We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for great holidays!”
Review of Faros Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Faros Villa
Ranked #2 of 123 Hotels in Naxos
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location for great holidays!”
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Great location if you want to recharge your batteries! It is quiet, but everything is within easy reach: there is a market at a 5-minute-distance, the restaurant in the hotel is exquisite, and there is also the possibility to move around if you want to (by bike, motorcycle or by car, that you can rent at the hotel).
Extremely welcoming hosts, delicious food (home made dishes with home-grown vegetables and local cheese; don’t hesitate to ask for deserts, they are definitely worth the detour (Dimitri's panacotta, yummiiiiiie!! and the milk-pie of course :-P).
The hotel is very clean and newly refurbished, the sea is 200 metres away from the hotel and the big swimming pool is very pleasant, too. Try the mojitos, they are made with the spearmint which is grown in the yard next to the swimming pool shack!
There is absolutely nothing we didn’t like there, so we’ll stop here, because we’d like to find a place next year when we are planning to go back! :-)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pymoreau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    24
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
97
211
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We have just returned from Naxos...our final destination on our Honeymoon having been to Folegandros and Santorini. Faros studios was brilliant! Unfortunately we were delayed by a day due to ferry being cancelled...which was not a problem and we were warmly welcomed having arrived in the rental car which we had arranged with the manager-Nikolaos - just the day before. Worked out brilliantly as the rental car was waiting for us when we stepped off the ferry.
The hotel itself is great- we stayed in an apartment - with a balcony-two bedrooms (there were only two of us) and a very smart bathroom! Very impressed. The pool - I have to say we didn't use but looked stunning....however the pool bar we did use...possibly a little too much on the last night when we had to be up at 6am! We thoroughly enjoyed the food at the restaurant that Mama cooks...and found we didn't need to go anywhere else! Everyone was so friendly- it was a lovely atmosphere.

What makes this place even greater is the fact that the beach is just a few minutes out the door..and it was not busy at all...just unadulterated sandy beach with crystal clear water! Then you walk round across the nature reserve and find cove and cove where you can have your own private beach and even watch the sunset from!

We only had three nights here but could have done with more...unlike some of the other idlands we visited Naxos is a bit bigger...and hence there is quite a lot to do! We have some amazing scenic drives but also visited some very well looked after ancient ruins and olds chruches, not to mention kouros....we will definitely be back to do some more exploring and enjoy the best beaches we have found in Greece so far from the comfort of Faros Studios!

Thanks to all the family at Faros - we had a wonderful end to our honeymoon!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AToad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2011

My boyfriend and I have just returned from an island hopping trip to Greece and Naxos was our middle island (between Paros and Mykonos). We had good accommodation in all 3 (having done our homework on Trip Advisor!) but Faros Studios was the stand out room for us. It was not at all 'basic' (which is the norm for Greece I know), was well furnished, impeccably clean and we had a beautiful, proper walk in shower (such a treat in Greece!) and a lovely balcony overlooking the sea from which we saw the most spectacular sunsets whilst sitting sipping wine.
We spent more time round the pool than we normally would have because the islands had very windy weather whilst we were there but what a great pool to spend time around! Nikolaos is a fantastic host and (darn it I cannot remember her name, I think it is Alexandra) the girl who serves at the pool bar is just the sweetest, most attentive person ever. We were very happy playing backgammon and sipping beer (daytime) or cocktails (evenings) and Nikolaos's taste in music is eclectic and fabulous. In the evening it is like being in a top lounge bar!
Nikolaos's brother runs the adjoining taverna where the food is fantastic and service impeccable. You must try the goat!
Overall I cannot recommend this place highly enough, I defy anyone not to love it here

Room Tip: If you can, ask for a sea view on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2011

My partner and I spent 4 nights at the beautiful Faros apartments where the sun sets over the sea, owned by the lovely Naxian Moustakis family, Nikolaos runs the hotel and pool bar and is always there to assist and his calm relaxing voice and manner reflects the Naxos lifestyle, the pool is stunning and the cocktails are plenty; brother Dimitri runs the Taverna where their mother Irini cooks a gorgeous variety of greek dishes and we always found oursleves having a few drinks after with Dimitri and other guests enjoying the local bear and wine and ouzo and his Grandfathers Raki and Goats Cheese (just talking about it transports me back to beautiful memories). We highly recommend this place for far too many reasons to write, the people are wonderful, the food is sumptuous and the drinks are magnificent, the old town is just lovely and on top of all this there is the sun, sea and sand. We will surely return to this magical place; the pictures on the Faros website are accurate and this place will only exceed expectation. Many thanks to the Moustakis family and all the staff for a great holiday. Chris & Claire

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bukem31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

My husband and I spent 4 nights here and fell in love with Faros. The room was very clean and well decorated and the bathroom was very modern with a lovely shower. It was a nicer room that many of the 5 star hotels we've stayed at during our travels around the world! We loved relaxing on our balcony sipping retsina while taking in the beautiful sea view. We had multiple beaches within walking distance from the hotel, and on some of the beaches, we were the only ones there! It was like having our own private beach! Also, the grounds are impecabely maintained and there is a nice playground and beautifully landscaped gardens. There is also a market nearby and a restaurant in the hotel. We had some of our best meals in Greece at the restaurant and our tastebuds salivate everytime we think of the lovely dishes we had there (lamb in lemon sauce, eggplant saganaki, pasticio, etc...). Everytime I think about our whole Greek trip (and we visited many islands!), I think about the amazing meals we had there! There is also a very lovely pool overlooking the sea with a lounge bar.
I really felt that we were part of the family during our stay and were welcomed with such genuine warmth and hospitality that we had never encountered before in any of the time we spent elsewhere in Greece (or anywhere else we've travelled to). I actually was hesitant to write the review because I almost wanted to keep this place a secret because we loved it so much. Thanks so much to the Moustakis family and we will definately be returning again and again!
Btw, the main town is about 20 minutes drive from Faros. Definately rent a car since there is so much to see on the island and the main town is very pretty (although busy!) to visit. Don't forget to try the Kitron and some Raki while you are in Naxos (as well as the yummy Naxian cheeses!)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank canadian_girl_198423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Although this is a family run hotel/villa, I felt like I stayed in a five star resort. My room and the whole hotel was absolutely gorgeous and had a balcony that looked out at the Aegean Sea and the coastline of Naxos. The swimming pool was huge and at night had lounge music. 2 minutes away (across the street from the hotel) was Alyko, a lovely beach. Nikolaos, the manager, works incredibly hard to make every guest have an incredible stay at the hotel. The only word of caution is that if you don't rent a car and plan to use buses to explore the island - there are virtually no buses running in the direction of the hotel in the first two weeks of June.

Room Tip: Recommend room with view on second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vlada11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We were originally going to rent a car once we landed in Naxos and then drive to the hotel. We then asked ourselves why bother with the hassle when the hotel could pick us up? After reading the reviews and noting that this hotel was a good 30 minute drive away from the port of Naxos, I had my reservations, but the goal of our vacation with a 2 year old toddler was to relax, so I booked this hotel directly with the Moustakis family.

We got a ground floor studio apartment which had 2 bedrooms with a kitchenette and a large outside seating area which also included full breakfast. We also asked to be picked up at the ferry. Upon leaving Santorini to Naxos (less than 2 hours on a high speed ferry), there was Elias (Patriarch Moustakis) waiting for us with a sign of the hotel. He was very friendly and took us to the hotel. Irini (Matriarch Moustakis) was also in the van and welcomed us. It was a thirty minute drive to the hotel.

Once we got to the hotel, Nikos showed us our rooms, which were immaculate. There was an A/C in one of the rooms and a good ceiling fan in the other room. Because we advised that we had a baby traveling with us, they even had a baby cot ready in the room. We walked to the beach (200 yards away), and there it was - pristine water where you can see your toes in the water. It was untouched by anything except nature. We decided then and there that we would not venture outside of this area.

Taverna offers a lot of choices and the food is very good. I had the best moussaka at this taverna. Dmitri, another Moustakis son, is the cook. If you need water or beer, you can walk 1/2 a mile up the road and when you see some restaurant signs, make a left and walk down the dirt road. There is a small mart where you can pick up some essentials. I found out that the owner of the mart is one of the Moustakis' sons. He actually offered to drop off our 6 bottles of water one day (and they were delivered).

Rooms were cleaned every day by Julia who was super nice to us. Pool was very clean, as it was cleaned every day as well. Breakfast was awesome. Irini's chocolate mini croissants were so delicious. We enjoyed the beach. It was not too cold to swim in it, and because we were there before June, we pretty much had the beach to ourselves.

As we didn't leave the compound, we asked Nikos to arrange our ferry trip to Athens. We wanted to take the high speed ferry and Nikos suggested the Blue Star. Well, we had no choice since Blue Star left at 9:30AM and the high speed was due to leave at 4:30PM in the afternoon. He arranged for the tickets.

As we had to leave early in the morning, Irini got up early in the morning to make sure that we ate breakfast. It was so nice of her to do that. Papa Moustakis drove us back to town and the travel agency for us to pick up our tickets.

We were sad to leave the compound after 3 days, as it was very relaxing for us. We got plenty of rest. Our child had a lot of space to run around in and swim. He was adored by everyone.

Nikos was right. Blue Star Ferry is the way to go. It was very spacious so our child was able to run around the ferry.

Room Tip: Email Faros directly and ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelpersonNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naxos hotels
7.7 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 58 in Naxos Town
413 reviews
0.5 mi away
Finikas Hotel
Finikas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pyrgaki
325 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel Grotta
Hotel Grotta
#1 of 58 in Naxos Town
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Villa Marandi Luxury Suites
6.9 mi away
Naxian Collection
Naxian Collection
#1 of 21 in Agios Prokopios
318 reviews
16.0 mi away
Adonis Hotel
Adonis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Apollon
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faros Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faros Villa

Property: Faros Villa
Address: | 150m from Alykos beach and the Cedar forest, 843 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Naxos
#19 Romantic Hotel in Naxos
#30 Family Hotel in Naxos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Faros Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in a beautiful piece of land, full of trees and pure Naxian Air, Faros offers a unique experience to couples, families or singles who search for relax and personal attention. Cedar trees on the sand dunes of Alyko, amazing beaches and coves in a walking distance, a little cozy house, colorful garden, stunning views of the sea and the sunset, infinity swimming pool, cocktail pool bar, greek taverna, mama's traditonal food and our family hospitaly is what you can expect at Faros! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Faros Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faros Studios Apartments Hotel Naxos
Faros Complex Naxos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing