We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A worthwhile holiday experience!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Folegandros
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Themonies Luxury Suites
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We visited with my husband Folegandros in early September for our honeymoon and stayed at “Shepherds Themonia” and “Eleliphaskos” suites. From the very first moment that we meet Dimitris the hotel manager at the port (he came to pick us up on our arrival to the island), till the last moment that we said goodbye to Elissavet the receptionist and Mirka the hotel owner our stay in Themonies was truly unforgettable. He have experienced a truly unique stay of relaxation, quality, privacy and personalized services combined with superior room facilities. The location of Themonies suites is so convenient that you can easily reach Chora’s centre within a 5 minute walk through a beautiful traditional stroll. Breakfast delivered anytime you like in the room were a major advantage and an experience you should live. You don’t need to get dressed or wake up early in order to have your breakfast; all you have to do is just wake up and make a call!!! After that you just should decide if you want to have breakfast in the balcony, in the living room or in bed!!! The impeccable hospitality and courtesy of everyone in Themonies made us feel really warm and comfortable. Both the 2 suites that we have the chance to stay in were beautiful, well designed, well made and well equipped rooms with fine linen, comfortable beds with high quality mattresses, comfy sofas and even equipped with beach towels and a beach umbrella!! I totally recommend Themonies if you decide to visit Folegandros, it’s a really worthwhile holiday experience!!!

Room Tip: Shepherds Themonia is only for 2 persons (couples), choose it if you look for a rural feeling. Elel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank serserou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

A friend recommended this hotel to me and after one look at the website, I decided this is where I wanted to stay and celebrate my birthday with my boyfriend. I was not disappointed! Dimitris was extremely welcoming and upgraded us to their incredible villa in honor of my birthday. The villa was absolutely amazing...we didn't want to leave the room! Breakfast was delivered to our room daily and I just can't say enough good things about the outstanding service we received. The hotel is walking distance to Chora, which is one of the most picturesque town centers I've seen in the Cyclades. I highly recommend this hotel for a truly unique and romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank piathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

My husband and I just spent three nights at Themonies for our honeymoon. We could not hav asked for a better stay. The owner and everyone else who worked there were so warm and welcoming. The room was the cleanest, most unique and beautiful hotel we stayed in throughout our tour of the Cyclades. The breakfast was fabulous, everyone was extremely kind, and we would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Folegandros.

Room Tip: We stayed in the two bedroom suite. It had an amazing kitchen and great dining room table. Be prep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harpergully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Folegandros is one of Greece's great treasures. Visiting the island gives one a chance to see a quieter and more historic Greece. Authentic is an overused word, but some of the Greeks folks we have talked to in our travels have told us that there is certainly something special about this island.
Themonies is a luxury option for visiting the island. All of their rooms are spacious and beautiful. In fact, Themonies is one of the most thoughtfully designed places our family has ever stayed. From the gorgeous bathrooms, to the built-in sleeping platforms and couches, from the large patios to the quiet reception room, everything seems designed and built to please.
We have stayed at Themonies twice, in June of 2011 and July of 2012. During both visits we felt like family, which may be characteristic of Greek hospitality, but is not always associated with luxury hotels. The owners and staff are all determined that your stay will be perfect. The morning breakfast is fresh and plentiful, delivered with a smile every day. Everyone there is happy to help with reservations, making arrangements, giving tour tips for the island.
There are places with better and far more dramatic views and the hotel does not have a pool, but you will find a gorgeous home away from home at Themonies. The center of the Chora is a five minute walk away as is the bus stop to take you to the beach. For a Californian, a vacation without a car is always welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank opelscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

we didnt know the hotel but we chose it cause we loved the pics at the website.it was our anniversary and they inspired us,we wanted somethingr special.well it was and more than that.the tranquil environment,the homemade breakfast delivered to our room everyday, the unique location, an island unspoiled and a hotel that exceeds the standards with its people.we felt everything in our room was carefully placed as for the service and the warmth they made us feel at home throughout our stay.thank you all for making our stay so special!we look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

we are just back from Themonies in Folegandros were we have spent ten marvelous days!
i am glad we did not pay attention to any of the bad critics we have reed in this site.
What we have found at our arrival has nothing to match with this.
I guess they are people that expect to leave in the Cyclades as they doo in LA or NYC:difficult for me to share it. You always need to find the right key for any new place when visiting.
Sometime you just can be unlucky but, sometime, it can also depends from you.I think that is what make a difference from a turist from a traveler. The Welcome at Themonies is not as described here.If you look for fuss and bla-bla-bla here is different:Themonies roules are quite simple and clear, their attitude can appear quite strict but it is not. This is just because they know exactly what they can offer you cause they have selected everything already.And this is not little, believe me.Their attitude to quality and their passion for the autentique can be seen and shared during all your stay.But be aware: if you look for a huge buffet for breakfast full of everything (but with anything really good to eat) go somewhere else.If you look just for big quantities well, here is different ! : they care more about the quality.
In fact,for me,the quality of what they offer you (included in your room rate) is just closer to perfection: from the grilled bread to the amazing home made jams,as well the fresh, but not cold, fruits salads or the orange juice made at the minute, including the home fresh cakes baked just for you. Plus,as a greek fan, i cannot leave my table without a slice of toasted bread with some room temperature chopped tomato.... do you know anything better than this?On the other hand for the ones who like to indulge around the swimming pool, well! this his not your place either! with the most beautiful sapphire blu sea you have ever seen, at ten minute drive, what a pool can represent?
Coming back to the bad critics,what can i say,if ever someone have been disappointed about Themonies i can just confirm,after my stay,that they have definitively...,learn the lesson!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
4  Thank cesare f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed at Themonies for a week at the end of July. Booked based on website reviews as we'd never been to Folegandros and thought we'd stay 'upmarket' rather than take a chance. We're glad we did. It's expensive, but everything is top notch. Breakfasts are fresh and delivered to your room, the accommodations are thoughtful, the views are interesting (but not overlooking the ocean) and the staff are VERY friendly and helpful. They are expensive, but in Europe you often DON'T get what you pay for, but here that's not the case. There are better positioned places in Folegandros from a view or location in town perspective, but Themonies folks made us feel very welcome and relaxed. You won't be let down by a visit there. They do need a pool for very hot days, there are quite a few other places that have pools, and they said they planned one. But hey, it's Greece right?! :)

Room Tip: all distinctly different! Enjoy each one for different reasons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WoWbagga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folegandros hotels
0.2 mi away
Vrahos Boutique Hotel
Vrahos Boutique Hotel
#1 of 3 in Karavostasis
346 reviews
3.4 mi away
Blue Sand Boutique Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Anemi Hotel
Anemi Hotel
#2 of 3 in Karavostasis
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ampelos Resort
Ampelos Resort
#7 of 34 in Folegandros
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Onar Suites
Onar Suites
#1 of 3 in Karavostasis
32 reviews
0 mi away
Pasithea Folegandros
Pasithea Folegandros
#6 of 17 in Folegandros
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Themonies Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Themonies Luxury Suites

Address: Folegandros Hora, 840 11, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Folegandros
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Folegandros
Price Range: £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An agricultural stone complex of the late 19th century, renovated to host today’s demanding explorer and harmoniously surrounded by new, equally appealing, stone structures, captures the architectural spirit, the primordial vibes and the enchanting sociability of the island of Folegandros and presents a captivating, hospitable escape, offering discrete, private moments. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing