We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotle in a magic place”
Review of Hotel Kastellorizo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kastellorizo
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kastellorizo
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great Hotle in a magic place”
Reviewed 9 June 2011

We arrived early in the morning at 7 am by plane on a brilliant sunny May day and wandered around the harbour and everything was still shut, it looked like the whole village was still asleep. We were booked out on next evening’s flight to Rhodes so we were looking for one night’s accommodation, but having seen the beauty of the harbour view, we were determined to get a room with harbour view, whatever the cost! Two of the three hotels on the harbour foreshore looked shut or still asleep, but the owner of Kastellorizo Hotel was up, organizing breakfast, and was willing to show us a room with a view, and what a view! Top floor, front balcony, brilliant sunshine, a suite of sorts, with a small sitting room and a large bathroom and the bedroom up front with that great balcony with the magic view.
The place was furnished with a lot of old traditional furniture and decorations, there is a bar and sitting room downstairs, and in the evening we were lucky to enjoy a piano recital by the owner playing old movie themes. We sat outside and listened at the music drifting in the night, really unforgettable. Breakfast in the morning was served outside in the paved yards between the two buildings; beautiful preserves, good coffee, professionally presented and served.
Just an overnight stay in Kastellorizo, and this great hotel, did not do justice to the place. One day we hope that we will come back again for a bit longer this time!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geodali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    8
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
61
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

My husband and I recently visited the Gorgeous island of Kastellorizo. What a stunning small island with many personalities and wonderful warmth. I have never met a warmer, friendlier island in my life, and to top it off we stayed at the Kastellorizo Hotel, which I have to say was my favourite bed and breakfast I have ever stayed in. The owners are husband and wife and could not do enough to please not only my husband and I, but also every guest in their hotel. Most guests we met there were return clients, but not only returning once or twice, returning many times. Every morning I would walk out the front of the hotel and have a dip in the stunning clear waters (and sometimes swim with Turtles) then have a lovely breakfast in the courtyard of the hotel. My husband still raves about the huge tomato, mushroom and cheese omelette, I was happy with the stunning fig jam and the fluffy yoghurt. Yum.

We will be back and will stay at the same hotel again.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Zen70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
124 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2010

We stayed for four nights as part of our island-hopping holiday in 2009. The hotel setting is superb - right on the quayside, but away from the (slightly) noisier cafes and restaurants. Rooms are good - and clean. Swimming from the hotel was a bonus - water very clear and clean (although i would suggest wearing swimming shoes as a few sea urchins seen). The inclusive breakfast is everythig already said in other reviews - good quality and plenty of it (just in case you haven,t had enough, the owners will try to offer you more).

I had thought this would be our only visit to Kastellorizo (still so many islands to see!) but have been thinking about our stay again as I write this review - and am now determined to go back

Mike

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Montbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2009

... in the island and one of the best we have stayed in the our travels around the globe. We have even started to measure the other hotels according to this one.
Perfectly clean, spectacular, every year improved.
The owners just love what what they are doing and they do it in the highest level possible.
If you do not fall in love with Voula's home baked bread and own marmelade for breakfast then listening to Jannis playing the piano while drinking one of his cocktails by the sea side at sunset will do it.
This hotel and its owners are the reason why we (and many others) go back every year for many years now.

  • Liked — the cleanness and teh traditional building and furniture...
  • Disliked — that I had to leave ...:-)
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Taksidiotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2008

We stayed at this hotel in Kastellorizo for just 4 nights in September 2008.

We found it's website, www.kastellorizohotel.gr, and booked it directly by phone. Gannis speaks very good English as does his delightfully charming wife Voula. They both made us feel very welcome and were helpful and attentive.

The apartment was spotlessly clean and furnished to a high standard (we stayed in apartment B2). The apartment was cleaned every day with a change of towels on each day.

Lots of choice for the inclusive breakfast (try Voula's home-made fig jam).

The hotel has sun loungers by the quayside so it's just a few steps for a swim in the clear waters of the bay.

The hotel is ideally located just opposite the ferry dock and it's only a couple of minutes walk to the excellent tavernas around the harbour.

We thoroughly recommend this hotel and will return for another stay in this wonderful hotel on this beautiful island.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelsWithNellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kastellorizo
0.2 mi away
Megisti Hotel
Megisti Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kastellorizo
217 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Cachet
Hotel Cachet
#6 of 45 in Kas
360 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lycia Hotel
Lycia Hotel
#27 of 45 in Kas
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Villa Hotel Tamara
Villa Hotel Tamara
#21 of 45 in Kas
227 reviews
2.7 mi away
Amphora Hotel
Amphora Hotel
#7 of 45 in Kas
144 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 45 in Kas
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kastellorizo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kastellorizo

Property: Hotel Kastellorizo
Address: Megisti, 851 11, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kastellorizo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kastellorizo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Kastellorizo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kastellorizo is located right in the port of Kastellorizo, which is also the island’s only village. It comprises five traditional buildings, designed to be in harmony with the local architecture and is situated at the quiet end of the harbour. The hotel consists of 14 spacious apartments - Junior Suites and Suites - from 25 to 58 sq. meters in size. The rooms offer a discrete comfort, adjusted to the island’s style, with spectacular views across the harbour. The sea is just a few meters in front of the buildings. All units are fully equipped with sitting area, kitchenette, refrigerator, independent air conditioning, ceiling fan, direct dial telephone, TV (plasma in the suites) with satellite channels, CD/DVD, safe box, hair dryer, hot water kettle, trouser press, magnifying shaving mirror, bath amenities, sea towels, bathrobe etc.The hotel also has umbrellas and deck chairs, access to the sea for swimming, piano bar, children’s pool, thalasso – massage pool, room service, laundry service, mini market, automatic ascending chair for persons with special needs and generally all quality services that can make your holiday truly unforgettable. A home – made breakfast is served either in the garden or on your balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Kastellorizo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing