We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, dirty and awful food”
Review of Oscar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oscar Hotel
Ranked #206 of 218 Hotels in Kos
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Old, dirty and awful food”
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Was at this hotel for a week. We had to change our first room to another. Filthy, dirty and room to the street ment very noisy mornings.

The bath is tiny and filthy all around. The beds, madrass are old and hard. The breakfast was Ham, cheese or two types of mermelade. Cold hard boiled eggs and tea, coffee or orange juice was provided. The restaurant had one nice waitor and another grumpy old man. The chais were hard as rocks.

The cleaning was a joke, just cleaned the floor with a mop, and washed with an old rug the rest of the room ( She actually forgot her rug in the room once). She did not throw out garbage either.

There's only two positive things about this hotel, Very nice receptionists, that were both helpful and funny. The other thing is the that the hotel is near the port and city life.

I would not recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mavn81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    9
    25
    16
    54
See reviews for
22
36
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Arrived very late as we were allocated this hotel as part of a delayed flight. Our room was clean, we had an issue finding a pillow for one member of the apartment ! Rather strange taps in the bathroom - you had to twist backwards and forwards to work. The air conditioning unit worked well. The spare sofa bed was not very stable or comfortable. Others on the same delayed flight had experiences around mix up with keys finding a man asleep on their bed - needless to say they took the key back to reception ! Breakfast was good at 6.30am and they were not really ready for an extra 20 surprise guests at 2.30am. Better than Kos airport chair for 12 hours delay. Although we didn't have the time to check out the pool, it looked good from what we saw, if our problems where resolved early, the room would have been comfortable enough for our family - being in the centre of Kos Town.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sueasvso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2009

The hotel is not new but it has all the features that you would expect. There is a friendly and positive staff who do their best for you.The owners also take part in the daily work and add strongly to a good atmosphere. You feel very welcome. The hotel is situated amost in centre of Kos town in a relatively peaceful side-street.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank primerab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2007

I was quite surprised with the Oscar Hotel, I wasn't expecting much when I booked as we got the holiday for quite a good price compared to other 3 star hotels in Greece. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. We had a 2 room apartment which was more than adequate for what we required. The room was cleaned daily and even our pots were washed for us!! The only problem we had were that it caters for the young and lively crowd there didn't seem to be any families there with yound children like us, although we did feel that the Manager would like the hotel to be more for families. The food was basic especially breakfast, but it was ok and we couldn't complain as the kids ate free. I agree with the previous comment regarding the pool, it isn't really for young children that cannot swim, there were always sunbeds free and the pool was never crowded.

It is central to almost everything in Kos Town, so is a very good base for a holiday. We also did the trip to Zia for the Greek night, it was fantastic and the views were amazing, especially the sunset......well worth seeing.

Kos Town is great, we will definately go back again one day soon.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Scarlkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2007

The Oscar hotel is located only 5 min walk from the harbor, old town and the castle and doesn't have a nightclub right in the neighbor so it's a peaceful place to stay.

I'm not sure if the 3 star is valid anymore. maybe 2+ is more like it. The general spaces are worn out and are in need of restoration soon.

Lots of 18-30 people recovering of the previous night clubbing by the pool. Pool depth is 1,4 - 3.0 meters and small kids should not be there without their parents. There is a small childrens pool on the corner of the pool area. Sunbeds get reserved quite early so be there on time.

The breakfast is very minimal. it probably hasn't changed since the 70's. Nor has the staff who serves it. Buns, dry croissants, cake, eggs, cucumber, cheese, ham, tomatoes, greek yoghurt with honey, coffee, tea, orange juice.

The staff is very helpful and everybody speaks English.

PS. everybody should take a trip to the lovely village of Zia and have sunset dinner over there. Absolutely the most gorgeous view of the island.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank twister5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2006

I spent a week at the Oscar Hotel in July. I have also stayed here on two other occasions, and have always felt welcome there. The staff are friendly, helpful, and recognised me as soon as I walked in the door, even though the last time I stayed there was over three years ago!

The rooms are very clean, and adequately sized. Air con is a must in Greece, and is fitted in all rooms.

The usual affair of towels being changed, beds being made etc happens every morning, as you would expect - and I even received a complimentary bottle of 'sparkling wine'! They also have safes to rent, although they are kept at the back of the lobby as oppposed to in the rooms themselves.

The hotel itself is located very centrally - a 5 min walk to the Old Town, or harbour, 10 minutes to the bar district - and 10 minutes the other way to all the beaches.

Highly recommendable and will be staying there again when I go back (more than likely this August!)

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Noisy neighbours in room next door!
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank djclothier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sevastianach, Διευθυντής at Oscar Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for choosing Oscar Hotel for your acommodation.Also I would personally want to thank you for your kind words and promise you that every year we would get better.Looking forward to seeing you soon in the near future in Beautiful Kos island and Oscar Hotel.

Yours faithfully
Sevastiana Chatzisavva
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kos hotels
0.0 mi away
Aegeon Hotel
Aegeon Hotel
#30 of 48 in Kos Town
23 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sonia
Hotel Sonia
#12 of 48 in Kos Town
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Veroniki
Hotel Veroniki
#191 of 218 in Kos
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Theodorou Beach Hotel
Theodorou Beach Hotel
#43 of 48 in Kos Town
29 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marie
Hotel Marie
#188 of 218 in Kos
42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#83 of 218 in Kos
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar Hotel

Property: Oscar Hotel
Address: 73 Venizelou Eleftheriou | Kos Town, 853 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 218 Hotels in Kos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:2 star — Oscar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oscar Hotel is situated in Kos town making it very easy to access to all attractions: Restaurants, Bar Street, market, old town, boat cruises with diving programs visiting the surrounding islands, major archeological sites and the most popular beach with water sports are all close by, just walking distance away. With a classic decoration accompanied by a warm and friendly staff, the Oscar Hotel gives you a warm and homely atmosphere.Most parts of the hotel are recently renovated.The hotel has 159 rooms)suites,appartments,studios and double rooms) fully equiped with fringde,TV,Air/co,kitchen facilities and bathroom.Also the hotel has 2 bars,one by the pool and one inside cocteil bar,two swimming pools(1 for children),a snack bar-restaurant serving traditional greek food and snacks and a breakfast area with greek buffet.Furthermore Oscar has Internet spot and wireless Internet with a small charge.Parking,aircondition and sunbeds are free of charge. Hotel Facilities Services: Daily cleaning service Bicycle / Car rental service Fax facilities Internet access for hire Safety box at reception Medical service Iron at reception Changing rooms Non smoking and smoking area Pharmacy Facilities: Main indoor Bar Lounge area / TV room Dining area 3 lifts Library Swimming pool Children's swimming pool Sun beds free of charge Outdoor Pool bar / tavern ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Oscar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oscar Hotel kós

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing