We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel :)”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #73 of 219 Hotels in Kos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Stayed here in Aug 2011 and wasnt a bad little hotel.
Had a nice (small) pool and breakfast was continental but ok, ordered food a few times at dinner and it was quite nice too.
The rooms were small but clean the only concern I had was the bathroom as the shower wasnt very clever and was just a curtain and the plug was in the middle of the bathroom floor and there was not very much room in there.
The staff were friendly enough especially the bar man (whos name I cannot remember).
The majority of guests were dutch so didnt speak to many people as only 2 people were English but they were all pleasent enough and said hello with a smile.
The hotel is in a good location with resturants around it, the centre not far away and only a short walk to the beach.
The little strip of bars isnt far from to hotel, with livlier bars and a younger crowd.
Was a little takeaway to the side of the hotel in the oppesite direction to the centre witch had nice kabbabs :) only like 2 euros but they were massive and good quality not like over here!
Go to the aqua park also-there are shops around Kos which do excursions and you can get them quite cheap from the one near Mcdonalds in the centre.
Also go on a boat trip and go to the food farm restuarnt (I think its called), not far from the hotel.
Overall hotel was cheap and cheerful as expected and would return if was on a budget :)

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool on the middle floor-go on the website and email the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

it must be v/good have been there 7 times going back in sept. lovely family &staff just round the corner from kinari street & that takes you down to dolphin roundabout & the old town

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elmgds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Situated in an ideal location. very clean hotel with helpfull polite staff.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Clean, modern rooms, great pool and bar area (thankgod for cocktails and scabble when the rain came), close to everything but in quiet residential area. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dbth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

My wife and I have been to Kos on several occasions now. We usually stay on the Lambi side of Kos Town as we just prefer it. Previous stays have been at the Artemis, Saint Constantine and Elite. We booked the Imperial as it is in close proximity to the other hotels mentioned plus we read the reviews here. We expected it to be better than we experienced.

We booked via Sunset (Thomas Cook) and if you book with TC or Sunset, you will not get one of the upgraded rooms unless this is changed for 2012 (with all rooms renovated). More on this in a moment.

We arrived and we were greeted by a receptionist who was helpful. We knew about the €20 charge for a safe box (for two weeks) and the €5.50 charge per night for air conditioning, but when sitting in the foyer on several occasions, it appears others were not so happy about the air conditioning cost. We did our homework first though but it is still ridiculous in this day and age to pay for air conditioning that should be in the price.

We paid the full price via Sunset and sadly got one of the non upgraded rooms. It was a little tired what with a tiny shower plinth (resulting in water going everywhere) and a mirror that needed replaced etc. Saying that, we had a pool view that was appreciated. Don't expect a TV in the non renovated rooms though.

Breakfast was pretty poor and it was simply the worst we have experienced in over 20 years of travelling in and around the Med. Coffee was not warm enough and was bitter. There were no yoghurts, even local Greek yoghuts. The cheap cornflakes and orange juice that was dilited orange (and over-diluted at that) did not help. Orange coloured water. Boiled eggs were over-cooked. Breakfast finishes at 9.30am. The only positive was being able to sit outside for breakfast. Out of the two week stay, we only came down for breakfast three times which probably sums up our views!!

The pool is a perfect temperature and is clean. The pool area is a little enclosed what with surrounding buildings and banana trees, so expect the area to lack any kind of a breeze, especially in the hot summer months. The pool loungers had no foam covers and were uncomfortable.

The pool food was very good and priced fairly. The drinks on the other hand were expensive when compared to every bar we went to during our two week stay. All other hotels we visited at night were also a lot cheaper.

The hotel is clean. The towels are usually only changed once a week and the cleaners are just lovely. Keeping towels dry means hanging them over the balcony every morning. They are also pretty course so no nice soft towels here I'm afraid.

The staff do try their best to accommodate you and the hotel is on a quiet road so no traffic noise at night. They have a shower and changing area in the basement if you have to check out at mid-day and have a flight later in the day. Accessing it was appreciated.

We saw the upgraded rooms with flat screen TV's, lovely decor and fully renovated bathrooms. It is just a shame all the rooms were not renovated but the other shortcomings just spoil what could be a good hotel.

We enjoyed our holiday but sadly won't be back to the Imperial.

Room Tip: Get one of the upgraded rooms for a more comfortable stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j111dja12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

I would highly recommend this hotel, the staff are all very friendly and although the room we stayed in was a little dated, it was clean with the towels and sheets changed twice in the week we stayed. We had a room overlooking the pool (113) which was a little noisy from the bar in the evening's, but once we had purchased air con (which was very reasonably priced), we couldnt hear the bar.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear if you dont like bar noise, but if you are going to join in, it really do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirsty b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Very friendly. Stayed one night en-route to Patmos. Managed to leave shoes which they very kindly posted back to us!
Rooms very, very clean, and nicely renovated. Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flyinghollander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kos hotels
0.2 mi away
Paritsa Hotel
Paritsa Hotel
#21 of 48 in Kos Town
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kosta Palace
Kosta Palace
#59 of 219 in Kos
621 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aegean Houses
Aegean Houses
#16 of 48 in Kos Town
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Peridis Family Resort
Peridis Family Resort
#18 of 48 in Kos Town
131 reviews
5.2 mi away
Kos Palace
Kos Palace
#118 of 219 in Kos
54 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maritina Hotel
Maritina Hotel
#30 of 48 in Kos Town
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: Amerikis 35-37, 853 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 219 Hotels in Kos
Price Range: £25 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Imperial Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Kos
Imperial Hotel Kos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing