We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place in Kastellorizo!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Megisti Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Megisti Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kastellorizo
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best place in Kastellorizo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Kastellorizo can be described in one word: magical!!! As soon as you see the picturesque village, the traditional architecture, the colours of the buildings, in such harmony with the natural environment, you feel immediately calm and relaxed!!! Megisti Hotel is the best place to stay in Kastellorizo. Its location is ideal, as it combines the best view of the village and the best (if not the only) spot for swimming. The terrace is spacious with enough sunbeds (it's also the best spot for pictures!!!!) and the water is crystal clear... I particularly enjoyed watching the sunset while having a drink at the hotel's bar, the colours and the view are so relaxing!!! Our room was bright and very clean, with a magnificent view!! The service was excellent and everyone was very helpful and friendly, they really made us feel like home!
Tips: Don't miss the Blue Cave, it's an experience you won't forget!! The way the light of the sun reflects in the interior of the cave creates a breathtaking blue colour.... You can visit it only by boat, but the hotel staff is very helpful and will arrange everything. Have your cameras ready, as, especially near the port, you will watch, if you are lucky, sea turtles swimming!! The castle is also worth visiting (amazing view!!) and at the museum you can watch a documentary about the history of the island. If you like hiking, you will enjoy the path of 300 steps that leads to the church of St George. And last, but not least, enjoy the seafood: everything is so fresh and tasty!! Kastellorizo and Megisti Hotel are definitely one of my favourite destinations for holidays!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LambriniDout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    36
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
34
113
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
rodos
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

The staff is EXCELLENT they make your day. The location is just absolute. The room 107 we had was very very very good. The bar on the terrace was like in a yacht. The only litle thing they did t have is a shower for late departs, if this is a problem. I am a greeck and I can understand how difficult is to maintain this hotel in an isolated island like kastelorzo. Bravo. I did not expect it to be so good. The staff made all the difference. Thank you

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank popi f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
235 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Stayed here a week. In one word: Magical.
Although small things perhaps could be improved the overall feeling you are left with is just that: Magical. The property is very well run, and the best place to stay on the island, especially if you want to go for a swim in the hot greek summer.
The Island and village of Megisti is gorgeous picturesque and very very relaxing . Just the place to to zone out and get away from it all. No high-rise concrete buildings , no charter tourism, no hoards of people, no cars, no loud bars and discos. Just great simple food with fresh seafood straight out of the ocean, a beautiful location, and relaxation in the sun. Cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nikolai69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Time stops in kastellorizo.. You are instantly relaxed. Hotel Megisti is the best place to stay on the island! Very clean ,beautiful location, friendly staff the works! The view is to die for! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgiePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands England
Level Contributor
98 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

Stayed here one night only and went for the suite as we were staying in fairly basic accomodation over in Kas in Turkey. Whatever faults in the hotel ( mainly on service side - people could , maybe , cheer up a bit) - this is in an AMAZING location that is beyond compare. Great swimming too and lounge area. Would return and will.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulyt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greece
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

Hotel Megisti is situated in the most beautiful part of the harbor, facing the picturesque port. The hotel is renovated almost three years ago and all rooms are clean, beautifully decorated, spacious and with sea views. Service is excellent and hotel personnel is polite and willing, providing a very good standard of customer care. Restaurant staff demonstrated very good levels of food knowledge and service skills. The outside terrace is spacious with sunbeds for the hotel guests BUT because it is the most beautiful spot for swimming on the island, it can be crowded sometimes, which is the only downside of the hotel. Overall Megisti hotel is the best deal you can get on the island. That was my second stay here and hopefully i will back for more.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank midest6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2011

Our stay in Kastellorizio was just magical. You need at least 5 days if you want to explore the island and discover your ancestral heritage. The staff at Megisti Hotel made our holiday "simply the best" - their hospitality and service was excellent. The rooms were of a high standard. For such a small island, the hotel met our expectations and more. I will definitely stay there again - infact it is the only place to stay on the island. The breakfast was so fresh and they even had vegemite (Australians love vegemite).

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank b-yanardasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kastellorizo
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kastellorizo
Hotel Kastellorizo
#2 of 3 in Kastellorizo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Cachet
Hotel Cachet
#8 of 44 in Kas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lukka Hotel
Lukka Hotel
#2 of 44 in Kas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lycia Hotel
Lycia Hotel
#21 of 44 in Kas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 44 in Kas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
2.5 mi away
Villa Hotel Tamara
Villa Hotel Tamara
#18 of 44 in Kas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Megisti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Megisti Hotel

Property: Megisti Hotel
Address: 85111, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kastellorizo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kastellorizo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Megisti Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated and re-opened. Room count includes two suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Megisti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Megisti Hotel Kastellórizo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing