We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families, not ideal for couples”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Puravida Resort Blue Lagoon
Ranked #173 of 218 Hotels in Kos
Potsdam, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great for families, not ideal for couples”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We spent a week at the resort this August/September and were traveling as 2 couples. We selected rooms (1 x swim up and 1 x junior suite) in the adult's only area, which turned out to be a great move. All rooms in the 5000/6000/7000 blocks are either "enjoying" the full amphitheater entertainment until late at night with no option of escape or they have the day activities by the activity pool. The resort itself is very new and very clean. Rooms are great although we found that it is worth to invest on a swim up room or suite. They make quite a difference. The beach is great - we had read the comments from other travelers about how to get into the water and can confirm that it is good advice to take shoes with you - but other than that - the beach and water are what to expect from a Greek island and the water is simply great. Some of the other travelers mentioned that the sun chairs are not all that comfortable and we can confirm that. This goes for all sun chairs - by the beach and by the pool and in the rooms. The only ones that actually have somewhat of a cushion are the ones for the beach cabanas you can rent at Euro 25 per day.
The reason the resort didn't score more than average for us was the fact that it is simply not made for couples or non-family travelers. All of the entertainment is dedicated towards families which is fine - but they made most of the crowd and you will find that having dinner can be quite chaotic with all the kids around. We were told that at the restaurant there is an adult only area - but you should have seen it, inside, about 7-8 tables right next to where the buffet was set up - no option at all. The food and drink selection in general was our biggest disappointment - we knew we were choosing an all inclusive resort, but picked 5-stars expecting it to pamper and spoil us a little. Particularly when reading about the theme restaurants like First Date and Adventure Barbecue. None of the restaurants met our expectations, they had no atmosphere (except for first date where they really tried), were lit way to brightly inside, the presentation of the food as well as the variety was far from 5-star, we were more than willing to pay for different wines or drinks but for e.g. wanting to order Prosecco - a glass wasn't possible, only a bottle and on it goes.... All the food regardless of which restaurant you picked, seemed to be coming out of the same kitchen (i.e. tasted the same). The only 2 restaurants that you could choose outside of your meal package were both "fish" restaurants, sushi und fish. So, not good for choices. The service staff was working at their hardest, but they seemed to be overwhelmed and stressed at times. The fact that at the Agean restaurant tables were moved across your head while eating, didn't help.
We also read that sport's options like Zumba were offered at least 5 times a week, which is not true. For us - it was 2 times and we could actually only join once based on the times of our departure. In general the sports activities are great - the gym could be a little larger given the size of the resort.
The Spa was very well managed and we enjoyed 2 massages and found our little haven of tranquility.
If you are traveling as a couple - we suggest to travel off season and to make sure to book an adult only room (2000er block) - for a junior suite the best choice is 2316 because it is at the end of everything and you are more or less on your own.
If you are asking us if we would return to the resort? Our answer would be "no" - we can see that it is great for kids/families (assuming you speak English) - but would much rather invest the money in a real 5-star hotel and be more open on our food and beverage choices. Which in all fairness we didn't expect from an all inclusive resort - but a little more quality and variety would have been great. So, only average in terms of value for money.

Room Tip: Adult only area is quieter and has a nice relax pool in front. Invest in a Swim Up room or a Suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doreen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    6
    2
    5
    1
See reviews for
21
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bydgoszcz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Hotel is built like a village. Architecture is interesting. Unfortunately this is not 5* hotel - it is a holiday factory -extremely loud & with no comfort at all anywhere any time - there is a amfiteater in the middle of the vida part ( Pura is much better)- so you have no peace anywhere. The most surprising thing is that the hotel is aware of extremely unfriendly attitude of the english tui - thompson and is accepting real racism towards all others guests who and whose children come from different countries than UK - they do not allow to participate in their animations program and what is most irritating - they occupy the main pool, they scream & shout all day so you do not have a choice and must tolerate these people. By 23:00pm every day they organize extremely annoying & loud concerts in the amfiteater so your children will not sleep before they finish to scream.food - very disapointing.
Terrible noise in the restaurants - you need to eat and escape not to become deaf but be sure you will get tired. Too many people not enough space. I assumed it would not be holidays for me but believe me it was something going much further than family resort.

No wifi in hotel.:(((
I spent there 2 weeks wth 3 little children (2 on trolleys - 3 yrs & 9 mths) and i received the rooms on the last floor (7th) which you can not reach with elevator - so several times a day i had to carry trolleys by stairs !!!!
No interventions helped.
My double bed was built of 2 separate single beds wchich were sliding aside every time you lied in the middle - so my little daughter was sleeping n a deep row :(
I tried to fix this with bed cover but the beds were onwheels - so it was like a syzyf work.


In all hotel facilities for all day till midnight - you will not listen to nothing else but techno and worse pop from 80' like : opus - life is life in no name remixes. Terrible !
I asked for smooth jazz or lounge music - no way.

Room Tip: Only junior suites and appartaments are comfortable - the rest is a "mass atraction " - ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drbien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarnow, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

New hotel build recently. Divided into two parts (calm/relaxing & normal).That's why characteristic name of PURAVIDA. Excellent food and service. You could choose among various restaurants with different meals. Each evening dinner was marvellous. Room were very clean and properly equipped. Staff very friendly & helpful. When we stayed there animation program was very poor - but they have tried to develop it.
Every grup age will find there place for themselves. If you want to relax - choose calm apartments with individual jacuzzi or small pool. If you want to go there with kids - it will be fantastic place for them. A lot of pools with different depth + lot of slides both for 2 y.o. kids & adults :) You shouldn't be worried about good place on the beach or swimming pool. There is enough space for everyone. TIP: when you want to swim in sea - you must remember about taking shoes (rocks). Please remember that hotel is on the wayside.

Room Tip: In our apartments there wasn't WIFI - just cable - so in current situation with tablets & sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Prezioso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Blue Lagoon is a beautiful hotel in great surroundings. The main advantage of this hotel is the age - it was opened only 1 year ago. Every room is well-equiped, modern and comfortable. Moreover, it is not one big building but a nice village with gardens, bridges, swimming pools, and sea view - which is a big advantage for me, too.
It's very important to book the room suitable for yourself, because there are 2 parts of the hotel: PURA - quite, small with spa and fitness area, mostly for people who want to relax during holidays, and VIDA - where you can find activity pool, theather, restaurants... People with small children can stay only in VIDA. The main disadvante of PURA is the distance to the beach, main restaurant and other daily activities, because you have to walk through the whole hotel area. On the other hand, there are small electric cars and the drivers can take you to any part of the hotel (free of charge).
The service is great - every person in the reception desk, working for the cleaning service or bar tenders are nice and helpful.
You have to be aware of the sea - it is better to have the shoes cause the first few steps you have to go through the stones.
The food is very good, the main "+" is variety - in the hotel you could find 6 restaurants and in the main one there are 3 different parts with buffet lunch.
In my opinion, everyone could find something for themselves in the hotel - sport, yoga classes, restaurants, many swimming pools or wide and beautiful sandy beach.

Room Tip: I recommend PURA part because you can really relax there. And of course with the sea view - it is be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lady_arabic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Whilst the hotel is attractive and has a lot of facilities - pools, lovely beach, water slides, etc., there is certainly something missing to make this a really enjoyable holiday experience. The level of service is nowhere close to 5 star. Whilst individual staff members are nice enough, there is an overwhelming feeling that they feel they are doing you a big favour whenever you request something. After 2 weeks and 7000 euros spent, this becomes really frustrating. We had the impression the management must be control freaks - staff did not feel able to say yes to customers...so many times we were given the 'I must ask my supervisor' line - even for basic requests such as some fresh milk for our toddler. The staff seem to hope you will say 'ok never mind' so that they don't have to ask their supervisor. As I said, very wearing after 2 weeks of this. Pity, but we would not visit this hotel again.

Room Tip: It is worth getting a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SamS410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kos hotels
0.0 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
1,335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Robinson Club Daidalos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Labranda Marine Aquapark Resort
0.0 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#1 of 32 in Kos Town
2,584 reviews
0.0 mi away
Neptune Hotels - Resort, Convention Centre & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puravida Resort Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puravida Resort Blue Lagoon

Property: Puravida Resort Blue Lagoon
Address: Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 218 Hotels in Kos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing