We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On Naxos, The Best Plan is No Plan”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Faros Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Faros Villa
Ranked #4 of 125 Hotels in Naxos
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“On Naxos, The Best Plan is No Plan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We booked these accommodations based on prior reviews on tripadvisor. After staying in bustling Mykonos for two nights, this place was a gift from the Gods!

Faros is a small boutique style hotel (only 7 rooms) that is family owned and operated. But it doesn't feel small when you start to wander the property! Extensive colorful gardens, a huge infinity pool with plenty of room to relax on the lounge chairs, outdoor bar with extra seating and the multiple room taverna.

We booked a 2BR apartment on the second floor. The rooms were immaculate (thanks Julia) and well appointed. Very firm bedding (twin and full size). Baths with shower, sink and toilet. Small sitting area with mirror for doing hair or makeup. Laundry services are offered on site for a small fee. The west facing deck included chairs and tables for enjoying morning coffee or evening sundowners. Bikes are available for day trips around the island.

But the family and staff are what make the visit so memorable. Everything was handled flawlessly! Nikolaos handled the reservations, transfers and requests with professionalism. We booked a rental car for the day (25 - 30 Euros) which was available on site. Most of the places of interest are in the mid to north end of the island - extremely easy to navigate with the map and suggestions provided by Giannis (John).

Several secluded beaches are within walking distance from the hotel. Even in the beginning of October, the azure water was warm and inviting. I won't go into detail about the beaches - you need to discover them for yourself!

Mamma Moustakis does all the cooking at the taverna. Country-style Greek cooking at its finest! Many items are locally grown and produced. Breakfast included breads, fantastic thick yogurt, local honey, sliced meat and cheese, olives, tomatoes, frittata, fresh squeezed orange juice, coffee and tea, hard boiled eggs, chopped fruit, crepes and more. Lunch and dinner are also available, which is very convenient if you don't want to venture back to the port area. Thanks to Demetrios for introducing us to his special Greek raki with honey.

This is a place to relax, rejuvenate, and disappear for a while. And to quote Nikolaos "in Greece everything is possible!!!"

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmtravelgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    24
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
93
199
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We spent the first two nights in the city center of Naxos. We were looking for our last 2 nights ( september 22th-23rd) in the greek island for a little quiet place (small resort) and we ended up at Faros hotel. A little house in akylo area of naxos (the best beaches of the island are located within 15 minutes of walk from the room). Little quiet room with a very noce balcony, clean, free wifi and view of the sunset. The pool area is simply amazing, there is a bar open allday/night ! A little quiet beach two minutes away where enjoyed our last sunset in greece !! The water in september is hot. There is a restaurant with fair prices and very good meals which is hold by the mother. Finaly, staff is extremely helpful and welcoming. They were kind enough to respond to all of our requests. A special thank you to nikolaos and all everybody working at faros hotel. Nick and Marine

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marinski23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

If you want to forget about the world or your job of whatever is ailing you, and experience the joy of a small hotel (7 or 8 rooms) with a great taverna and near a secluded beach -- then this is the place for you!

This is the second time my husband and I stayed at Faros Studios. That tells you a lot right away.

The rooms are immaculately clean, as are the gardens and the swimming pool.

Faros Studios are located near Alyko Beach, about 20 km south of Naxos City (Chora). The breakfast buffet included with the room rate was excellent. There is a very large and very CLEAN infinity pool and a full service bar here. The associated taverna offers excellent rustic Greek cuisine (see my separate review of the taverna, also called Faros).

This is a family-owned and operated place and it is simply wonderful. They speak English here, so there is no problem with communications.

Because this hotel is in the countryside, we rented a car for a few days to better explore the island. The office at Faros arranged to have a car delivered out to us at the hotel, so we would not have to go to town to pick one up.

While out for my AM walk, I several times encountered a small herd of sheep passing by. What a joy that was!!

Room Tip: The room at the top of the stairs has a balcony and view of the sea, plus it has a seating area adja...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ortlinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed there for 7 nights in the middle of island hopping around the Cyclades and everything about our time at Faros was perfection - from Mama's incredible cooking, through tasting the amazing cocktail that is 'Basilico' to the amazing service from Niko,Giannis and the service from the restaurant in the evenings. We stayed in thegorgeous top double room and had an amazing view of the sunset from our private balcony. The resort was immaculately clean at all times.

Naxos itself is such a beautiful little island, unspoilt with amazing beaches, most of which were completely deserted while we were there. Torquoise, crystal clear seas

We both feel that it's not a case of 'if' but 'when' we return for lots more of Mama's amazing cooking, finding quiet little beaches all to ourselves and fun by the pool with Giannis and Nikos.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marklaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights during our island hopping adventure. It was far and away the best accommodation we experienced (in fact best we've ever had in Greece). We were lucky enough to have a two double bedroom apartment with two balconies (both with stunning views of the mountains and oblique views out to the sea). The rooms were beautifully appointed and immaculately clean. We loved being gently awoken by the sun rising over the mountain and the tinkling of goat bells!

Nikos was welcoming and took time to talk through maps and highlight all the best things to do in the area.

And the area around Faros apartments is stunning. A national park of sand dunes and cedar with many different beaches to explore is superb. Great for walkers. It is very quiet here, a perfect retreat off the beaten track. And after a day out walking there is a large infinity pool to enjoy.

The family run taverna adjoining the apartments where we had breakfast, lunch and dinner is awesome. Even off season it was fairly busy every night which is testament to the great food and service. Different cheeses and barrel wines to try, the selection of jams at breakfast a real treat.

The only sad thing (apart from having to leave) was the fact they ran out of metaxa!

Anyway we will return one day, it is pure relaxation here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJonazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights in September 2013 at the start of our holiday and it was by far the best place we stayed in Naxos and Mylonos. We do not need to write too much as it has all been said before but the Alyko area is lovely with beautiful quiet beaches, the studios peaceful and well looked after, the food very tasty, the pool area incredible and the family (and friends) extremely friendly, welcoming and hospitable. We felt like we were hanging out with friends by the poolside! Thank you for being patient in teaching us Backgammon and for making a great mojito!

The only (small) negative is that the mattress was hard, but small price to pay for being at Faros!

We have been on many lovely holidays but this is one place where we would really like to return in the future. Thanks Niko and all at Faros.

Olivia and Andy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed for 12 nights in peak season, and we received the best service we've ever experienced on holiday! The website does not do this place justice, it's simply paradise.
Nikos and his family could not do enough to help us. They took us up Mount Zeus (including my 70 year old mum and 11 year old son), and gave us a picnic at the summit. There were bikes available to borrow, and they even collected our shopping from the supermarket to save us carrying it.
It's a lovely quiet area with many beaches, all of which were fantastic - much better than any others we found on the island.
The Taverna was equally fantastic. They automatically reserved our table for us each evening, and would happily prepare any food we wanted - and this was the case at breakfast too. We stayed a couple of nights in Santorini too, but didn't find any Taverna that compared to here.
Nikos also arranged our car hire for us.
Thank you so much for our amazing holiday, we all hope to come back soon.

Room Tip: Definitely request the sunset view appartment, breath taking view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zakynthos58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naxos hotels
7.7 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 59 in Naxos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
7.4 mi away
Villa Marandi Luxury Suites
6.9 mi away
Naxian Collection
Naxian Collection
#1 of 20 in Agios Prokopios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
#3 of 59 in Naxos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel Grotta
Hotel Grotta
#1 of 59 in Naxos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
7.8 mi away
Galaxy Hotel
Galaxy Hotel
#8 of 59 in Naxos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faros Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faros Villa

Property: Faros Villa
Address: | 150m from Alykos beach and the Cedar forest, 843 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Naxos
#19 Romantic Hotel in Naxos
#30 Family Hotel in Naxos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Faros Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in a beautiful piece of land, full of trees and pure Naxian Air, Faros offers a unique experience to couples, families or singles who search for relax and personal attention. Cedar trees on the sand dunes of Alyko, amazing beaches and coves in a walking distance, a little cozy house, colorful garden, stunning views of the sea and the sunset, infinity swimming pool, cocktail pool bar, greek taverna, mama's traditonal food and our family hospitaly is what you can expect at Faros! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Faros Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faros Studios Apartments Hotel Naxos
Faros Complex Naxos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing