We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family run hotel, will help with any questions”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #73 of 217 Hotels in Kos
Certificate of Excellence
Llanelli
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful family run hotel, will help with any questions”
Reviewed 11 October 2012

ok here we go, Arrived Kos late at night took nearly an hour to get to hotel because of all the drop off's. Bar was still open when we got there so we put bags in room and went down for a drink.
slept well, we were not in one of the refurbished rooms but saw them and they are very nice all the rooms will be refurbished in 20013 so no need to worry about what room you will get, all have tv on wall nice shower units not big but good size, Baloney,I have read about the charge for the air conditioning,we didn't use the air conditioning but their is a charge and if you know before you go you can factor it in if you want,. Michael , Tony and the family are very helpful they go out of their way to sort out any problems you might have, they will lend you a travel plug if you ask and at the end of your stay if you hand your room in they have showers you can use so you can enjoy your last day .I can not find one negative point on the customer service this hotel offers the guests.they look after you in the Bar don't you Tony :) and Michael is as star all on his own, everyone we meet had been back at least 4 or more times and we will be returning next year. OK the Imperial is bed & breakfast, the food is very simple, ham, cheese,cereal , rolls and boiled eggs, orange but this is more of a squash (but you find this all over Europe) coffee and tea, you can eat in the dinning room or out side up to you they don't mind.if you don't get up for breakfast don't worry you can go across the road to Hasan and he and Hafize his wife will look after you more on them later :) the towels are a little hard but this is because its hot and they are all dried outside ,take some of your own as you have to take yours to the pool anyway so no hardship.We had good internet connection in our room but i'm sure there are black spots you find that any were.Maid came every day or some time every other day ,we didn't find this a problem, they are lovely and the rooms are clean in fact the hotel is one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in and I am a fussy person that's why I am glad the rooms will all be refurbished next year :) Ok the pool , yes there is music in the evening and laughter as people enjoy themselves and the bar is open for as long as you want to have a good time all different nationality's Greeks Dutch, Belgian etc) … thus a nice mix of friendly people , now I am the worlds worst if I don't get my sleep so i always take ear plugs when ever i go away not always because of the noise outside but because of the noise of people in hotels closing doors talking i'm sure you get my drift, I did not hear anything so take some with you .towels well you need to dry them i don't mind i wouldn't ruin my holiday.just don't look up :) Kos town is under a 5-10 min walk depending on your mobility, all flat and you quickly find the short cuts,Fab beach , plenty of places to drink,eat, good food , we didn't have one bad meal, cost you can eat a very good meal for just over 10.00 each that's and evening meal .lunch under a fiver depending what your likes or dislikes.The town is wonderful to explore and sit in the square or by the harbor in the evening, we hired a car for 3 days and went exploring,we went to one of the local beaches so it was really quiet and wonderful warm sea fish swimming beneath the surface so take a snorkel with you , we went to sunny beach, it is before bubble beach and paradise beach these are lovely and if you don't mind crowds and lots of sun beds , I like it a bit quieter, only a couple of euro for the sunbed and great to chill but you will need transport, Kos is a small island and not a great deal of traffic on the roads roads are wide so don't worry if you have never driven on the wrong side of the road give yourself a couple of hours and you will drive like a local my husband did :) there is plenty to visit be aware the times some places close for siesta so check times. we visited another of the island to go see the volcano were good footwear,
I Ok food, Jackson's dutch run, fab Greek yogurt a meal in it's self we shared comes with honey and nuts and the rest of our meal was great as well,the restaurants at the font of the Harbor were also nice, but the best place we found was a little place Opposite our hotel called the CARAVAN ,Hasan is one of the most wonderful men I have ever come across in my life he makes all his customer's feel like they are part of his family, he could not do more for you if he wanted to , He is a man of such caring for people and works so hard , he looks after you he never keeps you waiting even when he is so busy ,I have such admiration for this guy and his wife they work so hard to make sure we have a wonderful meal and experience you meet new friends just through eating at his place. The food is fantastic and if you want something he has not got he will get it for you, no were else have we ever found someone to takes so much time for his customers than Hasan, How on earth he keep's going i do not know the man is amazing.

Hasan we will be back next year and hopefully all the people that read this will find you and say Ant and Laura told them about you x Kos is a wonderful place with wonderful people. The Imperial is only a small hotel and we think it should have more stars I know stars are for the amenities but we would give them defiantly for the warm welcome .So tnx to Michael , Tony Elizabeth and your mum& Dad and all the staff at the Imperial for a wonderful stay.
Just a note, to all of you bonkers Swedes and Belgians and dutch lot for a great time ,
Especially Paul & Inger , tnxs for the card and ouzo's . hope this has been a good read .

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank isetstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    71
    27
    5
    5
See reviews for
24
121
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cuzco
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

The hotel's location is good, a 5 minute walk or 10 minute stroll down Kanaris St. to the Dolphin roundabout at the harbour. Also close to the beach.
We paid extra for a refurbished room, not having seen an unfurbished room, I don't know if it was worth the extra or not. The room was o.k, althought the bathroom is on the small side. There is a small fridge and a wall mounted LCD tv. Air conditioning is an extra 6 euros per night.

The cleaning is not very thorough especially the bathroom sink, which had very poor drainage. Bed sheets were changed twice weekly, although the beds were not made up, just the top sheet laid in a pretty pattern at the bottom of the bed so you had to make it yourself.

Ladies, don't bother to exfoliate before you come on holiday, the bath towels at the Imperial will remove all your dead skin cells at first time of using. Unfortunately they will also remove most of your live ones as well. Honestly, I could sand paper a skirting board with one of these! There must be a national shortage of fabric softener in Greece. My wife bought a towel locally.

Breakfast is repetitive, consisting of cereal, very watery orange squash, cheese, ham, bread rolls, bread boiled eggs and two other egg? based dishes of some kind. If you like tea take your own tea bags. Occassional variations consisted of pomegranite seeds and a couple of other things of indeterminate origin. For Greece it's not too bad.

Never ate at the pool bar so can't comment. Staff were very friendly, and all in all it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meld8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Hotel was ok ,friendly enough staff, Unfortunately internet use in room was poor and I had to constantly go to lobby. If you don't mind the towels and clothing hanging from the balconies , the loud music around the pool and the change of towels and bed sheets every second day it's o.k. Fits well with the Kos crowd if that's what you are looking for.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caro089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Nice Greek family run hotel with an excellent location in kos town. Your just a step away from the beach, and the little port with all the restaurants, bars, shops. But in a quiet area. The beach closest to the hotel is really nice. We had read beaches in Kos town were bad and first were looking to stay in a place out of town, but we were very happy that we stayed in kos town eventually. The beach was very good, and in the evening there’s enough to do. All other places outside of Kos are quite small, not much to do. Just rent a car and go there by day. You can park the car safely in the street of the hotel or at a parking lot behind the corner. Would recommend renting from ‘Kos Rent a Car’. Lots of different tourists stay there (families, couples, young party people, Italians, Scandinavians, Greeks Dutch, Belgian etc) … thus a nice mix of people

Great swimming pool and pool bar. Lots of sun beds on the deck and seats in the entrance and on the balcony. They serve some drinks and good snacks at reasonable prices! Although food from the poolbar is great, the breakfast is little boring if you stay during one week (boiled eggs, bread, toast, jams, ham cheese, olives, honey and that’s about it. Sometimes tomatoes or cucumber). Kind of missed the Greek yoghurt and some fruit during breakfast.

Rooms are modern, with a nice big double bed (not 2 mattresses joined together). There is a desk, a fridge, a big closet, a bathroom with a big shower (always hot water) and a balcony with a table and seats. Minor comment, the sink in the bathroom is quite small and with the tablet right above it is very difficult to wash your face. In addition some sheer curtains would be recommendable to prevent the neighbors seeing inside but still having some natural light in the room. Doors are quite thin so if there are obnoxious people making a lot of noise in the hallway or banging on their door you can hear it, but normally this should be ok and as said before you’re staying I quite neighborhood. Air-conditioning worked well and was included in the price. Free Wi-Fi is available in the rooms and throughout the hotel. In addition this hotel is suitable for disabled people.

So would definitely recommend this hotel for your stay in Kos!

Room Tip: The back rooms maybe don't have te greatest view, but oy don't have the noise from the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica_on_vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

My daughter and her boyfriend booked through Thomas cook and was shown as bed and breakfast included. The web site show as a 1 and 2 appartments with cooking facilities and fridge.We were unaware that the b@b was classed the same as a hotel room with no other facilities included. We felt this was not made clear on thomas cook site or hotel site as it does not mention any b@b only 1 and 2 room apartments with facilities. So we are not sure who is to blame for the mix up.They were given a very small room and although it had a pool view and was an updated room,they were not happy.
I have to thank the management for changing the room and giving them a bigger room with a fridge, although not updated, they liked that better as they felt it looked more traditional but basic which they expected. They had no hairdryer supplied even though it says there is one but reception loned one on return each night.The breakfast was very basic.Even with this they thought the hotel was great. Not far from the busy centre and close to a nice beach with water sports.Lovely fresh water pool with little birds drinking from it.which they enjoyed watching.The drink in hotel was a little more expensive than some other bars but they did spend a lot of time there as they enjoyed the friendly atmosphere, pool table and board games supplied.
This was thier first time in hols alone, as young teenagers. Again i would like to thank the friendly staff for making it an enjoyable experience for them.

.

Room Tip: Usually i prefer high levels but they liked the low level around the pool as it had a private patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank forou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

i just want to say how much we enjoyed staying at the imperial.michael , tony and family could not do enough to help us.all trip they were so warm and friendly and we all came back feeling we have friends for life.hotel is lovely and food was top notch.would recomend the imperial omlette.most nights we didnt feel like going down the strip as we had everything we needed at hotel.what a laugh we had with everyone at hotel.thank you all so much for everything and we hope to be back at imperial next year.one last thing tho, TONY HOW IS THE PONY HAHA. great bunch of people...talk soon ..... maurice...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mauricesheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Thank you Michael, Tony & family for what was the best holiday of our lives. We went to Kos in June 2012 for our wedding. We came armed with 50 Irish/English family and friends and the Imperial Hotel kept us ALL happy! There was nothing they couldn't do to help. The pool was lovely, plenty of sunbeds. Our apartment was spacious, clean and had a lovely pool view. Even our cleaning lady was a sweetheart! The pool food was really delicious, we tried just about everything and it was as good as any restaurant in the main town area. Tony is a genius at cocktails and always up for some good fun. They were a pleasure to be around while on our holiday. On the day of our wedding the whole family at the hotel welcomed me down with cheers, rice and rose petal confetti. I had beautiful bunches of white roses arranged in my room and all our guests were given traditional Greek sweets before they headed off on the coach to our church for the wedding. We really couldn't believe what good luck we had in choosing this hotel for our special time in Kos, we cannot wait to go back! x

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kos hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sonia
Hotel Sonia
#12 of 48 in Kos Town
370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paritsa Hotel
Paritsa Hotel
#27 of 48 in Kos Town
115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astron Hotel
Astron Hotel
#21 of 48 in Kos Town
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Saint Constantin Hotel
Saint Constantin Hotel
#39 of 48 in Kos Town
115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#87 of 217 in Kos
164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kosta Palace
Kosta Palace
#70 of 217 in Kos
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: 37 Amerikis, 853 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 217 Hotels in Kos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Imperial Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Kos
Imperial Hotel Kos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing