worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 70John70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The view from the tiny balcony (some were larger) was great and we watched a few sunsets. It's close to the town and road but you dpon't hear the road noise.
We found the owner to be off hand and his son, who met us at the port, made no attempt to carry a bag for us (not the usual friendly Greek approach)
I found my husband's passport left out unattended which unnerved me but not as much as the electric cable hanging into the shower (quickly fixed but still...)
The rooms are basic with an electric hob in the cupboard but no pot to make tea on. Beds pretty uncomfortable too.
There are better and cheaper places to stay just over the road witgh pretty much the same view

Room Tip: ask for a larger balcony otherwise its a bit of a tight squeeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emmaLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

A lovely place perfect views over the sea and harbour. 5 minute walk in to town with the best sunset's our room was very big and clean with. we stayed for 5 nights and had sheets and towels change once which is enough for 5 nights.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kim1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Perfectly located-all rooms have views of sea, harbour & bay, but quiet because its set to one side of the resort. 1 min walk to port & restaurants/cafes, 2 mins to bus stop, 5 mins to beach. Good quality produce breakfast, rooms cleaned very well every day. Only negative would be that I'd have liked more than 1 sheet/towel change in 7 days. Regarding previous reviews, I don't think its reasonable to expect a reception in a10 room hotel - the lady is always around for information during breakfast time (8-11)& the man was there every day around 10, plus a few times in the day. Also, in the room there were 2 telephone numbers to contact them.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nerakban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The hotel is in a prime position overlooking the harbour. Rooms clean and comfortable with a sea view. Plenty of hot water with good water pressure. Aircon efficient and quiet. Breakfast good and tasty with the additional choice of yogurt or cake. Wonderful sunsets from balcony. Just a few minutes to the harbour with choice of bars and tavernas.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MozBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Stayed for 7 nights at the end of May 2012. We enjoyed it so much we have decided to return this year. Galina & Nikitas are very welcoming. The island was quiet and the hotel's Sunset bar was closed. We were happy to prepare our own breakfast & eat it on our balcony - with the best view in Amorgos! The sunsets are memorable. You won't be disappointed!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank MemberBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amorgos hotels
2.8 mi away
Aquapetra Hotel
Aquapetra Hotel
#4 of 12 in Amorgos
98 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vigla Hotel
Vigla Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tholaria
306 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Minoa
Hotel Minoa
#1 of 1 in Katapola
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aegialis Hotel & Spa
Aegialis Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Aegiali
694 reviews
8.0 mi away
Landeris Hotel
Landeris Hotel
#11 of 12 in Amorgos
9 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gryspo's Hotel
Gryspo's Hotel
#5 of 12 in Amorgos
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Filoxenia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filoxenia Hotel

Address: | Ormos Aegialis, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Amorgos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Amorgos
Price Range: £70 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing