We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all-inclusive holiday hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grecotel Royal Park
Ranked #104 of 217 Hotels in Kos
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great all-inclusive holiday hotel”
Reviewed 4 June 2009

We went to this hotel having read the reviews and done our research. We wanted a beach and pool holiday somewher quiet. We didn't plan to sight-see, be entertained, make friends or use the kids club. As it turned out 20 May was the first week of the season.

This is a fantastic hotel. The all-inclusive is what it says on the tin. You can go and needn't spend a penny more. The food (in various forms and locations) is available all day and is plentiful and good quality (for this kind of buffet style service). All drinks were free and easily accessible, and towels and sunbeds are included too. When we went there was no queing or restrictions on anything and in the week we weren't asked to show our all-inclusive card once. The service is friendly and excellent with the staff making an effort to learn the childrens names and even the housekeeping staff go 'the extra mile'. Everything is spotless.

The two pools are good. Two by the main hotel building (child and adult) and a complex of 3 by the beach (adult, child, and slides) and the beach excellent and shallow. When we went it was windy which I gather is a feature of that coast. We liked this because it kept you cool.

The hotel is a bit off the beaten track though you can walk to Mamari, and regular busses go from the hotel to Kos town, and of course car hire is easy. This is where you need to decide if this hotel is for you because as other reviews say this is not a predominantly Brit. Hotel. The entertainment was thin, and predominantly German and the kids club though it looked excellent and the staff could speak English was the same, so was thwe TV. So if you want nightlife and to have all your entertainment provided and make new friends and watch Corrie in the evening this place is not for you. Maybe Thomson need to make this clear to people. Having said that because there were only three English speaking families there we got tot know theem all which we might not have done in other circumstances. The German and Dutch guests were family people like us and perfectly courteous. I suspect hotels catering for Germans have higher standards but maybe I'm out of date on that.

We are a well travelled couple who are fairly exacting in what we expect and we are quick to complain but we had a great time here and have nothing but praise for it. I only hope they don't see the good reviews and put the prices up because we would love to go again!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Divaddivad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    61
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
113
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
milan, Italy
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2008

No doubt there are many resorts in the world who are perfect for families and with an idyllic setting.
What makes the Grecotel Royal Park different is the staff.
From the team at reception to the maids.
Every single person working in the Grecotel is exquisitely kind and always triyng to accomodate every single need of their guests.
Mr Kalogeridis, the Rooms Division Manager was a great example and extremely helpful with our late night departure.
The beach is perfect for young children, with fine sand and a lot of space, we only had few days of strong wind in 2 weeks.
The food is delicious with a great choice especially for young children. The babies are also catered for every night with proper blended food. We stayed in the garden bungalows, the decor was simple but the rooms were spacious and comfortable. The bathrooms are the only thing that needs refurbishing.
Be aware the resort has 90% of german speaking guests, therefore night entertaining and daily activities will be conducted in german with some little translation in english on the side.
I strongly recommend this resort and no doubt we'll be going there again soon!

M. Tesoro
Milan. Italy

  • Liked — the staff, the huge garden in front of our bungalows
  • Disliked — the bathrooms
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank marilena-Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium - Vlaanderen Regio Aalst
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2008

Stayed there the last week of august 08. Hotel has two swimming pools, an "aktive" one with slides and a more quiet pool. A good all-in (no hidden extras) Rooms are nice but a little outdated and need to be "redecorated". Overall a nice hotel but more a 3*plus then a 4*.
Food was good.
Hotel with a lot of kids and most of them from Germany (no problem!)
F. Belgium

  • Liked — The pools
  • Disliked — The chairs at the bar
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FilipBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2008

We visited this hotel in June and we loved it. It is a good 4 star hotel! And it is really an all inclusive resort: so no hidden extras.

It was a very relaxing holiday. The beach is a lovely sandy beach with free sun beds and umbrellas. And it is ideal for long beach walks. A romantic hint: You have a very beautiful sunset: so take a cocktail from the bar and end drink this on the beach at sunset time!

Pools were great! We also had much fun with the slides (beach pool).
The gardens are very beautiful and peaceful.

The food is plentiful and very good! You even have different wines to choose from. There are also various theme nights to keep the menu exciting (eg Asian, Mediterranean …). And on Sunday morning they served milkshakes and a glass of Champaign. There is also a Tavern at the beach pool if you don't want to eat in the main restaurant: they serve excellent lamb!
They were many children (between 0-6years) in the hotel and it seemed to me that the hotel is very child friendly! They even had a separate buffet for the kids.

We had a large sea view room in the main building (rooms are recently renovated)

  • Liked — beach, food
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emma19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilbury, Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2008

My fiance, my 1 year old little boy and myself visited the Grecotel in early june last year and we were very impressed. When we first arrived we were abit weary about where the hotel was, as it looks like it is in the middle of no where when you first arrive by coach!!

Staff
The staff were very friendly when we arrived and offered to take our luggage up to the room for us. And all spoke very good english, the barmen were very funny, and the restaurant staff are lovely. My little boy especially loved them as they brought him over a sweet everytime we left the restaurant!

Hotel
Very clean and beautifuly decorated throughout. There were three pools which were all very clean, the one which is closest to the beach had a slide and did tend to get abit packed ..... and noisy! We spent most of our time in the other pool as there was a shallow pool for the children next to it and it was also very quiet.

Food
In the actuall main restaurant there is so much to choose from and they even have a selection for children. Everynight was different and they had several themes during the week we were there. There was also some music being performed one day whilst you ate. We didnt eat in the other restaurant but were told that the food was very nice there also. If you are all inclusive you can help yourself to ice cream, popcorn, sandwiches and cakes between meals.

Entertainment
The entertainment was ok but could have been better, we booked this holiday with thompson and they didnt tell us that it wasnt in english! There is alot of German visitors to this hotel so all of the entertainment was in german, and although a majority of the reps were german there were a few that were willing to translate for us. There is a disco for the kids more or less everynight but if you venture out of the hotel you can hear the entertainment from magic life which is next door and it sounds alot better!!

Excursions
Please please please dont make the same mistake we did, whatever you do DO NOT book the excursion trips through your holiday maker. We did however and got ripped off big time! We went for two trips which were the waterpark ...(which isnt anything special so I wouldnt bother!) and the turkey trip which was quite good. After being on our excusions we spent a night in mamari and spoke to an english man who has his own buisness where you can book the trips through them......for half the price!!! We were abit gutted.

Other then what I have written the rest is up to you, the beach is lovely, and if you get a chance hire some bikes, even if you have young kids, its a great way to get around and it keeps the children occupied while you top up your tan!!! Hope this has been useful, enjoy your holiday :-)

  • Liked — The staff and the beach
  • Disliked — The entertainment
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank cjay86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2007

Me and my girlfriend were in this hotel for 7 nights, end of Sep-begining of Oct. I could this hotel recommended to someone who doesnt need to be entertained by someone, but can find his own way. Because this hotel is full of German people (about 85-90%) so do not expect some good entartainment in english from hotel staff.
But the rest was amazing, staff exellent, food wonderful, hotel and room clean, nice atmosphere.
We used Thompson for our holiday. If you decided to go for trip do not used what is offered by Thompson, because it is really expensive. Just pop in to Marmari's town travel agent and you can get same trips for about 50% cheaper than from Thompson.
What i would sugest is use travel agent for trip to Turkey and do not forget go for Three Island trip, but if you are unlucky and see is rought, you can be sick, my girlfriend was :-) but i enjoyed it much, so be prepared, but it is worth. And for trips to island"s destination(Zia, Paradise Beach,....) just rent car or scooter.
My opinion is to rent scooter because you do enjoy it more, wind blowing yours hair away,...

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Waclav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2007

Absolutely appalled that Thomson can get away with advertising windsurfing, kids clubs fitness when everything is conducted in German so the activities we had paid for we could not take part in. Apparantly there were 25 english out of 700 guests.There was 3 nights of entertainment which for 2 evenings was a bloke playing a keyboard, 1 night was a Greek night which was just 3 people on stage dancing. There was no atmosphere whatsoever We paid £3,800 for 4 adults 1 child so had expected more than just food and accomodation.

On the upside the scenery is stunning and the beaches fantastic. The Greek staff at the hotel are lovely.
Our idea of a family holiday was to have fun doing activities together and meet new friends. Thomson should have to advertise that the hotel is predominantly German so that customers can make informed decisions.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Nothing to do
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dixiepups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kos hotels
11.7 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
0.6 mi away
Sandy Beach Hotel & Family Suites
1.3 mi away
Caravia Beach Hotel
Caravia Beach Hotel
#2 of 15 in Marmari
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Princess of Kos
Princess of Kos
#9 of 15 in Mastichari
185 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gaia Royal Hotel
Gaia Royal Hotel
#10 of 15 in Mastichari
341 reviews
4.4 mi away
Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel
Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel
#5 of 15 in Mastichari
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grecotel Royal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecotel Royal Park

Property: Grecotel Royal Park
Address: Near Marmari, 853 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Kos
#57 Luxury Hotel in Kos
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Kos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grecotel Royal Park 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grecotel Royal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Royal Park kós
Grecotel Royal Park Hotel kós

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing