We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced,old and dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Apollon Village Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Anafi
Reviewed 10 September 2010

The general condition of the room we stayed in (nbr 121-Thalia, in the older part of the Apollon village) was rather disappointing, being narrow and dirty:The bathroom would be a problem for an overweight person. There was dust and other pieces of garbage under the bed and we had to clean the closet and drawers up ourselves in order to put our clothes in. As advantages we could say that the sheets and towels were clean and that the view was really spectacular. Also there was peace and quiet- we really calmed down with time. We think that the price of 70 Euros per day for that seemingly 20 year old room was way too much.
We definitely recommend the island of Anafi though, which was little-cute, not expensive, with many and excellent beaches and perfect food , quite, with fine residents .

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Gatouli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2010

Large rooms with excellent view and nice balcony. Good daily cleaning service. The staff was very friendly and overall service is very good. Breakfast/coffee could be better. Highly recommend it. At €70/night, it is excellent value for money

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eliasc64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Stayed two weeks, very friendly staff, excellent views from private terrace, some beautiful beaches in reasonable distance, if you do not want to go by car/bike, very quiet, perfect place for relaxing holidays. If you need to stay connected, Internet works fine. Only one taverna in walking distance, more of them in Chora.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeterVIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

I suggest this hotel for its great view, its location above the best beach of Anafi, the polite owners that made everything that was possible in order to make better our stay and the relaxation that is offering. The connection for the mobile phones in all the island of Anafi,apart from the town (Chora) is terrible and the rooms of Apollon hotel were not an exception.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariaMelissia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

We went to Anafi as the first stop on our honeymoon in the Greek Islands after friends recommended it, and it lived up to their recommendation. The Apollon is a real find it has the most beautiful views, the rooms/apartments are large and equiped with everything you could need for a self catering stay. The food at the hotel was great I would highly recommend the breakfast its €8 but is perfect for 2 people to share.

Anafi is a very quiet and peaceful place and was the perfect antidote to all the wedding mayhem. The town of Chora is about a 15min walk from the Apollon village and it is a bit hilly but is not a difficult walk and Chora is well worth a visit for dinner or just for a walk around.

The beach just at the bottom of the hill from the Apollon village it is a steep walk but it is a lovely beach and there is a little restaurant near the bottom where you can have dinner or just a well earned refreshment on your way to or from beach.

We fell in love with the Apollon village and would recommend it to anyone who just wants to relax lie around and recover from the mayhem of everyday life.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kbs-belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2009

Our villa had an amazing view but all the villas seem to offer gorgeous vistas. The service and cleanliness exceeded expectations. Although part of the charm of this place is the peacefulness, we highly recommend Apollon Village to anyone staying in Anafi. The hotel is close to the town of Chora and also just above one of the lovliest beaches on the island. We plan to return year after year.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lekelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

From the day I booked a room over the phone at Apollo Village hotel, I thought "these are really nice people". And indeed, Popi, the young girl running this wonderful hotel on Anafi together with her mother, are doing a stunningly excellent job, on a remote island of 250 inhabitants where you would expect a lot less. The hotel, which is 19 individual little houses and studios, is built on a steep slope and offers the most spectacular and always unhindered views, so you need not worry about yours being spoilt by anything whatsoever. Very imposing mountain falling on the sea, and ending at unspoilt golden sand beaches. The rooms are equipped with everything you might need (microwave ovens on demand). There's no mobile phone signal but at the reception and restaurant, but this is due to poor infrastructure on the island. Popi will give you a cable for ISDN internet connection (which is spectacularly fast and stable), if you want.

All rooms and public areas are spotlessly clean and taken care of, the views are spectacular, and as soon as you go for breakfast Popi and her mother will notify the cleaners, so your room will be clean and ready by the time you finish your breakfast and want to take your stuff for the beach. Very efficient. But it's not just that, which gave us the best impression. It's incredible, to think that this hotel where everything works clockwise, is just run by a young girl and her mother. They are the smiliest people ever, genuinely interested in making your holiday pleasant, worriless and comfortable. Always available for everything you might need, with a genuine wide smile, they have made a true effort to create a comfortable and inviting establishment, despite the remoteness of the island, the lack of means and the poor connection with the mainland. Everything shouts "quality" at Apollon Village hotel. Breakfast is not included in the room rate, but you won't find any better anywhere in town. It includes real and freshly squeezed orange juice (as opposed to the coloured syrup you get at most places), President butter, homemade marmelades, yoghurt with best quality Greek thyme honey, fresh and homemade cakes, good coffee (including espresso) and a lot more. Popi's mother herself makes delicious cakes for you to enjoy at any time (cheese cake, lemon pies, cookies, chocolate pie and a lot more). Surprisingly, they also sell mineral water, juice and soft drinks for a lot cheaper than you'll find in any super market. And everything is spotlessly clean, as you see them preparing your breakfast or snacks.
We wanted to extend our stay for another 2 nights 'cause we loved the place, there was no room availability and they offered us their former own apartment in order to meet our needs, for half the price. They will also take you to and from the port and will provide any information on the island you might need. The hotel is walking distance from the island's best beaches (just 5 minutes away from the main, family beach) and Margarita's taverna overlooking the beach. It is a steep ride to go back, but well worth it. And you won't need to arrange your schedule to the buse's erratic one, in order to go to the beach, as you would do if you stayed at Chora (the island's capital).

It is THE place to stay on Anafi, we definitely recommend it and we're mostly thankful to Popi and her mother for their smiles and their keenness to make our vacation comfortable and careless.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AntonisInAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anafi
16.4 mi away
Santorini Crystal Blue Suites
16.4 mi away
Santellini Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Villa Kalamiotissa
Villa Kalamiotissa
#1 of 5 in Anafi
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa Aigli
Villa Aigli
#2 of 6 in Anafi
30 reviews
0 mi away
Panselinos Rooms
Panselinos Rooms
#5 of 5 in Anafi
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollon Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollon Village Hotel

Address: Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Anafi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Anafi
Price Range: £35 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollon Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Apollon Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing