We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kalymnos newbie”
Review of Hotel Philoxenia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Philoxenia
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Kalymnos
Certificate of Excellence
Burton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kalymnos newbie”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

First time on Kalymnos and couldn't have found a more friendly place to stay. Nikolas was a fantastic host.
The apartment was ideal and the views from balcony are breathtaking.
Already planning a return journey.

Thanks Nikolas

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PCloust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    18
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
42
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west midlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

what a great hotel. Nicolas is more than helpful and can't do enough for you. the rooms are comfortable and air-conditioned and the views are amazing, looking forward to my next visit in october. thank you nicolas for your hospitality

Room Tip: top rooms have great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robnorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dagenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here for the 1st time , having visited Kalymnos many times and I can honestly say this is the best hotel on the island and Nick the owner, and his family are fantastic hosts . They are lovely friendly, genuine people who care about their guests and go that extra mile for them. Sadly we came off our moped not long into our 2 week stay, but Nick helped us out by running us to the hospital and back and also for making us laugh on several occasions as we could not do much due to our injuries! Thank you for your hospitality, and for your mums delicious home cooking and for letting me have the recepies! We will be back and look forward to staying with you again, and for sampling more fab cocktails and home cooked food which is the best! Everyone we spoke to at the hotel all had good things to say about the Philoxenia. Thank you Nicholas and family ..

Room Tip: the rooms facing Telendos are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TOADY26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

If you like the Greek islands and want to visit a quiet location then Kalymnos is perfect and where better to stay than the Philoxenia Hotel which is a fairly small, family run hotel located away from the hustle and bustle of the tavernas and shops but still within easy walking distance. It has fantastic views looking across the water at the island of Telendos and of soaring mountains.

An initial mix up over our room was speedily remedied and we were upgraded at no extra cost. No fuss, just great service. The owners couldn’t have been more accommodating and were always friendly – nothing was too much trouble. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. So will you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank p4paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I have stayed here twice now in the last 12 months both times on a climbing holiday i will be going back in october 2013 and lots more times after this and I simply wouldn't stay anywhere else. So friendly nice accommodating and genuine people.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We have visited the Island many times over the past 18 years but have never experienced a more relaxing and friendly Hotel.
It is very efficiently run by Nicholas and his family, nothing is too much trouble, it is very clean and very well maintained.
The breakfast and food from Menu are all very good thanks to Maria and Irene
The views are stunning, the location is great with bus stops right outside, in fact we cannot think of a single thing we could fault, and we shall definitely be returning next year
Again thanks to Nicholas, George, Maria, Irene and Frosini we arrived as guests and left as friends
Terry & Rose

Room Tip: Request Tolendos View
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TERRY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed at the Philoxenia recently on a family holiday and found it to be comfortable and clean with good facilities. In particular the owner, Nick and his family were very friendly and made us feel welcome with nothing being too much trouble. We have visited the Island on many occasions and stayed in various different places but in future we will head back here. Thank you to Nick and his family for their kind hospitality (and the pre-dinner cocktails, especially the Margarettas, which were delicious!!!)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalymnos hotels
0.6 mi away
MasouriBlu Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Plaza Hotel
Plaza Hotel
#3 of 4 in Massouri
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Continental Hotel
Continental Hotel
#4 of 4 in Massouri
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Kantouni Beach Hotel
Kantouni Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Panormos
85 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Elies
Hotel Elies
#11 of 11 in Kalymnos
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kalydna Island Hotel
Kalydna Island Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kalymnos
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Philoxenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Philoxenia

Property: Hotel Philoxenia
Address: Armeos | Armeos, 852 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kalymnos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Kalymnos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Philoxenia 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Philoxenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Philoxenia Greece/Kalymnos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing