We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quiet hotel, but for for going to the beach”
Review of Apellis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apellis Hotel
Ranked #202 of 219 Hotels in Kos
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Nice hotel, at the end of the community but you can find not far many tavernas with good food (try EYKALIPTOU...you won^t regret). Breakfast was correct, even if IDENTICAL each day!!!!
BUT if you want to go to the beach (especially with children), be aware: the beach in front of the hotel very windy and rocky. We rent bycicles and went to Lambi beach that is not far and a bit better (still rocky tough...) There were stones in the water also...terrible!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bianca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2012

We booked a double room and were given a twin, we asked to be given a double and were told that the hotel did not have any double beds despite us seeing one in a room which was being cleaned. The room was awful, tiny and stuck in a 1950s time warp. The shower had a sort of garden hose pipe instead of a shower pipe and gave out a pathetic dribble of water. There was no air conditioning or fans available and so at night to prevent being eaten alive by mosquitos we had to shut the patio doors and bake in an oven like temperature. For that reason we spent as little amount of time in the evening in the room as possible.

The breakfast wasn't great either, boiled eggs, warm milk cornflakes and some rock hard rolls.

I felt we paid far too much for the experience. The hotel was ok but very overpriced and any photos don't reflect the actual hotel. The location was pretty good and the pool and pool bar were nice bonuses.

All in all I can't recommend this hotel to anyone especially considering there are better (and cheaper) hotels available.

Room Tip: If you must come here you can ask for a room at the front to get a view but they didn't honour m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Mi Fiancee and I wnt to the Apellis hotel the week commencing June 27th 2011 and was pleasantly surprised as to how nice it was. We have never been to Kos and found this location through the internet and because of the low cost had low expectations.

However the hotel is excellent! The staff are pleasant and welcoming and greet you on arrival no matter when you arrive. The hotel is very clean and the sheets are changed every day. No air con but we could not complain as the room was not unbearable. This was because the room got the sun in the morning and in the evening was in the shade.

Breakfast was nothing grand but then again with the heat who wants to eat loads! peaches, bread rolls, ham, boiled eggs, cheese and cornflakes is about it. Maybe I am easily pleased.

The hotel is about a mile and a half from Kos town. My recommendation is to hire a pedal bike on the first day of your holiday. There is cycle paths all the way to Kos town and you can just leave your bike locked wherever you want and come back later and its always there.

The only negative is the fact that due to the economic cutbacks the island has not been sprayed to keep down the Mosquitoes. you will get bitten to death! recommend taking lemon shower gel and sprays.

Room Tip: Pick a room that gets the sun in the morning as it will be cooler at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BigRichKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Fantastic small and quite hotel with personell who really did a superb job day after day. We loved the pool with 12 hour snackbar open between 08:00 - 20:00. Here we could even eat our dinners if we wanted. The beach was on the other side of the road from the hotel. Not the best quality on the beach near the hotel, but very nice sand and water into the sea. Kos is full of beaches, so we did not find that a problem. But on lazy days it was fine to use the local beach. This is a typical family or single pair hotel. Quite envirnoment and perfect placement just outside Kos city. With a bike we where in Kos city in only 10 minutes.

This hotel did not have aircondition. We also noticed that other hotels, studios and apartments did not have that on Kos. There is a constand wind on Kos. It might have something to do with that. Surprisingly it did not bother us that much...

The crew told us that the hotel in late 2011 will be replaced by a 5 star hotel. It has been a very rellaxing and overall a very fantastic expirience with this consept. We might be back for more some other year!!

We recommend to check out this link: http://www.apellis-hotel.gr/

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Apollo
1  Thank Bernhard_Reknes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

We have just come back from a weeks holiday and had a great time staying here. The hotel is not far from Kos town, a 30min walk or 5 mins on the bus which is 1 euro and the stop is directly outside the hotel. The place is very quiet and has great views of the surrounding islands and a great sunset spot. The beach across the road is awfull but if you walk to the right about 5 mins away is a better one. If your really into beaches I would recomend getting the number 7 bus to tagiki beach which is only 10mins away and cost 1.80 euro.
The breakfast isnt the best but its OK, theres cheese, ham, bread, fruit, cornflakes, tea and coffee to choose from.
The rooms can get really hot at night as there is no air con but I think you can get a fan from reception. We had the doors open the first night and got bitten to death by mosquito's so take your sprays and plug in's.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nightfairy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

One week with my wife and we had a wonderful time at Apellis. Web rented bikes to move around. Great food on every tavern we visited, I recomend Old River near the beach and Petrino in the old town.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mats J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2008

The Apellis is situated on the outskirts of Lambi approximately 2 miles from the centre of Kos town.

This hotel is quiet, friendly and has spectacular panoramic views of other Greek Islands and the Turkish main land.

All the rooms come with bed & breakfast, the rooms have a small bathroom, a balcony, they have two single beds, a dressing table, built in wardrobe and a fridge, they are basic but comfortable, The rooms are cleaned daily with sheets and towels changed approximately every three days.

The bus stop into town is situated right outside the hotel, the fare is only 1 euro to Dolphin Square, buses run frequently right through to the early hours of the morning.

We hired a bike from one of the many hire shops this also was really good value for money at only 2 euros a day, tandems were also available as well as plastic child seats which attach to the back of the bike (at extra cost)

The day reception staff and cleaners are warm & friendly, the lady (I'm really sorry we did not get your names) in the Apellis pool snack bar is a gem, she speaks little English but manages to understand everything you say to her, she has an absolutely amazing laugh.

The pool snack bar is open from 11am until 8pm, the menu is not extensive however it is well cooked & resonably priced.

From 4pm until 12 midnight you have the evening receptionist Snezana & her husband Jorgos (you must try one of his amazing cocktails) they are a fabulous couple who are only too happy to advise & assist you on all the best places to visit & eat (you must try the Creten restaurant at the bottom of the steps that lead up to the church with three blue & one white cross in Kos town)

The island is very small, we found that we only needed to hire a car for three days, you must visit, The Thermes (hot springs) and look for the car high up in the rocks. Zia is a must to see the sun set.

Overall the hotel is quiet, friendy & very clean, it has a clean pool and is set in lovely grounds in addition the staff are wonderful.

We will be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank nettienterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kos hotels
0 mi away
Neptune Hotels - Resort, Convention Centre & Spa
0 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
0 mi away
Kipriotis Aqualand
Kipriotis Aqualand
#2 of 19 in Psalidi
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
0 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
0 mi away
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Fokas
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apellis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apellis Hotel

Address: 853 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 219 Hotels in Kos
Price Range: £21 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apellis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Atrapalo so you can book your Apellis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing