We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal treatment ”
Review of Faros Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Faros Villa
Ranked #2 of 123 Hotels in Naxos
Certificate of Excellence
N S Canada
Level 5 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Royal treatment ”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I cannot sing enough praises for this extraordinary place. I'm not sure how they can maintain this level of service without experiencing "burnout".
We were picked up by Nico at the port in a most comfortable, clean and roomy vehicle.
We are three travelers in total and our rooms were perfect for our needs. Our two rooms were adjoining but were separated by a small shared area with access to our shared bathroom. It's a very unique set up and a pleasant surprise. We had a most grand room with a huge and comfortable patio area with ample seating and a table.
The grounds are gorgeous and so beautifully landscaped - they are busy maintaining them daily and it shows. I have seriously never seen a better cared for pool. We arrived while other guests were checking in and we were escorted to the pool bar and enjoyed a drink while we were waiting. What a most delightful surprise to find that it was complimentary.
Paris chatted us up with great conversation and always greeted us with a friendly smile and genuine concern for our needs.
The meals are above and beyond expectation from the included breakfast to the reasonably priced and most delicious suppers. Their hours of operation are most generous too. 8-10:30 1-3 and 7-11 I wish I had more time to sample more of the menu but in the three days we spent there, we actually duplicated items several times because we loved them so much ( ie mushrooms ). The garlic potatoes were to die for and the moussaka was the best I've ever had. If you happen to be a vegetarian you can even request it meatless ahead of time but there will be no problem ordering from the menu as there are lots of options. I enjoyed artichoke my first night there that was so flavourful and filling. By now I'm sure you get the point. If you don't happen to stay here, most definitely make it a point to dine here. You will not be disappointed.
They offer books to read and photo albums and a guest book to leaf through in the breakfast dining area.
Dimitri, Mama and Dad and beautiful Chrissa, and I am so sorry that I did not learn the names of the others, all made our stay a most incredible one. Our room was so exceptionally cleaned that I am spoiled. If I don't stop soon I'm sure you'll think I've been paid to submit this review.
The beaches in the area are within walking distance and perfect for a quiet nap. Paris offered us an umbrella and there are beach towels in the room.
You will enjoy searching for the Naxos eye; we found nine between the three of us on our last morning there after a surprise afternoon storm the day before had churned up the sea.
I will allow you to research the eye on your own but I think that the ones we found had already been chosen for us before our trip to Faros Studios because we were certainly lucky to have found such a great place to spend our time on Naxos.
There seems to be nothing that this family and their awesome friends/employees will not do to make sure your stay here is above expectations and they do it with such a laid-back, no problem attitude that you will fast fall into vacation mode and never want to leave.
There is more to tell and I will answer any questions that you may have but the sun is rising here in Oia and the day awaits me. I just had to drop into TA to tell you about Faros before I forgot any details.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank orcasinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    24
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
97
211
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Four great nights here in May Friendly helpful and informative Nicos collected us and dropped us off at the port. We had a lovely peaceful stylish and immaculate room and shower. Very quiet and beautiful Alyko area with protected cedar forest nearby wonderful coastline and sheltered beaches. Excellent large pool and chill out music & beautiful garden as well in this wonderful setting. Faro is a really really good family run hotel Nicos perfect host with great food from Mama and Dimitri and perfect for a quiet holiday in a stunning area. We shall be back!

Room Tip: Ask Nicos but they will all be good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Einiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

A homely feels .. gives detailed information about the island. Ppl are friendly ,room is clean n neat. A cosy environment to stay in. Will recommend if you are looking for a place to laze around n enjoy the quiet moment you wish for.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jadenLDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We spent 4 nights (from May 1st) at Faros out of our 11 night trip to Greece and I can honestly say that they were easily the best 4 nights. When you consider the first 4 were on Santorini and the last 3 were looking out over the Acropolis in Athens it is high praise indeed to say that we would chose the Faros on Naxos over either of the other two.
There is something so peaceful and restful about the location, the gardens and the whole atmosphere. From the moment we got off the boat to be met by Nik life just seemed to slow down. We had a room looking out over the gardens towards the sea and sunset views. A quick list of likes - free transfers both ways to the port, the offer of bikes to explore the island, free wifi (slightly patchy signal), really helpful advice from Nik, car hire arranged for us and not to forget the excellent mojitos :). We explored the beach, the forest and cycled to the next village past fields full of wild flowers. In 2 days with the car we explored some of the historical sites, went up in the mountains and explored the town (Waffle House for great ice cream)
On arrival we headed down to the taverna for lunch and asked for 2 mojitos. There was quite a long delay but it turned out we were the first guests of the season asking for mojitos and he had gone to pick fresh mint from the adjacent garden so we could have our mojitos. That to me sums up the approach to customer service at Faros that many large establishments could learn from!
The family and staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely with freshly squeezed juice, local yoghurt and honey etc and usually something cooked by Irina with cheese pies, omelette, pancakes etc to give variety.
With a good restaurant for lunches and dinners we were spoilt at Faros and really didn't want to leave for Athens.
Simple pleasures, time standing still. Slowly, slowly seems to be the Naxos way and life felt so much better for it.

Thanks Nik and family for a wonderful time and best wishes from Scotland!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank serviceace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Staying at Faros on the beautiful island of Naxos was without a doubt the highlight of our Greek island hopping honeymoon last September! Sorry i am only just reviewing, if you are thinking of going to Greek islands then finding your way to Naxos and staying at Faros is well worth it! We also went to Santorini ( which was stunning, but overcrowded and expensive), and Crete ( which we went to after Naxos and wished we were still enjoying the peace and beauty of Naxos and staying at Faros!)

From being picked up at the port by the lovely friendly NIco to being dropped off again 4 days later everything was perfect. Nico, his family and team of staff were all so friendly and welcoming, service was perfect. Our room was great. Nothing to fancy, but what do you expect for such great value rooms. It was perfectly clean, the shower worked well, the bed was comfy, they even come with a small kitchen so we could put some things in the fridge for lunch/sunset drinks which was great.

The hotel grounds were very pretty with nice colorful flowers around the place. The pool/bar area is fantastic, great sized pool for the amount of rooms, we had it to ourselves most of the time in Mid-September. There are lovely views inland to the mountains in 1 direction and the fab sandy beach and sea is just 20 metres away right across the road. The pool bar was great, serving delicious Mojito's to us! There is also a room with a pool table in which was good. The breakfast was great, a nice little help yourself buffet table of delicious Greek goodies.We also ate in the restaurant most nights, trying different menu items and they were all very tasty and well priced- mezze platter,moussaka,mmm. Their was a great atmosphere in the restaurant at night and people come from other surrounding places to eat at Faros. We rented a car 1 day and explored the island, which was fun and it is a very pretty, lush, green island. The surrounding beaches are all of excellant quality, and quiet, apart from a few nudists! The hotel is very isolated with not much else around and at the other end of island to the port, this could put some off but we found this perfect and being a small island it was still easy to explore.

We will definitely be back in the future and just hope Faros and Naxos stays as beautiful and peaceful as it is now with the mass tourism crowds staying away as it is too much effort for them to get there!

Room Tip: All rooms lovely, only 7 rooms, ones with balconies facing the sea are best for beautiful sunset mom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nixsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Our family of four stayed one night. We arrived earlier in the day and explored the beach across the street. The whole trip was amazing and unforgettable. The family who runs Faros was kind and did a great job. We ate in the tavern and were treated like family. The rooms were lovely, comfortable, and had beautiful views. The kids couldn't resist the pool even though we went in spring. :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suz640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We enjoyed our stay from every aspect as we wanted to relax away from the noise of a busy town(especially if you choose to travel in August when greek islands are literally packed!!), be close to the sea, have access to a -yummy-taverna, bar and a swimming pool. The service was excellent and this is because all the family members are involved in their own way. I would strongly recommend it to anyone who would like to experience the meaning of greek hospitality and relaxation, I wouldn't recommend it to somebody who wants to find themselves in the town in no time, it will take them about 20'.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmoschogianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naxos hotels
7.7 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 58 in Naxos Town
414 reviews
0.5 mi away
Finikas Hotel
Finikas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pyrgaki
325 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel Grotta
Hotel Grotta
#1 of 58 in Naxos Town
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Villa Marandi Luxury Suites
6.9 mi away
Naxian Collection
Naxian Collection
#1 of 21 in Agios Prokopios
318 reviews
16.0 mi away
Adonis Hotel
Adonis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Apollon
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faros Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faros Villa

Property: Faros Villa
Address: | 150m from Alykos beach and the Cedar forest, 843 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Naxos
#19 Romantic Hotel in Naxos
#30 Family Hotel in Naxos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Faros Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in a beautiful piece of land, full of trees and pure Naxian Air, Faros offers a unique experience to couples, families or singles who search for relax and personal attention. Cedar trees on the sand dunes of Alyko, amazing beaches and coves in a walking distance, a little cozy house, colorful garden, stunning views of the sea and the sunset, infinity swimming pool, cocktail pool bar, greek taverna, mama's traditonal food and our family hospitaly is what you can expect at Faros! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Faros Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faros Studios Apartments Hotel Naxos
Faros Complex Naxos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing