We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kalderimi
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Astipalea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in many hotels in Greece. This is a Pearl that you cant miss! Absolutley nothing to complain about.Full service even if you want to rent a car ore bike.breakfast had a great choise.Katarina the ouner is a fantastik person with a smile that makes the day.The rooms are wonderful with dekoration in traditional Greek way with taste.Thank you Katerina!
When in Astipalea we will always stay in Kaldermi no dout!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riitta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed in Girouli apartment but had chance to look at all the rooms.all very Beautiful.Girouli made you feel Close to the nature and the sea.Relaxing Place.Katerinas Lovely personality you dont find anywhere.She makes you feel home.A Place we will talk about long after,a Place in our heart.Thank you Katerina

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rulle12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mixelis, Ιδιοκτήτης at Kalderimi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2015

Dear Guest Thank you very much for taking the time to share them on Trip advisor experience of staying at Kalderimi.
We make every effort to please our guests and have wonderful memories of their stay with us
I hope to have you back with us soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This is the best hotel with the coolest owners, unique people! Always pay attention to you, how interested are you, are you feeling, do you need neshto.Zakuskata is superb ...... traditional Greek kiseklo milk many different types of cakes, healthy napitki.Az am fascinated by Astipalia and mostly hotel Kalderimi ..... so nice and respect only if there is some other hotel.Kalderimi has 11 splendid houses, each has a great view and each was built and furnished in traditional Greek style: 5 minutes from the beach, 10 minutes from the Castle ........... Come to KADERIMI and make the desired break.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 236_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mixelis, Ιδιοκτήτης at Kalderimi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear ……

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on this website.

We were very pleased that to learn that you had a very enjoyable time during your stay with us. Our excellent location, facilities and our personnel are elements of our hotel that we are extremely proud of, and it is always such a pleasure to read our guests’ positive comments regarding these.

Thank you for selecting Kalderimi for your stay in Astypalaia. We will certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best regards,
Katerina
Owener

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My husband and our 5 kids and several of our friends all stayed at this gorgeous place during August 2013. My husband had stayed there the year before with his brother and was struck by how beautifully located the place was 5 mins away from the town, beach, the castle..and how wonderfully friendly and facilitating the owners were, so we decided to make it our vacation spot this year and we invited several friends who came in at different times -but our family stayed about one month! Trust me, this is the ONLY place to go in Astypalia. This is a family run hotel. The owners Katerina and Michelis and their two children (teen daughter and 21 year old son) are a loving, gorgeous family. The entire family helps out in running the business and they really welcome you in to their island and their hotel.. it is as if you are staying with friends in their gorgeous home. One example would be, while we were there, during the first week, one of our daughters was having pain in her ear, by the second day it was getting worse and so we asked Katerina how we could get her to a doctor, Katerina immediately dropped everything that she was doing and personally took our daughter with my husband to the hospital, she then dropped them back to the hotel and went off on her own to fill the prescription. These are the kinds of lengths that the owners of Kalderimi go to, to ensure their guests are comfortable. One time, the owners cooked right on the beach for our entire group. Whatever experience on the islands you may want the owners go out of their way to facilitate. The hotel provides amazing breakfast included in the room rate, with traditional greek specialities and the international items as well. I am not a breakfast eater and so I opted out the first day or so, but then I started experimenting and after that I NEVER missed breakfast. There were fresh pastries, cakes (can you imagine hot delectable freshly baked chocolate cake for breakfast?!!), fruits and delicious greek yoghurt everyday along with anything else you could possibly want for breakfast including cappuccinos, hot and cold chocolate shakes which the children loved. Also if you ate one thing and decided you wanted something else as well, there was no extra charge. Kalderimi also grows its own herbal teas which were a delicious and surprising treat to which several of us became addicted. The facilities are exceptional - they are cleaned everyday and each villa is beautifully and thoughtfully appointed. Each villa also has a kitchenette with fridge and stove which came in very handy as we were a large group and eating out every night would have been astronomical. Because of the size of our group, we arranged special dinners at the hotel..and this is the truth... we ate out at several different restaurants across the island.. the dinners at Kalderimi were without question.. the best! I have to repeat that the chef and cooks at Kalderimi are superb and I think this is something that cannot be overstated. All in all, this vacation experience surpassed our expectations.. the views from the rooms and the dining area are breathtaking and I have attached one of them to this view. My family and I will definitely be returning to Astypalia...and there is only one place we would want to stay. What a gem!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaggieRose8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

this hotel is one of the best i ever been the owner and the staff is really nice perfect location 5 minites walking from the town and 5 minutes from livadia beach i strongly recomend this place i have spent beautiful daysp

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefano T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This is our fourth time in the Greek Islands and our first time at Kalderimi Traditional Houses. We travelled from Brisbane Australia with our 12yr old child meeting up with friends and relatives on a number of islands and stayed here 6 nights in the middle of July. We specifically chose Astypalaia as one of the quieter more authentic islands to visit. We were not disappointed.

Kalderimi is ideally located on a hill between the picturesque main town of Chora on the left and Livadi beach on the right with exceptional views from your balcony in both directions. Sized to maintain a personal touch, Kalderimi is a ‘village’ of generously sized apartments run with care and attention by Katerina and her two children (Adonis and Anna).The family unite to provide a welcoming hospitality with suggestions and assistance for all arrangements you could wish to make.

High quality accommodation with an attention to detail not often found in other accommodation choices, each apartment is unique in its character and presentation. All of them provide a relaxing environment, have wonderful views, are immaculately presented and are pleasure to holiday in. (We were so impressed with our apartment we asked to see inside the others!) Katerina’s passion for creating special, thoughtfully designed spaces is clearly evident throughout.

The a la carte styled breakfast is also a huge plus - the best we have experienced during our 4 holidays in Greece - with a great range of choices: Including (but not limited to): eggs done any way you like, yogurt and fresh fruits, a range of toasted sandwiches and a variety of cakes baked fresh daily. The chocolate mousse cake is a sensation and the attentive service from Anna - a delight. We haven’t found anything that matches this quality, convenience and value.

There are several beautiful places to visit on this island. We particularly enjoyed Kaminakia beach a 15 minute drive away. While a car is useful to visit other places, we could just as easily do without and spend a week just chilling out at Kalderimi and moving between Livadi beach below (lined with restaurants and tavernas) and Chora when some activity is required! We will definitely be returning to Kalderimi when we next visit Astypalaia.

Katerina, Michelis, Anna and Adonis, thank you again for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: While all 'houses' are excellent, the front two have unobstructed views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James_Tucker_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mixelis, Διευθυντής at Kalderimi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear james

Thank you for your review! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as the amenities we offer. I hope you come back soon.

Best regards,
Katerina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I was invited to join my best friend and her family in August 2013 for two weeks. I fell in love with the hotel..... I loved that each room was like a little home of it's own - spacious, clean and nicely decorated. The views every morning from the breakfast area was refreshing and inspiring..... And the breakfast was definitely prepared and served with love - still have beautiful memories of my many cappuccinos and yogurt with fruit or cheeries!

Katerina and her family are extraordinary hosts! I loved their passion for their hotel in providing excellent facilities and ensuring each guest was well taken care of.... A gem which must be experienced and enjoyed in one's lifetime! Recommend and commend highly! Hope to see you soon.

Lots of love
Roxanne
Xxx

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Triniroxie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astipalea hotels
0.1 mi away
Tholaria Boutique Hotel Astypalaia
0.4 mi away
Aphrodite Studios
Aphrodite Studios
#1 of 14 in Astipalea
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anatoli Luxury Studios & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Paradissos Hotel
Paradissos Hotel
#13 of 14 in Astipalea
26 reviews
0.4 mi away
Studios Kilindra Boutique Hotel
3 mi away
Hotel Castillio
Hotel Castillio
#9 of 14 in Astipalea
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalderimi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalderimi

Address: Xora, 859 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Astipalea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Astipalea
Price Range: £41 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kalderimi 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Kalderimi, a picturesque place with individual houses,witch represents our love and respect for keeping alive the tradition of Astypalaia. Seeing the view towards the sea and the serenity of the landscape fills your heart with joy.The owners has given a lot of love and care for this special place so the customers will feel like being in their own house.Everything to the last detail is taking care of, and awaits you to live in a dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Bookgreece.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kalderimi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalderimi Hotel Astipalaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing