We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best luxury hotels in Greece”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tholaria Boutique Hotel Astypalaia
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Astipalea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

The Tholaria is a beautiful hotel. We stayed in the Asvestoti Family Suite. This hotel is beautifully decorated with breathtaking views. The pool is well maintained and the hotel is close to the main square. Breakfast every morning was delicious thanks to Litsa's cooking. Thanks Mike, Litsa, Yiannis for your friendly hospitality and not to forget Nadia the housekeeper who keeps this hotel spotless. We would definetley recommend. Go to Astypalaia and stay at the Tholaria you wont regret it.
Regards
Anastasia, Paul & Eric

Stayed: July 2014
Thank GreeceDelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Mariakis, Ιδιοκτήτης at Tholaria Boutique Hotel Astypalaia, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2016

Dear Guests,

thanks for your kind comments about our business.
We promise you that we will try to do the best for our guests and we hope to see you soon.

We wish you a happy new year and all the goods.

Best wishes
Mariakis Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was our first visit to Asypalea in some 40 years of visiting Greece. The island is a throwback to all the charm and honesty of Greece and the antithesis of today's Mykonos and Santorini.

But about the Tholaria.... it is not just that the rooms are as wonderful as we read about but also that Michael and his family are beyond kind. We felt wonderfully at ease at the Tholaria and met lovely people there, We cannot wait to return.

Practical stuff: pickup at the airport and even drop-off at 04:30 at the dock were no problem / one of the island's main beaches is just a steep descent down from the hotel and has some of the very best restaurants / Chora (main town) is very pretty and a hub of activity in the evening.

Do visit. You will not regret it.

Room Tip: Stayed in Castelano and really liked it. It is at lobby level, not an issue for us, but if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idefixaegean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Mariakis, Ιδιοκτήτης at Tholaria Boutique Hotel Astypalaia, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2016

Dear Guests,

thanks for your kind comments about our business.
We promise you that we will try to do the best for our guests and we hope to see you soon.

We wish you a happy new year and all the goods.

Best wishes
Mariakis Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had originally booked to stay at Mariakis Studios but upon arrival it was closed due to an electrical fault, so Mike (who owns both properties) had arranged for us to stay at Tholaria. We stayed in Cavo Capucco which consists of a double bed on a mezzanine level, fully equipped kitchen, living room with traditional handmade wood furniture's with sofa, bathroom with shower, dressing gowns and slippers, wardrobe, free air-con, free wifi and a private balcony with view to the sea and to the castle. 10 minute walk into main square. The studio is extremely comfortable and staff are wonderful, we could not have asked for anything better and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone visiting Astypalaia.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MozBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Mariakis, Ιδιοκτήτης at Tholaria Boutique Hotel Astypalaia, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2016

Dear Guests,

thanks for your kind comments about our business.
We promise you that we will try to do the best for our guests and we hope to see you soon.

We wish you a happy new year and all the goods.

Best wishes
Mariakis Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed in one of the mezzanine studios (Cavo Capucco), which was light, cool and very well-equipped. The shower room was probably the best that we ever had in in 30 years of visiting Greece. The balcony views are also wonderful: up to the blue-domed church on the Kastro to the left, and down to the sea on the right. You can hear the sea all the time.

Some practicalities: the hotel provided airport transfers which was welcome, especially for a breakfast-time departure. The hotel does not have a bar or other means of buying water or drinks, snacks etc., but the staff are very helpful, and we were told that the Makos supermarket down at the beach will make a delivery if required.

Another tip is that there is a zacharoplasteon (cake shop) and bakers very close by: it is the shop on the left as you go round the first corner when walking up towards the Chora. They sell excellent bread, including an outstanding wholemeal (‘mavro’) loaf, tiropittes and pizza portions. Add some foolishly sticky cakes, wash it down with supermarket retsina and who needs room service?

Service from all of the staff was great: Litsa runs a tight ship and all tasks are carried out thoroughly and in a friendly way. A special mention should go to Nadia for her excellent cleaning. Breakfast, as everyone else says, is outstanding. The building is beautiful and tastefully decorated. The pool is excellent too.

We had no complaints at all, although the stairs up to bed in the mezzanine studio might be a bit steep for some people: have a look at the pictures on the website if you are in any doubt.

(One last note for nature lovers: a Little Owl sits most evenings on a fence post down to the right of the Cavo Capucco balcony.)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro_on_Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Mariakis, Ιδιοκτήτης at Tholaria Boutique Hotel Astypalaia, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2016

Dear Guests,

thanks for your kind comments about our business.
We promise you that we will try to do the best for our guests and we hope to see you soon.

We wish you a happy new year and all the goods.

Best wishes
Mariakis Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We spent 7 nights in this lovely small hotel and it was idyllic. We had a stunning suite with our own jacuzzi with gate access to the swimming pool which was perfect. I would say it's more of an up market Bed and Breakfast as there is no restaurant or bar. That isn't a problem as the lovely Chora is a short walk away with a good selection of tavernas,. The hotel is equidistant between the Chora and the beach so the position is ideal.. Breakfast was delicious with lots of homemade Greek specialities each day and the Mariakis family were very welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful. Astypalaia is a beautiful unspoilt island with a laid back feel and extremely friendly people. We loved it.

Room Tip: One of the three jacuzzi suites but bear in mind that armeno has a mezzanine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManchesterWalkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Mariakis, Ιδιοκτήτης at Tholaria Boutique Hotel Astypalaia, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2016

Dear Guests,

thanks for your kind comments about our business.
We promise you that we will try to do the best for our guests and we hope to see you soon.

We wish you a happy new year and all the goods.

Best wishes
Mariakis Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Family and son Mike are great hosts
Lovely apartment with great views
Breakfast was good help yourself
We where all greated to a greek meal all of the guests one night/how wonderfull
Just a couple of things to piont out
Pool is small, also no bar or snacks ..so stock up on provisions as 300mts to any bar or carrefour !
2 Ladys who worked there where exceptional

Room Tip: All are fab views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clivebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Mariakis, Ιδιοκτήτης at Tholaria Boutique Hotel Astypalaia, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2016

Dear Guests,

thanks for your kind comments about our business.
We promise you that we will try to do the best for our guests and we hope to see you soon.

We wish you a happy new year and all the goods.

Best wishes
Mariakis Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Astypalaia is a beautiful island with very friendly people.We spent four wonderful days there staying at Tholaria Hotel. Asvestoti suite was our home and the Mariakis family was our 'FAMILY" on the island!! Tholaria Boutique Hotel is a very well run family business located
in a quite section of the chora with astonishing views of the Kastro and, the Aegean sea. It is decorated in very good taste ,retaining the traditional architectural characteristics along with all modern comforts.
The service is superb and the warm hospitality is genuine.Breakfasts are plenty and very tasty
mainly Litsa's creations!! Yannis produces all the vegetables, makes furniture,and is the 'technical' director!! Michalis is the 'technocrat' the new generation!!
We strongly recommend Tholaria, and have decided to come back soon to Astypalaia and to our "friends" the Mariakis family.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Panatha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Mariakis, Ιδιοκτήτης at Tholaria Boutique Hotel Astypalaia, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2016

Dear Guests,

thanks for your kind comments about our business.
We promise you that we will try to do the best for our guests and we hope to see you soon.

We wish you a happy new year and all the goods.

Best wishes
Mariakis Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astipalea hotels
0.3 mi away
Aphrodite Studios
Aphrodite Studios
#1 of 14 in Astipalea
172 reviews
0 mi away
Pylaia Boutique Hotel
Pylaia Boutique Hotel
#6 of 14 in Astipalea
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kalderimi
Kalderimi
#4 of 14 in Astipalea
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Studios Kilindra Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Anatoli Luxury Studios & Suites
2.9 mi away
Hotel Castillio
Hotel Castillio
#9 of 14 in Astipalea
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tholaria Boutique Hotel Astypalaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tholaria Boutique Hotel Astypalaia

Address: | Chora, 85900, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Astipalea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Astipalea
Price Range: £66 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tholaria Boutique Hotel Astypalaia 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best hotels in Astypalea, called Tholaria Boutique Hotel.We hope Astypalea be one of the best destinations, and in conjunction with our hotel, leave you the best impressions.For visitors who want the high quality in conjunction with the best prices there is only one choice, Tholaria Boutique Hotel . It comprises Executive Suites with private Jacuzzi in Veranda, Family Spa Suites with jucuzzi in the bathroom, Luxury Maisonette with special architectural and Luxurious Studios with a splendid view to the sea and to the castle ,and ,combines luxury, comfort and first class service by a professional and friendly team with a sense of privacy and serenity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tholaria Boutique Hotel Astypalaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing