We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic place/people and time”
Review of Smaragdi Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Smaragdi Studios
Ranked #71 of 219 Hotels in Kos
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Hi

Family of 4, kids aged 13 and 9. Stayed at the apartments for 2 weeks at the start of July and first impressions were that they were basic. We were put in a small room at the front of the building which had a really small balcony so I asked for a move and the manager Judy could not do enough to help.

We were moved to a downstairs apartment which was 10 feet from the pool area and even though still small the balcony was great and a small step over for the kids got them in the pool in seconds. The pool area is lovely and even though the apartments were full we all managed to get the same beds every day. The rooms are clean and tidy, cleaned 6 days out of 7 with clean sheets and towels every few days. The pool bar area did basic but nice food during the day and Maria looked after us really well. Judy's daughter worked the reception back shift and she was amazing and again really helpful. Cannot complain about any part of the complex and would highly recommend it. Thanks Judy, Tina and Maria x

Lambi is a quiet area and about a 20 min walk into Kos town (recommend a short taxi ride instead of walking only 6 euro and takes 2 min) The is a fantastic taverna just 5 min up the road from the complex Tsambala good food and a smashing wee guys that works really hard to please, another place is at the corner just at the beach (10 min walk) called the blue phoenix the guys in there were amazing. On average 4 meals, 2 kids and 2 adults and lots of wine was around 50-55 euros. Kos town is fantastic lovely tavernas and bars but be warned gentlemen there are loads of shops for the ladies to spend the money.

We loved the holiday, we booked with Olympic and flew with Jet2 and both were bril, was a bit nervous about Olympic as it was more a budget holiday but was every bit as good as previous holidays at a fraction of the cost.

If you want any info email davie.harvie@yahoo.co.uk and I will be happy to help

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank davie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2011

I found the staff and management very helpful and friendly, accommodation was very well equipped and cleaned every day. was only a short walk to the beach , but didnt need to go there as it was nice and relaxing by the pool, and the food from the bar was rather tasty ...the best thing about the smaragdi in my opinion has got to be the friendly atmosphere !!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nade4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Had a great time staying here as always, comfortable, great apartment which is clean and tidy, 2 children and 2 adults 1 infant in our party no problem with space when you book an apartment plenty of hanging space for all your clothes. Fab pool plenty of sun beds, well looked after. Hotel staff always game for a laugh and will always do anything to help should you experience any problems.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KGS_191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Mum and I have stayed at the Smaragdi twice now, first time in 2008 and then in 2010. Had a fabulous time both times and booked to go back this September.

Apartments: Absolutely fantastic! I travel regularly in basic self-catering accommodation and these are much better than most I’ve stayed in. They are really spacious, very clean and the service is top notch! Judy, Kwstandina, Maria and Tellis make up a very friendly staff. The bar is open in the evening so you can enjoy a drink after an evening out. The food is lovely and Maria bakes lovely cakes all day long! I wouldn’t recommend it for an 18-30’s crowd as it’s a quiet location with no evening entertainment like karaoke etc. There’s a mini-market straight opposite the apartments and it’s not badly priced for basic groceries, cigarettes and alcohol. The bigger supermarkets are cheaper (aren’t they all?) and there’s one at the top of the road.

Apartment Location: We love the beach, love countryside and love marina towns...this has it all! The Smaragdi is in countryside with the beach only 5-10 mins walk away and the bus stop is only 5 mins away which takes you to Kos Town. (Our walking time is based on Mum’s speed...she’s a very slow walker!) On first impression it might feel like the apartments are in the middle of nowhere, but that was just us going in the wrong direction on the first day! If you go out of the apartments and turn left (not right!) there’s a gorgeous peaceful walk up a tree-lined lane with a great restaurant called the Tsambala which is a wonderfully traditional Greek restaurant; Costas and his family are really friendly. Another 5 mins walk past Tsambala and you’re at the crossroads. There, you can either go straight on at the crossroads and you’re at the beach, or there’s the bus stop into Kos Town (it takes 5 mins on the bus) or you can choose from a selection of lovely restaurants. Also, there is a bus right outside the apartments which goes the longer way round to Kos Town (we didn’t use this one only because we enjoyed the scenic walk up to the crossroads) and there’s a free road-train which goes to the town although we haven’t used that so we can’t comment. Basically, if you’re worried that you’re a little out on a limb, you’re not...there’s plenty of ways to get around!

Kos Town: We found that Kos Town was great to visit on a daily basis but it was so very hectic that we were glad not to stay in a hotel there. Its jam packed and super busy with everything you could hope for: bars, restaurants, boat trips, archaeological sites, other tourist adventures, everything! It is so very traditionally Greek (as is all of Kos) and you can feel the history of the island as you walk around!

Trips: We would recommend the 3 island boat trip and the sunset at Zia in the mountains. A walk round the many archaeological sites is also a must, although we went round those in September when it was cooler, July was a tad too hot for that! We’ll be going to visit them again this September.

Overall: A definite recommendation for couples, friends and older couples who enjoy relaxing in the countryside and easy access to a laze on the beach or heading to town to live it up now and again.

To all the staff at Smaragdi: can't wait to see you all in September!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizCookson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

At Smaragdi you get what you pay for (maybe) it has gone down hill in the last few years but still ok value for money. Pool area needs some TLC, lots of the sunbeds are broken and need replacing but the pool itself is well maintained. Rooms are very basic with not much room for storage so if going for 2 weeks take some coat hangers with you. Bathrooms need general overhall as taps suffering from lime in water and need a good scrub! Location is lovley, set back on a beautifull tree lined road and just 10 mins from lambi beach and Kos town only 20 mins walk away. Very relaxing holiday but a pushbike is mandatory, we all go back to our childhood!! One last point, when arriving early hours of morning ask night man to put outside lights so you can find your room !

Room Tip: Ask for accomadation at back of complex, quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank telnval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We stayed at the Smaragdi for 1 week in mid September after getting an amazingly cheap deal through Olympic Holidays. Considering the price paid we were not expecting too much from the accommodation but we were pleasantly surprised to find our studio apartment to be clean, bright and well equipped. Nice bathroom with shower, bath & plenty of hot water, kitchen had all the usual utensils & pots including a toaster, we took our own mugs (we both prefer a mug of coffee in the morning rather than a little cup) they even had a hairdryer. The apartment was cleaned every day and the bedding and towels were changed regularly. The pool area & pool bar were very pleasant, plenty of shade if needed and no problem getting a sun bed, being late in the season the water in the pool was quite refreshing but very nice as long as you kept moving, There is a small supermarket opposite the apartments and a much larger one at the crossroads down the road.

You can take a slow stroll into Kos Town in 20 – 25 minutes, lots of guests hire bikes. Just down the road from the apartments (opposite the fire station) is a very nice taverna called the Tsambla , very handy if you want to eat nearby. There are lots of places to eat in Kos Town, the ones on the harbour are a little bit more expensive than those up the side streets, our favourite for quality of food & price was The Caravan (link attached) it’s up a side street and you might have to wait for a table but it’s well worth it.

http://www.tonyainsworth.co.uk/caravan.htm

We also went on a 3 islands boat trip, if you do this trip please go on the Katerina, we had a fantastic day, the price €21 included a lovely lunch. You can book up at the harbour in the evening as the boat goes out every day, George will show you round and only requires a small deposit, they limit the number of passengers so that it’s not too crowded, the day we went we were the only boat that saw dolphins.

http://www.tonyainsworth.co.uk/katerina.htm

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al+Lyn-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

We stayed in the Smaragdi september 2010, these apartments are in a good location, near enough to kos town to walk, about 20/25 mins or you can hire a bike and cycle to kos in a few mins, they have great cycle paths so its very easy to do. The beach in Lambi is very good the sunbeds cost about 6 euro for the day or if you go down a bit further near the taverna the old river they are free as long as you buy a drink from their bar, the drinks are a little expensive so either way it works out about the same.
There are plenty of places to eat, i can recommend the taverna near the hotel very good value, there are too many places in Kos town itself, but if you ask Judy or Constantina they will give you a few places to try.
The Smaragdi is a great place to stay, clean, nice pool, and above all great staff, we are going to book for next September. Yassas Judy, Constantina, Tellis.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Henleaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kos hotels
0.4 mi away
Alice Springs Hotel
Alice Springs Hotel
#1 of 48 in Kos Town
909 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ampavris Family Apartments
Ampavris Family Apartments
#16 of 48 in Kos Town
227 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
#8 of 48 in Kos Town
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Astron Hotel
Astron Hotel
#19 of 48 in Kos Town
282 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#25 of 36 in Kos Town
2,815 reviews
9.6 mi away
Neptune Hotels - Resort, Convention Centre & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smaragdi Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smaragdi Studios

Address: | Lambi, 85300, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 219 Hotels in Kos
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Smaragdi Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smaragdi Studios kós
Smaragdi Studios Hotel kós

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing