We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sombody SHUT THIS PLACE DOWN!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Papalagi Taverna

Papalagi Taverna
Ranked #4 of 66 Restaurants in Folegandros
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Kids, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sombody SHUT THIS PLACE DOWN!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

My second time to this place, i wanted to give it an other chance as last time, we ate there really bad and the service was even worse!!
..so after 2 years i come back and was hoping it would be better, because i really enjoy the view from up there.

But no, It Still is the worst Place on the island, i am not even sure if it has a proper license to operate, and if it has, i am sure he payed somebody to get it!!!
For Real , just ask to have a look at the kitchen, - STILL DIRTY AND DISGUSTING AS MANY YEARS BEFORE, and if that was not enough , with all their garbage and stuff in the backside of the restaurant THEY MAKE THE WHOLE OF THE BEACHES BACKGROUND LOOK BAD!!

Hopefully the proper authorities will get on his case, its shame tourist come and leave with food poisoning. ....that's what happened to me, after eating there, 2 days i had problems with my stomach, and had to go to the toilet every 30 min. Why ruin my vacation??? WHY??

My suggestion is to stay away....

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spacephantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    78
    21
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best restaurant ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Excellent view, amazing location. If someone wants to eat real fresh fish this is the best place. Papalagi is our favorite place on the island. For eat, drink and relax. The owners paris and takis are very friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gallarate
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One of the most expensive in the island.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We arrived here on our first day in the island, following Tripadvisor's advices. We have had two starters, two main courses and sparkling water and we paid 39 Euro (which is quiet a lot in the for Folegandros). The portion were not as big as other restaurants' and the waiter was not really hospitable. However the location is spectacular and their famous Papalagi Octopus delicious. We didn't come back in our 6 days holiday, as you can have better treatment and eat well in other restaurants, too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stvb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The food is superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Mr Papalagis himself picked my friends and I from Angali beach with his speedboat to take us to his restaurant. The starlit journey there was breathtaking followed by a superb dinner with gorgeous sea views.

I highly recommend this place!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank amichaell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“12€ for frozen carpaccio tuna???”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

As we visited Agios Nicolaos beach, we had lunch there. However, we didn't remained satisfied as the carpaccio tuna we ordered was frozen And we paid it as fresh-12€, why???
Drink , DON'T eat !!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vivaldijoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Papalagi Taverna also viewed

Chora, Folegandros
Folegandros, Cyclades
 
Folegandros, Cyclades
 

Been to Papalagi Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing