We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful views and property!”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool and terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool and terrace
Pool and sun terrace Sunrise from the pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Pool and terrace
Pool and sun terrace
Sunrise from the pool
Terrace with pergola
Sunrise on the terrace
Spa pool
Shaded seating area with hammock
Courtyard in bloom
Courtyard
Dining area
Living room
Living room and dining area
Kitchen
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Bathroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bathroom 2
Bedroom 3
view from house to the island of anafi
Local taverna 'Metaximas'
sunrise from the house
Neighbouring village of Prygos at Easter
sunrise from the house
sunrise from the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Santorini, Cyclades, South Aegean

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Swedish first
Any
English first
dadio77
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and property!”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a week in stunning Santorini and really enjoyed our time at the cavern! Don't think I could live in one permanently but it felt so much more authentic than the hotels we considered. For a house built into the cliff it was very modern and had pretty much everything we needed.

It was Iro's first week as manager but she looked after us really well, arranging a number of things for us whilst we were there, very happy with her service, and Sarah's help before we arrived.

Parking was at the church down the hill, which was great for walking off the many fantastic meals we enjoyed, though harder work with bags, shopping etc. The path is also steep in places, but then so is the whole island so this shouldn't put you off.

Wifi was excellent, we were able to stream the football (as there is no channels, just a tv with DVDs). Bins are a decent walk away and the cleaner comes once, though Iro deferred to arrange more visits if needed.

The location is perfect, Kamari (10 mins), Perissa (15), Fira (20) and Oia (30) all accessible via the essential hire car. The view is also amazing, especially from the terrace. The pool is more of a plunger than a swimmer, but the beach isn't too far and the water is great (esp. Perissa onwards).

Highly recommend Anemeloos, Metaxi Mas, Pyrgos restaurants, Santo Winery and Mylopetra bakery which are all nearby.

All in all, we were really happy we chose Anthea as our base for one of the most scenic places on earth!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2016
Hi Nathan,
Thank you for your review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed our house and although it was Iro's first week i am glad you felt she looked after you "really well". The parking is a short walk away but guests are able to load and unload their cars approx 20 meters from the house.
Hope to see you again
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich P
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent, traditional property in great location.”
Reviewed 8 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We enjoyed a great Easter break at Cavern House Anthea that was intended as 7 days but got extended to 10 due to Greek industrial action. This extended break enabled us to enjoy more of what Santorini has to offer. :-)

The property is very well equipped and a traditional cavern house in a very nice traditional village. The views are stunning and there is plenty to do in the location and further afield. We especially enjoyed sitting out on the top terrace in the warm sunshine, relaxing with a nice glass of the excellent Santorini wine.

The house is a short 10 minute uphill walk to the traditional village of Pyrgos where there are a number of tavernas and a couple of small supermarkets. Down from the property are a another number of tavernas. Our top recommendations are Cava Alta (Pyrgos) and Anemoloos (Meze, in Exagonia). The later one is only open a few days a week but was the best meal by far all the time we stayed in Santorini.

The house is located near to some great wineries - Estate Argyros was our personal favorite at the bottom of the hill. Very friendly people and fabulous wine. The Donkey Brewery is also in the same location and well worth visiting to pick up some supplies.

There are plenty of places to visit and nothing too far away as Santorini is compact island. The location of the property is outside the traffic hot spots and centrally located, so very convenient for trips out.

Finally, the service and help provided by Sarah and Kimberley really made for a great relaxing trip. Nothing was too much trouble, especially when we got delayed for a number of days and had to extend our stay.

Many thanks for all your help and recommendations in making this a very memorable holiday. We will certainly return and recommend to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Traditional property and location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise O
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wish we didn't have to leave!”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

What a wonderful holiday we have just had. Sarah was quick to respond to my enquiry giving me lots of advice and Kimberley met us at the airport and showed us the way to the villa and had booked a table for us at the local tavern - which was delicious.

The villa was clean and tidy and provisions had been provided for us on arrival as our flight was quite late in to Thira. So having milk and bread etc for the following day was a lovely gesture.

Hire car essential and good walking shoes. You can't park at the villa and there is a short uphill walk to it. It got easier as the week went on!

The villa had a good selection of reading books and a fantastic selection of DVD's. The internet was a bit hit and miss but most places we went to had internet and at the end of the day we were on holiday so not having the internet was quite good at times!

October a little chilly for the spa pool at the villa although we did brave it. The sea was warmer. However, the terrace round the pool has fantastic seating and an amazing view. It was a suntrap and nice to sit there early evening with a book and a glass of something cold.

We were a family of five, Nick(56), Loo (49), Stephanie (15), Rosie (14) and William (12). We all had an amazing time and thank you to Sarah and Kimberley for helping make it such a great week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too numerous to choose!
Liked least: Intermittent Wifi but this wasn't really that bad
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2015
Many thanks for your kind comments about the villa and hospitality we provided, I am sorry to hear you experienced issues with the internet. Kimberley informs me that you did not inform her of this, if she had been aware she would have been able to resolve this for you. I would also like to point out that the walls in the cavern house are very thick so the signal does not travel well to all parts of the property, it does however work well in the main living area (where the router is located) and the courtyard, perhaps this is why you found it to be ?hit and miss?
Once again thank you for your review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your holiday at our villa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris I
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A gem!”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We were very lucky to find Anthea - Kimberly was an amazing host and we loved being in the beautiful village of Exo Gonia, away from the more touristy parts of the island. It is in a lovely location with a stunning view and the villa itself is charming and spacious. It is also a short drive to the best and most stunning beach on the island - Red Beach - highly recommended! We also fell in love with the three cats who live nearby - they were so gentle and affectionate, they were the icing on the cake to a perfect stay.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayleecla...
1 review
“Beautiful cave house.. Toddler friendly”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed in june with my parents and our baby and toddler. Kimberley looked after us really well. Met us at the airport with our hire car. The accommodation is beautiful, and really toddler friendly, the girls absolutely loved it. Sarah was so helpful with my 100s of questions about accommodation and the babies and made me feel so at ease with them. The area is really hilly and very hard with the buggy...but manageable, and a good workout for the thighs. Our friends had a beautiful wedding in Fira...which was not child friendly in anyway, but luckily the grandparents were on standby to collect them!brilliant brilliant holiday and I think the coolest accommodation ive stayed in.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidv07
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent week”
Reviewed 21 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My family has just completed a wonderful stay in the Cavern House. Everything was as described and Kimberley and the team were all very helpful. Happy to recommend to fellow travellers.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SettEl
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 9 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The perfect stay in such a beautiful island! The town where this cavern house is located was so peaceful and quiet, away from the tourist buzz of Fira and Oia, yet just a short drive away from them.
Firstly, before leaving for Greece, Sarah was very helpful with any queries we had via email and gave us all the advice we needed for the start of our holiday, which we really appreciated. Sarah also booked us a table at the nearest taverna for our first night which was very convenient as we wanted to stay in the area on that day. The food was so good!
Once we arrived in Santorini, Kimberley picked us up from the ferry port and took us to the beautiful house! It looks exactly like the photos! Kimberley showed us around and explained everything we needed to know. The information book in the house was very helpful in case we forgot anything or wanted any extra information on what to do in Santorini. The house was very clean and the fridge was already stocked with some necessities such as milk and cheese which was really nice!
Kimberley and Sarah provided us with a good, decently priced car hire service and the car was brought to us the next day to sort.

We really enjoyed the pool and lounge area, it was very nice to just chill there late at night too! We had a couple of relaxed days by the pool and those may be the highlights of our trip!!
We also enjoyed having our breakfast in the outdoor area. There is loads of free space in this house for 6 people! It was just 4 of us so we loved the extra space :D

Visiting Santorini was a dream and staying here made the visit perfect! Definitely want to visit Santorini again and would love to stay here again!

Thank you :)

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing