We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“.A marvellous holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pagali Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amorgos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pagali Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Amorgos
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“.A marvellous holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Pagali Hotel is in a wonderful place in Amorgos Island: one can breathe sea air from the fresh seaside. Just outside Langada Village (Aegiali), at about 200 m. above the sea, with a gorgeous view on the coast below, al the arrival in Pagali Hotel one can immediately notice the kindness of Johanna and Nikos, so that one can feel at home. We spent there 12 beautiful days, being able of making every day a different trip throughtout the island. But the nicest thing in Pagali was cooking: exquisite dishes prepared by Nikos and his cooks. Every day a different dish, meat or fish or greek food, one better than the other. Suppers were often gladdened by Greek music. Furthermore to go to Johanna bakery to taste her speciality was a must! Rooms were also very well furnished in every detail and very comfortable. In short a marvellous holiday to go back again!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Letizia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    10
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

I'm amazed that some people have had bad experiences of the Pagali, as I've been there on and off over 5 years and always been welcome and experienced good and friendly service, pick-up & return to the Aegiali ferry, and excellent, if somewhat, unvaried food - but much of it comes from their own organic farm in the valley, so that's a big plus. Don't test them by taking the ferry to/from the other (distant) port, Katapola, that's mean... Rooms small but clean, ensuite, & some at least with balcony overlooking the village and the bay - a half hour walk away down the muletrack (or 3 minute drive if you've hired a car). True the hot water can be a bit dodgy, and the wifi only works in the taverna, but hey, multitask your email with a beer. Amorgos is a lovely island, still fairly unspoilt, with lots of walking, wildlife, some good beaches, ancient ruins and the weird cliffside monastery of Hozoviotissa; not for lovers of nighclubs and all-night raves.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travologista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Pagali is a friendly hotel with well-sized rooms with beautiful view to the Aegiali bay. The roof terrace is great for a sundowner. The owner, Nico, is welcoming and engaged in his guests, and has lots of tips for activities and local information. If coming back to Amorgos (and we hope to) we would abolutely stay at Pagali again. They forgot to pick us up at the airport as promised, but we rented a car, and was happy for that since Langada is a bit off, and buses leave very seldom.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheetahfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

We have just got back from another wonderful stay at the Pagali - have lost count of how many visits we've made there. We were, as we have always been, very cheerfully met at the port - even though it was distant Katapola and three in the morning! The welcome was warm and the studios beautiful. - amazingly comfortable beds. Ioanna's breakfast as delicious as ever, and Indeed all the meals fantastic - everything fresh and from Nikos's farm where possible this early in the year. He even killed one of his pigs so we could have my husband's favourite liver! His fishing trips were very successful and on our last evening we had shark - optional fortunately but apparently delicious. This is a very special place.

Room Tip: Studios 13, 14, 15 and 16 are our favourites - wonderful views from balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bookpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Bad start when the promised pick up was not at the ferry to meet us (at 2am). After a couple of phone calls we were eventually picked up in a rather brusque manner. No apology, no welcome, just a lift up the hill to the hotel. We were taken to our room (no help offered with the luggage) and given a ten second brief before our host deserted us. The room ( Number 3) was tiny and cramped - absolutely nothing like the website. It was billed as a double room with sea views but was possibly the worst hotel room I have ever stayed in. The bed was a very small double against the wall on one side and with barely enough room to walk by on the other side - there was nowhere to put our travel packs. The 'private bath' advertised on the website was not as expected - it was a hand held shower in the toilet with no screen or recess.
We realised that the bed had no bedding and I had to go and search out our 'host' before we were supplied with a couple of blankets and left to make our own bed.
The location is rather remote, but we understood from the website that there was a bus service to the port and to the rest of the island. We were informed matter of factly, that there was no bus service until the high season and it was suggested that we hitchhike to and from the nearby restaurants (3 km down the hill). Perhaps we were unlucky and received the worst room in the hotel but the service received was appalling. Niko and Joanna weren't present but this can't be an excuse. If we had booked into the cheapest of 'rooms for rent' available I wouldn't expect this service. Now re- reading the various Tripadvisor reviews, I question their veracity.
We checked out the next morning and found a beautiful spacious room in the Aigiali Pension down in the port. Half the price but a much higher standard.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mobinsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

Best Hotel on the Best Greek Island

We're not that sad, and we're not related to the owners but we have returned to the same studio room in Pagali for the same fortnight for the last ten years. (We’re actually very wise!) Staying at Pagali on Amorgos somehow feeds my soul and it's about now, late November, that I start browsing the Amorgos website just to make sure it's all still there ready for next year- and that's why I'm on Trip Advisor.

Niko and Ioanna are the perfect hosts, providing quality accommodation without glitz. Their style is authentic, creative and welcoming. The room is always scrupulously clean with plenty of hot water available. In line with eco sentiments, there’s a sign on the wall reminding guests that water is scarce on the island . This sentiment reflects the approach at Pagali , generally: conscious of standards in other European destinations but also conscious that this very special island that should remain that way. The staff are mostly family members and incredibly charming; the mattresses are coconut and possibly more comfortable than mine at home!

Langada sits on a hillside tucked away from the bustle of the harbour in Ormos but close enough to walk in under half an hour along the well-trodden donkey path, with masses of wild herbs either side. We find that walking the well-signed trails followed by a late lunch, relaxing on the beach, then a shower and a meal at Pagali is our idea of heaven.

Niko and Ioanna have been generous in sharing their knowledge of the island and helping us to understand the customs and culture. With their support, we have been able to explore most of the paths each year.

This year we ate in the restaurant every evening but sometimes we eat in Tholaria or Ormos. If we've had a tiring walk during the day, there is nothing better than relaxing on terrace at Pagali and enjoying great food and company. Fresh meat and vegetables from Niko's farm are served with bread from the bakery under a canopy of jasmine, looking out over Ageali Bay and the setting sun. WE'RE NOT RELATED but we are completely enchanted. Why go elsewhere when it's that good!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms looking over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorwichNfN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

What does make the Pagali Hotel so close to Eden's garden?
Is it because of the place? The owners, the crew? Or maybe the food served at the tavern? It is all of that!

Nikos and his wife Joanna have perfectly blended all these ingredients to create a unique atmosphere, perfect mix between authenticity, warmth and comfort...

Concretely speaking, the hotel was fully booked when we arrived and we first occupied a sweet little room with a giant communal terrace with an outstanding view on the bay (the #3). Then, Nikos did all his possible and proposed us an amazing studio (the #19) with a personal balcony with the same outstanding view on the bay than the previous one. The studio includes a fully equipped kitchenette (but, frankly speaking, it would be a shame not to enjoy the delicious and various dishes the chief proposes at the Pagali's tavern!), and both the room and the studio were offering a LCD TV (but who cares watching TV in this paradise?) and air conditioning. They were both very nicely decorated and very recently refurbished.

Last but not least, Nikos, Joanna and all the people working here are surely the most important part which makes that place a must. Always smiling and helpful, full of good advice and humor, they are finally all very hard to leave when holidays comes to its end...

Conclusion: We originally planned to stay in Amorgos for three days, and we finally left our brand new family after one week... Promising them to come back the sooner possible. :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amorgos hotels
1.1 mi away
Vigla Hotel
Vigla Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tholaria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aegialis Hotel & Spa
Aegialis Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Aegiali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
4.1 mi away
Aquapetra Hotel
Aquapetra Hotel
#4 of 12 in Amorgos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Landeris Hotel
Landeris Hotel
#10 of 12 in Amorgos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Minoa
Hotel Minoa
#1 of 1 in Katapola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gryspo's Hotel
Gryspo's Hotel
#7 of 12 in Amorgos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pagali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pagali Hotel

Property: Pagali Hotel
Address: Langada, Aegiali, 840 08, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Amorgos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Amorgos
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing