We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandys Studios & Log Villas
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Iris(Psalidi)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Nicon(Kos Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Galaxy Hotel(Kos Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Kos Bay(Kos Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
36
17
11
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
17
11
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoffee makerair conditioningexplore kospool areaplenty of sun loungersbar streetcabinpetrosgeorgefridgetoastercycle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Just got back from a week at sandy's apartments and can honestly say it is the friendliest place we have ever stayed. All the staff, from the cleaners to the the bar staff could not do enough to welcome you. The food in the restaurant was lovely and huge portions too. Sandy's is a bit out of the way, about 35 mins walk in to the town centre though there are plenty of shops and tavernas after a 10 min walk. Cabs are 6 euros in to the town and the bar staff are always willing to phone one while you wait in the bar. The only thing we could complain about was the bathroom, not the nicest area and you did have to run around in the shower to get wet but hey what do you expect for a 2 star. The service and attentiveness of staff deserve 5 stars. You will love it if you dont go expecting a palace, some of the areas are a bit tired looking but you soon forget about it and appreciate Sandy's for its high quality staff.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JayjaysLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Just returned from a weks holiday at Sandys, with my daughter and her 2 children, 14 16.
Great holiday, spoiled by terrible flight delays with Viking Airlines 4 hour delay going out from east midlands and 24 hour return journey from leaving Sandys to getting back to EMA via a bus transfer from gatwick we will NEVER EVER FLY VIKING AGAIN! )

SANDYS APARTMENTS were spotless& maid service every day beds very comfy 3 to a room, though still plenty of space left. Kitchen quite basic with very few utensils we had a wooden spatula & a pair of tongs! 2 electric rings which were slow to heat up, but an electric kettle was provided so we managed.Trying to fry an egg then lift it out with said utensils caused a bit of a laugh!
Aircon was expensive at 40 euro per week but essential as it was so hot at night. We had adjoining rooms so we just paid for 1 room and left the connecting door open - which worked up to a point.
GEORGE & PETRAS behind the bar/shop/reception were very nice tho watch out for Petras firecrackers on greek night..... we ate here several times & the food was good, with reasonable prices.Beer cost 2 euro or 3 if a large one.
Bathroom was adequate with plenty of hot water, though the shower curtain was useless and water sprayed all over the floor so we had to mop up with bath mat. Only one LOO roll is provided and and our lovely rep,Matt, told us that it would not be replaced.TOP TIP: pack a LOO ROLL in your case!
We loved the view from our rooms, the turkish coastline with its lights at night looked nice and we saw ferries go by each evening. The gardens looked nice too with log cabins and orange trees.
Sandys is a bit of a way out of Kos town but we hired bikes for 3 euros per day and this was good for getting into town ( we had a taxi once which cost 6 euros) try to get one with lights though - we didnt and wished we had as it was dark cycling up the lane. We walked back from kos town one night which took about half an hour.
We liked the pool at sandys though more sunbeds are needed - if you are up late its hard to find a sunbed.Also a few more umbrellas would be good as it was so hot.
The boys liked the pool table which cost 6 euros per hour but petras let them use it for 3 for half an hour..
We booked a 3 island cruise on "calypso" this moors up in kos town marina and cost 18 euro per adult and 15 per child. It was excellent- the kids liked the water chutes which the captain let down into the sea so they could slide down into the sea or jump off the top deck. We visited Kalymnos & 2 others included were, lunch and a visit to a sponge factory, good value & a great day out.
.
WE LIKED BEST: The small family - run atmosphere, very clean rooms & the pool area.
WE LIKED LEAST: Shower curtain overhead "CONTRAPTION" - and oh yes, - VIKING AIRLINES.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drusillaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Dont know where to start . Read some reviews and was a bit worried but it was one of the best holidays we have had . Went with my husband and our 15 year old son who both alsio had a fantastic time .
Yes the appartments are basic but very clean and comfortable .
Pool and bar area always clean and staff where excellent at all times so friendly and helpful all the time George (the owner) even had time to show us round one of his lodges which were lovely .
Petros was lovely and had such a great sense of humour and worked soo hard
Yes it was a walk into town but as other people say you get used to it and maybe a torch would be handy on the way back
We ate at the restuarant in the complex 3 times and never had a bad meal the food was lovely
we made lots of friends and often stayed up chatting till 3 am and they kept the bar open till we left xx
if you are lucky enough to go when Tammy another guest is there you will have a gret laugh her and her daughters are lovely and go every year for 3 months !!!!
Also if you travel with olympic you get the best rep ever Matt. He was fantastic for the whole 11 days we were there nothing was too much trouble . Spoke to everyone and was such a laugh So if you want a relaxing friendly complex this is def the place to go

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank karenandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

We have just returned from a week in Kos at Sandy's and what a great week we had. The apartments are good by Greek standards, there were 4 of us and we were put in adjoining rooms with a connecting door, enough to give us privacy but great for eating breakfast together in the mornings. Having already been to Greece and knowing what their self catering standards are, I went prepared, took a bread knife, tin opener just in case, but as it turns out they were in the room. It is pretty much hit and miss with catering on a room by room basis and tends to be what others have left behind. The rooms were very comfortable and more than served their purpose. Maids came in daily and did a good job, clean sheets and towels were provided during our stay.
The complex itself is lovely - the pool was a reasonable size and we never had any problems with sunbeds - although someone did have Spanish standards and was out before 8 reserving their prime location. Plenty of umbrellas and shade if needed. The pool side bar served good snacks and drinks throughout the day and the prices weren't too bad, 1,5 euros for a soft fizzy drink and 3 euros for a pint of Mythos. The taverna did a nice range of evening meals and reasonable prices. I ordered a salad one evening as a side order and it was a whole meal in itself - perfect. The 2 teenagers with us had no problems with food even with their typical teenage fads.
I don't understand complaints about staff rudeness, George, Petros and Adam always greeted us with a smile and played practical jokes, I suppose using manners yourself has a huge impact on the service you receive back.
The apartments themselves are a little walk into town, but we took the route along the sea front and saw the harbour, marina and plenty of activity on the way down so we barely noticed the time or the distance. On the walk back, we would stop at a little greek taverna half way for a lovely cup of coffee, but when you are walking and talking about your evening you are back before you know it.
It was a 10 - 15 minute walk down to the beach and sunbeds were necessary due to the heat of the sand. 5 euros for 2 beds and a brolly was not bad. The thing I liked was the sandbags that go out into the sea so you don't have to worry about walking over rock and shingle to get in for a swim.
A visit into Kos town at night is a must! It is very cosmopolitan and loads happening, really buzzing. From the maze of little shops in the lanes, to the squares where people are just sitting pondering life. It suited both us older mums and dads and the two teenage girls in our party.
I wouldn't hesitate to go back and would choose here anyday over any 4star luxury in other parts of Europe. The friendliness of the Greeks on a whole is second to none.
On a final note, another plus point of Sandy's is the lovely Olympic rep there - Matt! A real credit to his employers, friendly, not pushy, and he gave you the same smile and service irrespective of whether or not you had bought any of his excursions. A great guy!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rugs13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Sandy’s Apartments are clean and comfortable and that’s my main concern when booking. The pool is really nice and clean as well and so is the pool area, there are just enough sun beds but only just enough and the pool bar is really good fun.
The Olympic brochure says it’s about 20 minutes walk into Kos Town but it’s more like 35 at least, just turn left at the entrance and then left again, I had a few meals in Kos Town but found that the food at Sandy’s was so nice that I eat there most of the time (try the Stifado).
Kos Town itself is really nice and a walk around the castle is a must. Price’s for drinks in some of the bars were really expensive the cheapest that I paid was 3 euros a pint but it was more often than not 4.5 euros.
Would I stay at Sandy’s again? And the answer is yes, it may be out of the way a bit but the Olympic price is so low that its good value for money, the only downside of the holiday was the ridiculously timed flight out.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RRichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews