We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing location!”
Review of Notos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Notos
Athens
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing location!”
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Located in the most picturesque part of the tiny and beautiful Folegandros, Notos blends perfectly with the untouched natural environment. We stayed for 4 nights in August and we absolutely loved it. Rooms are very clean and equiped with everything that you might need (there was no hair dryer but Lucas, the proprietor, brought us one the next day).
The view is breathtaking, especially when the sun sets between Milos and Kimolos in the background.
Apartments are built on working farmland, which means that you are surrounded by donkeys, goats and a friendly white cow (actually it is so utterly quiet that one night we heard the cow licking herself from a distance of 100m).
Night skies are spectacular due to absolute lack of light pollution, you will be amazed!
The only thing that needs improvement is the lack of privacy. Sitting on our verandah we could see and be seen by those who stayed in the other 4 rooms/houses.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tsiopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
41
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

All five, separated, little houses respect the environment and are decorated with taste and character.
The view from the enormous verandah was perfect, actually we enjoyed the best sunsets in the island. The west situation protected you from the sun during morning hours as well.
I recommend it as the perfect choice in the island as in 10 minutes distance from (more expensive and noisy) Chora you can enjoy relaxation, quietness combined with view and atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FOTEINI K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The most pleasant surprise on our Summer Holidays this year was our room at Notos. Traveling to Cyclades 20 years now, I have not stayed in a better place. The positioning was appropriate for relaxation and looking out to sea, the quiescence made your ears buzz, the absolute absence of light made the sky look unbelievable bright, and the thyme smell in the morning wakes up your appetite for the famous Folegandrian Honey. The room was as big as needed, the mattresses and the pillows were better than expected, the daily cleaning was more than adequate, and of course Lucas, Theano and Myrto made you really feel like home. Finally perhaps it’s one of the few places that not only you do not need an air-condition during a heat wave, but at night you may need a light summer blanket. Sleeping with fresh air is something I definitely need in my holidays. The place is really perfect for the ones who love the Cycladic scenery, the sunsets, quietness and the nature at its glory. We will certainly go there again and again.

Room Tip: The last appartment looked the best to me, having slightly better view than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marianna24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Very nice case. Independend houses, with unspoiled view to Aegean sea, huge verandas. Ecologically friendly, with alternative sources of energy. Very quiet, has everything that will make your vacations ideal. It needs definately car or motorbike to reach it. The owner, Loukas, will give you answers on every question you have, very polite and nice guy.

Room Tip: All face the same perfect view. All have the same-almost- structure, so any of the houses will satis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank antonios p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darmstadt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

The small complex is situated at a very good location, perfect for relaxation. The rooms are very nice, clean and well decorated, a perfect combination of elegance and simplicity. An extra plus is the fact that the apartments are energetically autonomous: Cyclades sun and wind take care of everything! The architecture is harmonically in tune with nature. The location of the complex is perfect for hiking in order to reach two of the most beautiful beaches of the island (Livadaki and Ampeli). The view from the room and the sunset is stunning. The hospitality is truly great. Overall, it was a unique experience. Looking forward to visit again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Petros P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rovereto, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

hello everybody,
this review was create for share with everybody my really positive experience in Notos, Folegandros.
First of all, this is a wonderful place for people that loves peace and amazing sunset.
The 5 small houses of Notos, each one independent, are located in the virgin part of Folegandros Island, letting you fell the peace and the comfort of long silences and the opportunity to walk for hours and hours in a deeply and linked with nature way.
The house are constructed in a sustainable way: rainwater harvesting, local material, renewable energy for heat water and PV for electricity, walkable distance from reataurant and a bit more (45 min) from beautiful beaches.
Loukas is very kindly and try to do everything to give you the best accomodation and services that you will need.
the ratio quality/price is very satisfiyng, for sure a place where to return !

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alessandro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The “complex” Notos is situated in the most beautiful angle of the island, to north west, mostly protected from the winds and looking at the island of Milos. From the little houses (all independent and separated the one from the others) you’ll enjoy boundless sea views and amazing sunsets. It’s a magic place, where romanticism and quiet reign supreme.
The houses are simple but pleasant and noiseless (almost you don’t see yours " neighbors ", therefore not as it happens to the classical Hotels), well-appointed to organize some romantic dinners or breakfast under the porchs.
An angle of heaven whether to refresh the soul far just ten minutes by scooter from the Chora: it is said that the marvelous near church of Aghios Panteleimonas was known for her ability to infuse peace in who visited her.
The owner, Loukas, is very kind.
The cost/quality ratio is, according to me, the best of the island.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Luca-Pierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folegandros hotels
5.6 mi away
Vrahos Boutique Hotel
Vrahos Boutique Hotel
#1 of 3 in Karavostasis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
2.4 mi away
Blue Sand Hotel & Suites
Blue Sand Hotel & Suites
#2 of 7 in Folegandros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
5.4 mi away
Anemi Hotel
Anemi Hotel
#2 of 3 in Karavostasis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Provalma Studios
Provalma Studios
#3 of 33 in Folegandros
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lemon Tree Houses
Lemon Tree Houses
#1 of 1 in Ano Meria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
3.9 mi away
Polikandia Hotel
Polikandia Hotel
#1 of 11 in Chora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Notos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Notos

Property: Notos
Address: Ano Meria, 840 11, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Folegandros
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Folegandros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the CycladesFolegandros is a small island in the South-western Cyclades, between the islands of Sikinos and Milos. Self sufficient and welcoming, Folegandros is a place of great wild beauty shining underneath the aegean light. In such landscape, very close to Ano Meria, we created a complex of houses called NOTOS, perfectly integrated into the natural environment while taking into consideration the traditional architecture. Here the visitor experiences immediately the essence of Cycladic life while feeling at home!NOTOS / in FolegandrosIn an idyllic location, 800 m from the village of Ano Mera in Folegandros, with breathtaking views of the Aegean Sea and surrounding islands, we created the complex of houses NOTOS. Five detached houses, energy-efficient, entirely supplied by alternative energy sources, offer the visitor a different holiday experience, close to nature, with respect to nature. Each 40 m2 house can accommodate up to 3 guests. Each house, with fully equipped kitchen and large terraces, offer a unique view of one of the most spectacular sunsets in the Cyclades. The tranquillity, far from the sounds and lights of the city and the farming life scenery, offer absolute relaxation and serenity. Here the guests feel at home and at the same time can enjoy the unique experience of a star stubbed sky. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing