We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A taste of Ancient Greece”
Review of Temple of Demeter

Temple of Demeter
Ranked #10 of 116 things to do in Naxos
Attraction details
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A taste of Ancient Greece”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The Temple of Demeter is definitely worth visiting - Naxos combines access and love of the ancient sites with beautiful countryside.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank artandhistorylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    118
    54
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
“The first attraction we visited in Naxos”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We were staying not too far from here at Faros Studios in Naxos,and this spot was recommened to us.......We rented a Fiat Panda ,and off we went........It is a rather long climb up a steep hill, and would be difficult perhaps in hotter weather but we were there in late May. Took me probably 15 minutes to reach the summit, but it's a rather pretty spot, not to mention historical location and I do recommend it, if you are able to do the climb comfortably.....Wear appropriate footwear, a hat, and sunscreen !!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dogsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Demeter's temple”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

A partially restored temple from pre-acropolis days in the middle of the island surrounded by countryside. Quiet, peaceful and beautiful.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mccalman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
235 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
“Make time to visit the Temple”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our wonderful hotel (Faros Apartments) prepared a schedule of places to visit around Naxos and the Temple was one of the first on their list.
We arrived mid-morning early in May and enjoyed a wander round the temple and grounds. The island was quiet and there were just a few other visitors which added to the peace and atmosphere of this special place.
Worth a visit to experience the setting, the ancient remains, the lush countryside and the small exhibition hall.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank serviceace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corfu, Greece
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Magical spot - the oldest all marble temple in the world”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

More by accident than design, I took the footpath from Ano Sagri rather than driving right up to the Temple. It was a magical experience, walking through an unspoilt valley filled with olive groves, losing my way a couple of times, and beginning to think the temple didn't really exist, and then I walked around an olive tree and there she was, on top of the hill, looking stunning.

If you can visit during the season, when the museum (free) is open, it is well worth doing this before going up to the temple itself. It gives you good background and explanation of how the temple was built, and its long history (it later became a Christian church).

There's also a very nice restaurant in Ano Sagri, but I cannot remember its name.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidSimps0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Temple of Demeter also viewed

Naxos Town, Naxos
Naxos Town, Naxos
 
Naxos Town, Naxos
 

Been to Temple of Demeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing