We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ISOLATED AND WINDY”
Review of Acquamarina Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Acquamarina Resort
Ranked #31 of 133 Hotels in Paros
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“ISOLATED AND WINDY”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We were two families with two small kids aged 3 and 4 and some people aged between 73 to 78. Prior to booking we asked about the location if it is near transport, restaurants and other holiday activities because of our circumstances and needs. We were told that everything was nearby and it is very ideal for kids and older people. Transport facilities from the port of Paroikia were runnung every half an hour from the port dropping us off very close to the hotel.
Therefore all nine of us used the bus on our arrival, based on the information given. However the bus dropped us off in the middle of nowhere by a sign board saying 150 meters to Acquamarina. There was no sign of the hotel but having no other alternative, we started walking with two children crying and three older people aching and carrying 9 suitcases. The distance from the bus stop was between 500-600 meters and NOT 150 meters. We were exhausted. One car driver volunteered to help with some suitcases as he said the hotel was very far. We had to accept his offer and trust him giving him our suitcases as we had no alternative.

On arriving at the hotel, eventually, we realised that there were no restaurants or supermarkets nearby. We were disappointed because we had two young children with us and we would need some place to buy daily items i.e. milk etc. There was just one other hotel.
The Reception assured us that their driver would take us anywhere we wanted. On that understanding we signed our arrival.
However this was time consuming and costly. Every time we had to pay 20 Euro to go to the nearby little town to buy the necessary. Going to eat meant two separate journeys because we were nine and it cost us 40 Euro to go to Piso Livadhi which was about 1 or 2 kilometers away.

The children were bored because there was nothing for them to do and the wind was so strong that the sand was hitting them in the eyes.

On the second day we approached them wanting to leave but they would not compromise. In the end we stayed 3 more days but they made our stay very uncomfortable. We used their restaurant to eat every night to avoid the high cost of going to the nearby town, but the portions were so tiny even though the cooking was good enough. The service in those three days was even more terrible. It was on the understanding that if we stay 3 more days, they would try to help us with transport. However, on the day we booked to leave and needed a taxi they refused to provide their taxi service saying that the driver was unavailable when he was sitting there, ignoring us. They also said there was nobody available in the nearest village so we had to start walking to the bus stop, 600 meters away, again.....

AN ISOLATED PLACE. NOT IDEAL FOR FAMILIES AT ALL NO SUPERMARKETS AROUND AND NO MEANS OF TRANSPORT AVAILABLE. YOU NEED A TAXI TO GO ANYWHERE (THAT IS IF THERE IS ONE AVAILABLE, YOU HAVE TO WAIT FOR HALF AN HOUR FOR ONE IF THERE IS ONE AVAILABLE AND AT A HIGH COST OF COURSE)
YOU HAVE NO CHOICE BUT TO RELY ON WHATEVER THE RESTAURANT HAS TO OFFER FOR THE DAY. BEAR IN MIND THE VERY SMALL PORTIONS.
A VERY POOR SERVICE FROM THE RECEPTION ESPECIALLY THE MANAGERS (OWNERS) EXCEPT A COUPLE OF WAITRESSES. NO MAINTENANCE AND NOT ENOUGH WATER FOR A SHOWER AT TIMES.
MOST IMPORTANTLY THE WIND IS VERY STRONG ON THE BEACH THAT THE SAND HITS YOUR FACE VERY STRONGLY AND YOUR EYES. FEELS LIKE NEEDLES! THAT'S ALL ANYONE NEEDS!

Room Tip: Rooms in the centre of the complex are better to avoid any snakes coming from the windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    22
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
49
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Located few metres from New Golden Beach in Paros Island, Acqua Marina Resort is a small, beautiful and quiet structure to spend a holiday in Paros, Greece.
We spent two weeks in July 2012 (a family of 2 adults and 2 children of 9 and 5 years old); we've been upgraded for free to a Suite (sea view) just because we booked well in advance. So we got a real apartment instead of a big room! My advice is to book on B&B basis - like we did - as there are less expensive places nearby for lunch/dinner (the internal small pool-resaurant is OK even with a limited course list / menue). I rented from Italy through the Internet a car for all the period so that we could see the whole island (+ Antiparos); the car is also useful to go out for dinner in the different villages and to reach beaches without wind when the Meltemi is getting so strong that doesn't allow to stay in the beach in front of the Hotel. The beach is really beautiful, clean (Blue Flag 2012) with crystal clear blue water, perfect for both families with children and for windsurfers (which I'm not...). The room was clean, the breakfast buffet was OK (full: continental and/or british, as you like). The hotel pool is clean and really big. I would strongly recommend this place for both couples and families.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edilio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This resort is amazing to spend the holiday. I stayed there for 10 days in the month of july. The location is great, about 40 km from the island "capital" the city of Parikia where the ferry will leave you. Is is easy to reach the hotel by car or by taxi . (TIP : is you are just 2 people without a car try to find a taxi that goes in the same direction, because it will be very difficult to find a taxi that will take just thje 2 of you on the other side of the island.) In front of the hotel there is a private beach of this resort and it is not crowded, but if you want to have some fun you can go to POUNDA BEACH and find in the same place small souveniers shop, a beach club and a lot of people who party on day light.
The rooms are very clean, they change the towels every day and clean the room. There are also rooms with sea view, with terrace. We stayed on the 4 building and we had a room with sea view and it was nice. In the room there is a mini fridge also.
The food is great, especially beackfast and you can ask any time room service :).
Next to the resort thee is a windsurf club if you are interested and the weather is perfect for this.
I kindly recomand this resort for everyone, is perfect for couples, families or just a group of friends, you can spend a quiet holiday or you can also have some fun. And if you go do not miss Pounda Beach.

Hitchhiking works very good on the island :)

Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimoneP06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I stayed for 5 nights in July 2011, and I just could not believe how beautiful, and how perfect the resort was, in terms of the most perfect and most pleasing Cycladic aesthetics, the flora and fauna, the chirp of the insects and leading up only 20m to your very own, the most gorgeous clear-water beach I have ever seen in my life! I cannot explain enough the magic of the resort and Golden beach. Location is perfect for couples, and families and if you can't feel the romance in Paros with a 4-wheel motor (γορουνα?) zipping round the island at night and swimming in Golden beach, then you better give up. :P

The suites are beautiful, and they have all kinds from beachfront (but when the beach is in front, I really don't see why you want beachfront) to sea view, all of which have a wonderful balcony overlooking the beach. Ah, the beach. Oh heavens, the gods blessed me when I arrived there. To experience such beauty of the beach. I have never seen the water so clear, as if it was drinking water!

Food is wholesome, pretty Greek, so indulge yourself, you're on holiday, so it doesn't hurt.

Zipping through to party town Naoussa or Parikia takes roughly 30 mins and it should be 15 mins to the Pounta beach that takes you by 5 min ferry to Antiparos, a must-visit for souvenir collection! :) Oh, in Naoussa, go by the shell-selling kiosks and pick up some beautiful pieces. They are cheap and they are wholesome, and handmade by true blue greek fisherman.

I couldn't ask for a better experience. Onwards to Acquamarina encore! And of course I adore the resort owners, the young lady is pretty cool and we made good friends with her. :D

Note: This is Greece au-naturale in terms of terrain, so expect lots of mosquitos in summer, and if they like to suck your blood, buy yourself the mosquito coil. And use the mosquito netting they hang for you!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Labellafigurista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2011

I stayed there with my family during our visit in Paros island last summer and was absolutely satisfied with the place. Our room was clean, good size with a beautiful view and we had an amazing beach just steps from our door. It was almost like our private beach! Restaurant's food was delicious and fair priced ( I personally loved what they were offering for breakfast which was included in the room price). We could enjoy our drinks right next to the pool which was cool since we did not have to leave the hotel if we did not feel like it, everything we needed was right there! Staff also was very friendly and helpful and we even made friends with some of them. Overall I would say that we had a great time there and I would definitely recommend this resort to people who need a place to relax and have fun at the same time (especially families with kids). Its totally value for money and I will come back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsP908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2008

I stayed at the Acquamarina Resort Sept 1 to sept 7 08, It was in ever sense perfect.
Room :
We had a Jr Suite that was tasteful and comfy the bathroom was huge and completely covered with marble. The small terrace in front of the room had an amazing view of the sea and pool area.
Staff:
The staff was what really made this place a jewel, helpful in everyway from the desk clerk to the waitresses at breakfast, to the housekeeping staff and of course the bartender and barmaid at the pool bar.( By the way I always got a frosted mug when I ordered a beer).
Grounds and beach :
The grounds of the hotel are bursting with breathtaking flowers and shrubs the grass is a little brown but this is greece and that's to be expected.Golden beach is literally right in front of the hotel and was not to crowed with fine gold sand and lots of windsurfers.The pool is huge and well kept even though it seems a bit of a waste with the sea just in front of it.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank molvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athens
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2008

Nice and cute resort next to one of the finest beaches of Paros.
Typical Cycladic architecture outside, nothing special inside the --spatious- room.
Bathroom could be better, the same is true with the service (cleaningness, room service etc) which had nothing to do with the self claimed by the hotel four stars.
Breakfast though served up to 11.00 am, which is good for late sleepers, was dull and boring, we did not get it but twice in a 10 days stay.
Restaurant yes, next to the pool (which is fantastic by the way), but really expensive and discouraging trial.
Too many families with small kids, ideal for this type of residents.
Last but not least:if you are a beer drinker they only serve Heineken draught in small plastic cups at the pool, 4 euros per glass...

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank chetpoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paros hotels
0.5 mi away
Poseidon of Paros
Poseidon of Paros
#1 of 3 in Golden Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saint George Hotel
Saint George Hotel
#1 of 3 in Nea Chryssi Akti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
7.9 mi away
Minois Village Hotel Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Paros Agnanti Resort
Paros Agnanti Resort
#9 of 45 in Parikia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
1.7 mi away
Calme Boutique Hotel
7.5 mi away
Astir of Paros
Astir of Paros
#20 of 46 in Naoussa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acquamarina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acquamarina Resort

Property: Acquamarina Resort
Address: Tserdakia | New Golden Beach, 84400, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Paros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 133 Hotels in Paros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Acquamarina Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Acquamarina Resort! Built on New Golden Beach, one of the most beautiful beaches of the island, ACQUAMARINA RESORT is a unique architectural gem, offering excellent services and a wide range of facilities. Overlooking the deep blue sea, it consists of 29 fully equipped suites, decorated with the traditional Cycladic style and comfort. The beach is ideal for sports enthusiasts, as it is one of the most suitable beaches in the world for windsurfing, while at the Goya Windsurfing Center of the hotel, beginners as well as experienced windsurfers will find the latest models of Goya and also experienced instructors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acquamarina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing