We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hooray!!”
Review of Hotel Kastellorizo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Kastellorizo
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kastellorizo
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hooray!!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

What a truly beautiful island. A very special place indeed and topped off by staying at the Hotel Kastellorizo. Yannis and Voula are warm and friendly and couldn't be more helpful. the room that we stayed in had a balcony overlooking the water which was a great spot for supping a G&T whilst waiting for glimpses of the old turtle in the harbour waters below. Everything works there. The breakfasts are gorgeous and Yannis and Voula will get you anything that you want. The air conditioning in the rooms is topnotch ( very important in HOT august) and they are kept clean and tidy by the lovely staff. We are already planning our next trip!

Room Tip: try and get one facing the water as the views are what its all about
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizzieCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    8
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
61
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for 2 nights.. The rooms are excellent.. Large and useful.. Has a kitchen and even a boiler to enjoy tea in the veranda.. Veranda with the bay view.. Silent and peaceful.. Warm hotel owners.. For sure go there next time..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WindddSurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otago Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We booked this hotel on line after reading reviews and we were not disappointed. The owners are friendly and helpful, but not intrusive...lovely quiet time on the water's edge. Just what we wanted for a 3 night stay. There are a few good walks around the town area to occupy part of the day, leaving afternoon to relax and escape the heat. Try walking out to St Stephanos' and enjoy a very private swim, or the 404 stairs to the top of the cliff overlooking the bay.
The hotel is located opposite the ferry landing about a 10 min walk (no need for a taxi etc) and just a broad pavement walkway from the harbour...swimming is right at the door. Try swimming out along the harbour edge to the old ship wreck site about 1 km away...and see the broken pottery on the sea bed.
Wonderful hotel - highly recommend it.....the breakfasts were very special!

Room Tip: ask for a harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter9393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I use this forum to read reviews for the hotels and I always start with the bad ones. It always gives me a good idea what the hotel is like.

I did same here and I decided that this must be a serious hotel and not like others in Greece.

I was not wrong. This is a beautiful hotel in a magical island. The two owners are friendly, helpful and run a clean, comfortable and realaxing place. The rooms are big and the decoration is tasteful. They call it boutique hotel in the site and are correct.

I must now say about the breakfast, because i am always wondering why people complain when there is no buffet! More and more small hotels in the world use the preorder system. We have been to many in our travels. This is to have fresh things and also to not waste. Ecological as well as tasty. Here the breakfast is fresh, mostly homemade, and very very good.
Plus, if you forget or want something more (as I did most of the time) They always made it for you. I really do not get it, why people complain.

I am writing my first review here, because I think people should not miss the island or the hotel. Or the drinks at sunset with the good music or with Yannis playing the piano and the turtles swimming just in front of you. It was one of the best holidays we had and will come back.
It seems most of the guests were coming back for a very long time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Our mistake was to only stay 3 days. I think a week would be much better as we had more walks and more restaurants to experience. The couple who run the hotel were very helpful and lent us a book about the island and interesting walks. It was good to have a washing machine after a couple of weeks travelling around Turkey. It's only 30 minutes from Turkey but very much Greek. The bakery sells wonderful breads and Kastellorizo specialties. Go on a little low boat to get to the Blue Cave so that you can go inside. St George Church is currently being repaired and if you knock on the door the workers will let you in. It's worth seeing.

Room Tip: We chose an apartment with a bath. It was quite large and we could still see the water. The front ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARGIEHICKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhodes, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

By far one of the most unique hotels I 've been in.
Our maisonette Gamma 2 really was much more like a small house
with a large verandah ,than a hotel suite .
The furnishings are extraordinary ,the decor is of the area.
Every detail is perfect.
Voula and Yannis are warm and friendly ,informed and helpful.
There is a courtyard for breakfast ,the food was delicious and the
ambiance is lovely .
Just a lovely ,beautiful comfortable,boutique hotel ,that anyone
visiting Kastellorizo should stay in .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DIMITRA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tweed coast
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Our stay at the Kastellorizo Hotel was by accident. Our flight to Rhodes was cancelled and we were accommodated at this lovely hotel. The apartment was huge with a mezzanine floor for the bedroom. The bathroom was spacious with plenty of toiletries. Breakfast was served outside overlooking the water. It was just beautiful.
The manager did very well considering a large number of guests were imposed on him with no warning. We thoroughly enjoyed being "stranded" in Kastellorizo and would recommend this idyllic little island for a night's stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that opens onto the water. It is just beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevBan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kastellorizo
0.2 mi away
Megisti Hotel
Megisti Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kastellorizo
223 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Cachet
Hotel Cachet
#9 of 48 in Kas
372 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Club Barbarossa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Villa Hotel Tamara
Villa Hotel Tamara
#26 of 48 in Kas
232 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 48 in Kas
521 reviews
2.7 mi away
Amphora Hotel
Amphora Hotel
#7 of 48 in Kas
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kastellorizo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kastellorizo

Property: Hotel Kastellorizo
Address: Megisti, 851 11, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kastellorizo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kastellorizo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Kastellorizo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kastellorizo is located right in the port of Kastellorizo, which is also the island’s only village. It comprises five traditional buildings, designed to be in harmony with the local architecture and is situated at the quiet end of the harbour. The hotel consists of 14 spacious apartments - Junior Suites and Suites - from 25 to 58 sq. meters in size. The rooms offer a discrete comfort, adjusted to the island’s style, with spectacular views across the harbour. The sea is just a few meters in front of the buildings. All units are fully equipped with sitting area, kitchenette, refrigerator, independent air conditioning, ceiling fan, direct dial telephone, TV (plasma in the suites) with satellite channels, CD/DVD, safe box, hair dryer, hot water kettle, trouser press, magnifying shaving mirror, bath amenities, sea towels, bathrobe etc.The hotel also has umbrellas and deck chairs, access to the sea for swimming, piano bar, children’s pool, thalasso – massage pool, room service, laundry service, mini market, automatic ascending chair for persons with special needs and generally all quality services that can make your holiday truly unforgettable. A home – made breakfast is served either in the garden or on your balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Kastellorizo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing