We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely host”
Review of Irene Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Irene Apartments
Ranked #1 of 56 Kos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“lovely host”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed for 2 weeks at the Irene apartments.The day we arrived it was our daughters birthday .I emailed Niko before hand and asked if on arrival we could have a Birthday cake for her,which they did and it was a lovely surprise for her.This is just one example that nothing is to much trouble for them.Elias cooks a great bbq on Fridays.The food here is vary good especially the all day breakfast.Jack and Niko keep you entertained.The rooms are vary basic,but you don`t go on holiday to spend it in your room.Maria kept our room spotless and we regulary had clean towels.Its a lovely complex,with a lovely swimming pool.There is a bus stop just outside to go into Kos town,which is a must,or if your feeling energetic you could walk it.Finally,to Elias,give Rexy a cuddle,and to Jack,Tim says Congratulations.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timmyboy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    27
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
57
69
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

From our first arrival Elias and his two sons Nick and Jack could not have been a more perfect host! The apartments are basic but spotless (thanks Maria) The pool area, bar area and surrounding areas are likewise. Bar snacks and meals are available all day and were both delicious and excellent value for money.(thanks Olga) There is something for everyone weather you want chilled and relaxed or lively and energetic this is the place to stay. Close by are sea view taverna's and restaurants or Kos town is a 25 min stroll along the seafront where you will find more great food, entertainment and nightlife in abundance.All that said the real gem of this holiday is the friendly family atmosphere generated by the great people hosting your stay. Already booked to return next year!! Yamas!!

Room Tip: Basement rooms were cooler and had a larger balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnny s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
432 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed at the Irene Apartments for a week and were looking forward to it after reading the reviews on here. Friendly welcome from Jack who greeted us when we got off the transfer coach and showed us to our apartment. Ours was a basement studio which was basic but clean. There was a table and chairs, as well as a seating area in the balcony. Also there was ample storage space for our belongings, so was perfect for our needs. Towels were changed once during the trip and the room seemed to be cleaned daily (not sure about the bathroom). There was always a spare roll of toilet paper available. The apartments are about 30 minutes' walk into town which went past the marina and the outskirts of Kos town. There were some restaurants nearby Psalidi and also the hotel did some simple bar food which we sampled one evening. Niko is really friendly and made us feel very welcome. Greek Night on a Friday is a must - food and entertainment for 12 € (if I remember correctly). There is a pool and ample loungers about. We felt safe at the apartments and don't have any complaints. The only thing is as there is evening entertainment at the pool area, it was a bit hard to get to sleep the first night we were there but we got used to it for the remainder of the holidays. There was wifi but the signal was weak in the bedroom and better near the pool/ bar area. Public transport in Kos seems to be mainly to take people from Kos town to beaches or between resorts, so the times/ frequency were not particularly good for places like Zia and Pyli. We hired a car for a day to go round the island, and saw the main sights in Kos - Kefalos, Antimachia, Paradise Beach, Agios Stefanos Beach, Zia, Old Pyli, the thermal springs, etc. We went with Cosmos but didn't go with them for any of the trips - there are many companies at the harbour offering similar trips for much more reasonable prices and we travelled to Bodrum, Nisyros and also went to Mastichari to catch a boat to Kalymnos one day. Kos was lovely, as was Irene Apartments, we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone travelling to the island.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doofvfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

When we arrived late at night my 17 year old son left is bag on the coach containing his ipad, Nicos immediately was on the phone and got it back with in an hour. Good start to the holiday!!! After that my son got the affectionate nickname of "Malaka".
Plenty of sunbeds, no need to get up early to reserve a bed, air conditioning & safe €95 for 2 weeks possibly could do without.
Greek night is a must, not commercialised more of a family party.
Overall basic accommodation but 5 star hosts very good value for money. We will be back. Yammas! !!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just returned from 2 weeks in The Irene Apartments. A little peace of paradise in the sun run by a family who could teach some of the big hotels a few things about costumer service.. Rooms very clean nice pool and a very well stocked bar. Only down side for me is the fact that with no direct flights to Kos from N Ireland it makes it a costly trip otherwise I would be back tomorrow.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Just returned from a one week late deal at the Irene. A lovely little gem. We stayed in a studio, which are small and basic. The bathroom is tiny but everything is clean. There is enough wardrobe and drawer space and a fridge. The beds were comfortable with soft pillows, not the usual hard as rock mattresses so you could get a good nights sleep.The cleaner (Maria) came in every other day and towels were changed twice. They have a small terrace complete with table, chairs and a clothes airer. Aircon is quiet and this and a small safe in the room costs €50 for the week.The pool is lovely and again very clean. No need to get up at the crack of dawn to reserve sunbeds either. There were always plenty free and it was never crowded around the pool anyway and not noisy,
just relaxing background music.
All the food and snacks we had from the pool bar were tasty and good quality and we can
recommend the BBQ which is good value and a fun night. Though the bar stayed open until 2am, it was not noisy so sleep was not disturbed if you retired earlier.
The apartments are about 20-25 minute gentle stroll on the flat from Kos town (or you can get the
bus easy enough if you prefer), which is very picturesque and bustling with restaurants, cafes and
bars. We ate at the Planatos restaurant next to the Tree of Hippocrates which was a little more
expensive but had a lovely atmosphere and live music from a Greek female singer. There are
plenty of restaurants within 5 minutes walk of the apartments if you dont want to go into
town and we would recommend Nestoros, Blue Ocean and Mavromatis.
We hired a quad for a few days which is a great way to explore as the roads are easy to navigate.
We went to Kefalos, Tigaki, Mastichari and to the mountain village of Zia with lovely views and lots
of gift shops.
But the thing that makes the Irene Apartments so special are the family who run it. Elias, Nicos and
Jacques and very friendly and make it their mission to see that you enjoy your stay and are the
main reason why we would not hesitate to stay here again. It was our first visit to Kos and the Irene
Apartments and I am hope we will return.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool get sunshine most of the day. Studios are small. Apartments have separate bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denisdenis61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Just returned from a week at these apartments. The family that run it give 200% service. They are very good at judging what people are looking for in a holiday. While we were there lots of people of all ages were travelling alone and I have to say,I who have never travelled alone would have no problems here. From start to finish everyone is made to feel welcome, the owners introduce guests to each other. The rooms are cleaned everyday and all areas are spotless. No problems with sunbeds plenty for everyone. Pool was clean and quite warm. Food served is excellent with plenty of choice. Ideally located for Kos town with the bus stop opposite or you can walk into town. The family offer entertainment on several nights which is great and Nicko is always keen to look for new ideas. The bbq night was brilliant. I can see why people return year on. We will definitely be doing so. It is just about right for the airport but next time we would take a taxi. Also recommend a visit to Blue ocean for a meal, stephanos is a true gent and Nestroas. We hired a bike from Escape rentals who again we excellent.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 but all rooms are good. I was surprised how much room we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonhou123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#17 of 19 in Psalidi
244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Platanista Hotel
Platanista Hotel
#1 of 19 in Psalidi
880 reviews
0.2 mi away
Niriides Beach Hotel
Niriides Beach Hotel
#13 of 19 in Psalidi
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Beach Hotel & Apartments
20.3 mi away
Zeus Hotel
Zeus Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kefalos
464 reviews
21.4 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kefalos
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irene Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irene Apartments

Property: Irene Apartments
Address: Odissoy Street | Iraklis Place, 853 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Kos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Irene Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and LoveHolidays so you can book your Irene Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irene Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing