We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Folegandros”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anemomilos Apartments
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Folegandros
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Location and views are unparalleled on the island. The hotel landscape and design is gorgeous, lush, vibrant flowers and lovely colors all over. Very peaceful and tranquil, nice music playing throughout the grounds. The food and drinks from the hotel are a bit pricey but worth the spend. You can't beat the view from the dining area overlooking the cliff and church nearby. Great place to grab drinks to watch the sunset - or view it from your room! We requested the green level room at the end of the line with a private veranda facing the sunset. Note that the veranda overlooks the square where the buses depart so would not recommend it if you mind being seen a bit. Service was great - the family is there for anything you need but also respect your privacy. They were great about informing us when the ferry was arriving so that we could relax at the hotel as we waited, not wait at the dock for hours as they tend to run late.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jadedc83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnemomilosApartments, Owner at Anemomilos Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Dear Sir or Madam,

thank you so much for taking the time to review Anemomilos Apartments. We are happy to know you enjoyed your vacations with us and hope to see you again in the future!

Kind Regards,

Diana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2013

I just had to write a fresh review. I realized my last one was quite a few years ago and we have been going back to this 'heaven on earth' gem of a hotel every year since then with friends and family. It is family owned by the delightful Patelis Family: Cornelia and her husband Dimitris and their two extraordinary children Danae and Andreas. I am so happy the two children decided to join in the family biz after extensive University studies in London. You are sure to be in good hands. You will be welcomed upon arrival and I guarantee within moments you will be planning your next trip back. Many of the rooms have the kind of views that you only see in magazines (even from some of the bathrooms!) It is a very convenient location...steps away from the pedestrian only town. The breakfasts on the terrace overlooking the sea are so yummy...including home made cake! The family feeling extends to the staff and everyone is so very friendly yet highly professional...clearly hand picked for their great personalities and very interesting and varied backgrounds. In the afternoons at the pool you can get wonderful salads made freshly and with love by a lovely woman. I seriously DREAM of the tuna salad and the rocket salad accompanied by a crisp, satisfying glass of chardonnay. The housekeeping staff is like a miracle crew! I have never had crisper, cleaner sheets in my life. I want them to move into my house! Every friend we've sent to this island and this hotel has not only WANTED to return...they have! We are going again this year. I can hardly wait to order my salad!

Room Tip: Blue rooms are more expensive but have full on views but many of the Green rooms also have views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank AFoolForTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Anemomilos Apartments-- the name is a misnomer as it's really more like a hotel in which the rooms have small kitchens-- might be one of the finest family-owned and family-run hotels in the Greek Islands. Dimitris and Cornelia Patelis (along with their daughter, Diana) have designed, built and maintained a beautiful small hotel in a very, very special setting (just check out the website to see what I mean-- right in town but with spectacular views). They've had the hotel for over 20 years and you can see that they have carefully maintained and renovated the facility every year. Nice. They serve a fantastic breakfast (either fixed price-- worth it if you like a large breakfast, or a la carte) and can do light meals/snacks throughout the day.

We could have stayed at a place nearby for about half what we paid here-- we chose Anemomilos instead (our decision was based on the quality of the website), and we're glad we did. We'll be back.

Room Tip: We chose a blue line room-- it's a bit more but we wanted a better view. We think it was worth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TCWilliamstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

I stayed at Anemomilos for 5 nights and having nothing but wonderful things to say about my stay. The location was terrific with an amazing view from the room and the restaurant. The room was spacious, very comfortable and clean. The staff were welcoming, kind and helpful with suggestions of things to see and do. Within a 2 - 4 minute walk you have numerous restaurants to choose from - the little village came alive at night! I would highly recommend Anemomilos - it was truly spectaclar!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sbtravelday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Anemomilos was the best accommodation we had in our two week Greek holiday. We stayed for two nights and it wasn't nearly long enough. A wonderful, spacious, white room with balconies left over the top of the town and right over the sea. Glorious views, great breakfasts, and really warm hospitality.

Room Tip: Recommend the blue rooms. Think they are the ones that overlook the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lucinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We spent three weeks in Greece in early July and one of the highlights of our trip was our 6 day and the five night stay at the Anemomilos Apartments on the small remote island of Folegandros. We knew from the moment we arrived that we happened upon a very special place. A friendly understated paradise. At the port, the owner, Dimitris Patellis, met us warmly. After a quick minibus ride past the cliffs and almost lunar-like landscape which was sprinkled with white-washed buildings and chapels we arrived at the hotel and were greeted by Dimitris’s smiling wife Cornelia and their daughter Dinah. After checking in and getting a brief introduction to the resort, we were taken to our spacious and spotless green line room, which was perfect for our family of 5. There was a king size bed and three day beds for our 10 year old triplets. In addition, there was a well-appointed kitchenette, a clean modern bathroom, a large terrace/patio in the back overlooking the main town and in the front was a cliff-side balcony overlooking the sea. It is this sea view that we enjoyed tremendously each day from the moment we woke up to the incredible sunsets we took in each evening. It is a view we will never forget, and one that rivals the views of the caldera in Santorini. The resort was extremely well run and the family and there staff could not have been any nicer. The resort is also extremely well maintained; everything was in excellent working order, and freshly painted; you would not know the resort was 10 or 15 years old. The pool, the grounds and the restaurant area were all wonderful, perched along the cliffs overlooking the incredible view of the sea that went on forever. We were so enamored by the laid back, friendly and relaxing vibe of the island and the very special qualities of the hotel (from the friendliness of the family that owned the resort, their excellent staff and the other guests) that after our first day we extended our stay an additional night and had there been more availability, we would have stayed even longer. Thank you, thank you, thank you to the Patellis family for your wonderful hospitality; we had a great time and plan to return as often as we can in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 3familytravels3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Eighteen months in the planning, friends and family gathered at Anemomilos Apartments in Folegandros for a special birthday celebration. Our horrendous ferry ride from Athens was soon forgotten when we sat overlooking the magnificent cliffs to the blue sea below, sheltered from the meltemi winds and being made so welcome by Cornelia, Diana and staff. Each room occupied was presented beautifully and were immaculately clean. Many of our party are seasoned travellers - all of us could not fault our stay and our only regret was having to leave. Martina, the chef, kindly provided food on two occasions for us - the moussaka was the best we have eaten - and Alex waited on us patiently and always with a smile. Easy to find a corner to read a book quietly, sit on the balcony for breathtaking views, unbelievable sunsets - a very special place which will hold treasured memories for all of us. Thank you.

Room Tip: Blue room or green - every room was slightly different - with the blue rooms facing the sea with bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JaRMaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folegandros hotels
1.7 mi away
Vrahos Boutique Hotel
Vrahos Boutique Hotel
#1 of 3 in Karavostasis
345 reviews
1.5 mi away
Anemi Hotel
Anemi Hotel
#2 of 3 in Karavostasis
272 reviews
1.7 mi away
Blue Sand Boutique Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Solaris Hotel
Solaris Hotel
#6 of 8 in Folegandros
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Polikandia Hotel
Polikandia Hotel
#1 of 11 in Chora
466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Folegandros Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anemomilos Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anemomilos Apartments

Address: Hora, 840 11, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Folegandros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Folegandros
Price Range: £80 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anemomilos Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched along a vertical cliff, Anemomilos overlooks the vastness of the Aegean. Although peaceful and sequestered, your apartment is conveniently located within a short walk from the beautiful white-washed main village of the island, Hora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Anemomilos Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anemomilos Apartments Hotel Folegandros

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing