We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were 4 and all of us loved that place!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kalydna Island Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Kalymnos
Reviewed 8 August 2011

A beautiful place , a beautiful garden, very clean rooms, smiling and helpful staff.
A big swimming pool , sun exposure and good shadow places for reading, resting . Quiet and relax. Nice view!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank buckies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Kalydna Island Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2010

The bungalows are wery clean and cosy, plenty of room with a very handy cousinette. We enjoyed the pool very much. The brekfast was untin 10 am (we woke up a bit later) but you can prepare whatever you like at your room as there is a minimarket right across the street. Also right at the front of the hotel there is a bus stop, but i would recoment that you rent a vehicle (the hotel offers a free parking). Finally the beach is very close to the hotel (5 min walk) with two very nice beach bars (Cantina and Domus).

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joseph_Athens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

The hotel is very cosy-relaxing and the staff is very friendly for the needs of one family with young children.The closest beach is 5' walking dinstance and it has nothing to do with the turistic area of Masouri-which is very fun but not appropriate for people who want to relax.
The hotel is well but minimally decorated but most of all it is a value for money burgain!!!
Kalymnos is a very interesting island with unexplored beaches and very cheap and fresh sea food and fish!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vasiakara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

This is a really a dirty place to stay. We (a couple+ 1 child) booked there for 6 nights, after 15 days stay in a 5 star hotel in (the neighbouring) Kos island. Our room was full of dust, the air-condition was smelling bad when operating, forks,spoons etc in the breakfast were often found rusted, the swimming pool was like a dirty lake.Furniture and linen were old (and dirty). When I asked for the free internet, they said 'it is not working, try an internet cafe'! I was surprised by this situation because the teviews I read in booking.com were very good.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Taxideftis21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

An old hotel with no recent investment to renovate the rooms. As other travelers also mentioned the bed sheets were worn out, the towels were old, the loo was outlived. Overall low value for money. I would be satisfied if i paid 40 euros per night or less. I would not recommend it to friends.
Very friendly and welcoming staff though.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jonat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2009

Kalymnos is a fantastical Island, very quiet and there is not so much people as on the other island, the food is very fresh and it is not expensive. I would like to express my opinion for the hotel we stayed in for several days. First of all, if you really expect Kalydna Island Hotel to correspond to the standards of 4*, this is not the case.

The swimming pool is a bit dirty and yellow inside. I have never risked to swim there as it does not give you much confidence, but my friend swam there only once and said the water gives you an impression of dirtiness.

Do not take the rooms with the windows turned on the road, it is a nightmare, you can’t just sleep there: noisy scooters, people sitting in the restaurant in front till very late and children crying until at least 00:00… Unless you have an intention to have a funny vacation without sleeping, but we wanted to have some rest.

The breakfast was “Continental”, they had some boiled eggs, Greek yogurt (it is like sour cream), some ham and cheese, tomatoes and few sweet things. Not a big choice, to say the truth.

The towels and the bed sheets looked a bit used too much and had very often the yellow spots.

Ah forgot, if you wish to use air conditioner, you must pay 6 EUR/night! And believe me, you will use it :)

But the stuff was really kind and very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JustDianita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

Kalydna is a nice place to stay. Kalymnos as a island is worth visiting if your plan is to relax, as was ours. A small island with some small villages a a bigger, more vivid place that is called the capital. Away from it all is the hotel. We stayed is a 4-p apartment, which was good enough for 2 persons, so do not book for more in one apartment. The garden is lush and green, the apartments are basic but fine. There is a lot of rumor in the morning from animals but also from hotel personnel, which was somewhat disturbing.
You need a scooter to explore the rest of the island, but also to go to nicer beaches. Close by are Kantouni and Linaria, which are fine to have lunch or dinner, but the more nicer beaches are further away (Myrties, Emporios) and the small island of Talendos. Ignore Massouri beach if you want quietness.
Tavernas are good, also close to the hotel. Especially at Linaria beach there is a good one (the last one on the right). Also near Kalydna first on the left is worthwhile.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalymnos hotels
0.0 mi away
Plaza Hotel
Plaza Hotel
#4 of 4 in Massouri
147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Continental Hotel
Continental Hotel
#3 of 4 in Massouri
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
MasouriBlu Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Elies
Hotel Elies
#10 of 11 in Kalymnos
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
H Hotel Zephyros
H Hotel Zephyros
#2 of 2 in Myrties
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kantouni Beach Hotel
Kantouni Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Panormos
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalydna Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalydna Island Hotel

Address: 85200, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kalymnos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Kalymnos
Price Range: £31 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalydna Island Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalydna Island Hotel is situated in the touristic area of Kantouni in Kalymnos close to the sea. It is built in a traditional Aegean architectural style around a big swimming pool and beautiful gardens. It disposes 42 rooms and bungalows with spacious bathrooms, standard features included in all types of rooms are, hair dryers, fridge and satellite TV. Kalydna Island Hotel disposes a restaurant, a breakfast area, 2 bars, a meeting room, climbing and diving schools, and a big garden ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Kalydna Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalydna Island Hotel Greece/Kalymnos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing