We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The hot springs are a must”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Palea Kameni

Palea Kameni
Book In Advance
More Info
US$943.71*
and up
5-Hour Private Cruise from Fira
Ranked #86 of 152 things to do in Santorini
Attraction details
slovenia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“The hot springs are a must”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

If you come here during yout boat tour, don't forget to go for a swim in the hot springs. The water is cold at first, but it gets warmer and warmer, and it's quite hot at the end of he bay. Had a great time there, pieces of orange mud swim by you. Such fun :)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tci210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    30
    29
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
145 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Waste of time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

Come on, these are not hot springs but a little warmer water than on any beach around Santorini. Plus very crowded. Not worth it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank olliemat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“a fun stop after Nea Kameni”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Most boat tours that go to Nea Kameni will stop here shortly. The boat cannot go into the hot spring area so it anchors a little ways away. You jump off the boat and the water is pretty cool in June but refreshing. It probably feels this cool because it's so hot out. You have to swim a little ways to get to the hot springs and you can feel the water getting warmer. Water also starts getting a rustier color from the sulfur and definitely smells. It can stain certain materials, even after washing. They also warn you before getting in to take off jewelry that will stain (silver). The water in the springs does get very warm. I've been in cooler springs and also warmer. This is middle of the road - I think many are expecting a hot bath, so don't. Swim back when time is up and climb the ladder to get back into the boat. Enjoyable, short swim!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank elin02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Rent an ATV/Scooter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

My absolute favorite thing about our trip to Santorini! We rented an ATV (since we didn't have a scooter license) and drove up and down the entire island. We were staying in Firostefani and rented from a place in Fira, but you can find rental places all over the island! From Fira we drove down to the tip of the island where there was a light house. Some seriously amazing views there and along the way! From the lighthouse we drove down to a black sand beach and checked it out before heading up the island in the other direction towards Oia. We drove through Oia to get to Ammoudi Bay, swam in the bay and then back to Oia to stop in and walk around a bit. Some seriously breathtaking views the entire way. Definitely rent one to explore and check out the island!
It cost us 40 euros for 24 hours for the ATV.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank AmySchmiesing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Palea Kameni and its hot springs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

You will probably visit this place while on a boat cruise. It is interesting place proving the volcanic activity, but swimming here with many other people from the boats coming here is not my cup of tea and the springs are not very hot. Just warm. You will have to look for some spot and check the bubbles. You end up with yellow colored swimsuits. It is not that bad, but with the crowds going there, it was not the experience we were looking for.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Kamil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palea Kameni also viewed

Santorini, Cyclades
 
Santorini, Cyclades
 

Been to Palea Kameni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing