We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just got back - had a lovely week!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
TUI MAGIC LIFE Marmari Palace by Atlantica
Ranked #43 of 224 Hotels in Kos
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire, UK
Level Contributor
448 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“Just got back - had a lovely week!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

Our holiday was great - we got back this early this morning. We were also really worried about recent reviews having booked an excellent package through Secret Escapes, so much so that I emailed the hotel directly. Their response was fast, friendly, reassuring & polite.
On arrival we had a junior suite - room 6216. Great room, great view & balcony, good quality furnishings, a safe, lots of wardrobe space, lovely bathroom & shower, air con, clean, quiet, & the nearby pool was lovely too.
Only slight downside is that yes - the beds are very hard, but we slept OK.
The complex is very well planned, clean & excellently maintained, with loads of sun beds & little areas & separate pools. The main pool is huge & well used by families & groups; it has a pool bar & jaccuzi, whilst the other pool areas are quieter & better for couples.
There are tennis courts, basketball courts, a well equipped gym, table tennis table, & a 25metre laned swimming pool as well.
The staff without exception were great - friendly & helpful (& all were multi lingual).
The food was also good. There are 2 a'la carte restaurants - the Italian reached from the main reception, & the Greek Taverna down by the beach, as well as the main restaurant. We did not have a bad meal all week, we found plenty of variety, & the chefs cooked up some lovely tasty dishes, like zucchini roasted in garlic oil & topped with baked beef tomato & feta cheese - lovely!
The all inclusive red & white wines were also surprisingly drinkable, although the rose was a bit sweet for us. It would be good to have Greek coffee included on the all inclusive as well.
The hotel staff work very hard to keep their guests happy, & all respond well to friendly greetings & please & thank you's - somewhat lacking from some guests!
The beach was OK, but you do have to pay for the sun beds provided on the beach; we didn't see the point with all the pool beds available.
The only downside for us was the smell of sewage on several evenings near our room - but we are not sure where the smell was coming from.
Tam Tam bar/restaurant just along the beach is worth a visit, & we hired a car for a day looking around the island, from Kosmos (based in the hotel) - also all good.
Spa - we didn't use it as the weather was too nice, but we did have a nose around - it doesn't look as welcoming or exclusive as some I've seen - but I've also seen worse!
The receptionists were extremely helpful with anything they were asked, & the late check out we had in our package made things so very easy & stress free.
The hotel also sent a bottle of wine to our room as it was my birthday whilst we were there - a nice surprise.
Overall, a stress free, very pleasant & relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: If you want quiet ask for rooms numbered 6000 or 7000, blocks 2000 are nearest to the main pool &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ducatibabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    163
    66
    35
    16
See reviews for
220
206
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012 via mobile

Take away the irritation and disruption of being assigned lesser rooms, no kettle, empty mini bar, no DVD, no robes, smell of sewage, tasteless drinks, average food and heavily restricted "all inclusive" and you're left with .... well not very much at all. So just hope you meet some really enjoyable, excellent fellow guests and your holiday may just have a chance. Oh, and one other thing, take mosquito repellent / after bite.
Finally, have to mention the staff who on the whole were excellent. Special mention to the girl behind reception with the gorgeous smile that lent me her own personal phone charger every single day. Thank you - a credit to the hotel that doesn't really have much credit going for it at all in other shapes and forms.
Raj

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RajeevD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

I would like to thank for Groupon for the offer, best ever hotel, it was my honeymoon, they have did a free upgrade, nice food, clean and friendly staff, i was scared reading all the old comments, PLEASE DO NOT TRUST THEM...
- Thomas Pathma

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thomasvino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

Welcomed on arrival and shown to our suites vis golf cart. Introduced to the suite. Very roomy and comfortable. All inclusive food covered all tastes, beer was cold, wine fine, no gin and tonics. However, with all the facilities and friendly staff we had a great holiday and would reccomend it to friends and family

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the pool bar and was close to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

We holidayed at Marmari Palace September 2012. We booked through Secret Escapes/Broadway Travel expecting a Junior Suite at a five star establishment.
The first room given to us on arrival was room 7103, a standard double room not a Junior suite. A long and upsetting "discussion" with a very unfriendly receptionist ensued, who insisted that our room was a suite. We eventually had to pay to log on the hotel public computer to show her the Junior Suite asnadvertised on the Marmari Palace Hotel website. Even then she still tried to say we had a different suite, how she thinks a small double with one arm chair can pass as a suite is beyond me. Finally after standing our ground she agreed to move us the next day when a junior suite became available. We finally got moved after 2pm, thereby wasting most of the first day of the holiday. The suite we got moved to was on the top floor of block 3 and was just as shown on the hotel website. The bathroom and bedroom furniture and fittings are old and tired but fully functional. Air Con in both the lounge and bedroom worked adequately though the bedroom AC unit was noisy. We had a fridge but it wasn't stocked as a minibar. There was not a kettle, or tea or coffee provided. If it is windy the wooden pagoda structure on the balcony creaks and groans which can make for some disturbed nights sleep. The room was very clean though, a maid cleaned it every day throughout our stay and put fresh sheets on the bed and towels in the bathroom.
The pools around the hotel are very clean, and there were plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas. Pool towels are collected from the pool bar after 10am and can be swopped for clean ones as often as you wish. The tiles on the bottom of the pool are a bit sharp in places and my husband scrapped his toes on them when playing water polo, so it may be worth investing in some pool shoes to wear.
The food in the main buffet restaurant was always plentiful, though never exciting and often it wasn't labelled so you wouldn't know if it contained meat - a problem if you are a vegetarian. Also the food wasn't very hot so there is no chance of having a leisurley meal. The Secret Escapes website talks about "show cooking" - we didn't see any examples of this, I am also not sure where the Gourmet Restaurant with A la Carte dining was - the Italian restaurant serving pizza and pasta surely can't be classed as A la carte? The drinnks included in the All Inclusive were very limited, the wine was okay but there wasn't a wine list to choose from just house wines, red, white or rose. We couldn't get booked into the Italian restaurant but tried the greek taverna and was very disappointed - it has to be the worst example of Greek Cuisine on the whole of Kos. The Bar staff and Restaurant staff were all very attentive and friendly to us.
It is worth taking a bus into Mastichari or Kos Town to get some decent food. The bus service is very reliable and cheap. It is also worth braving the mosquitos at Tam Tam beach cafe (a short stroll along the beach from the hotel) food there was very good and not too expensive. Get there before sunset to watch the sun go down.
We wouldn't go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: If you have booked a junior suite make sure you know what you should be getting and be prepared to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bigmommasally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

My Wife and I went on a 7 day all inclusive to this resort advertised in the Daily Telegraph as a "Five Star handpicked resort".

Good points :
Clean and neat, great pools, nice beach, magic weather and the beer was cold.

Not so good points:
Rooms are dated.
The food is mass produced and poor,it was pretty much like being back at boarding school.
Majority of staff seemed untrained and treated guests as an inconvinence.
Wine and the "free" brandy and ouzo on the A/I was low quality ... pretty much undrinkable.
We ended up going to local Taverna's to eat and have a few drinks... they were great.
Would I ever go back ? .... not a chance !

Room Tip: Get one with a Sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LozzoUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiptree, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

Had an enjoyable week at the Mamari Palace. Other reviews are correct in that there are a lot of Russian and German guests. There were only about 12 English couples.

Hotel, pool areas and room spotless. Was impressed at lack of any litter. The Maid changed the sheets every day and gave us fresh towels.

The reception staff were helpful and were able to recommend local tavernas for food when the all inclusive selection became a bore. The receptionist even charged my kindle and phone behind the desk on the last day as we had already checked out of our room!

I must admit I was disappointed in the food supplied for dinner. Very repetitive and salty. Some of the dishes were very over cooked, chewy, not much flavour or cold. Breakfast and lunch was not a problem. I stuck to continental breakfast and salads.

Having been to other Greek islands but on a self catering basis I have been used to the wonderful flavours of traditional dishes. I had not expected much from the Italian restaurant on site but was an improvement on the main restaurant. For someone who usually eats low fat foods, everything seemed quite oily.

The Greek restaurant on the beech was quite chilly in the evening due to time of year. Food was a disappointment as nothing like what the local tavernas serve.

Best food all week was from an Italian restaurant in kos town - very cheap but excellent service. Mastahari had a nice selection of tavernas and we chose one directly on the beach. Finally had the lovely Greek food I had been waiting for.

The bus service is reliable and the stop is directly opposite the hotel. Cheap and no hassle. Reception can provide the bus timetable.

Overall really enjoyed the holiday but I would have been disappointed of we had not have explored the island and remained at hotel for the whole stay.

Would really recommend the honeymoon massage set in candlelight with music. I would come to this hotel again to see the rest of the island but would not expect 5* food which is really a 3*. Everything else is 4*. Hotel still worth a visit but wasn't quite the luxury I expected.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kos hotels
0.8 mi away
Gaia Palace Hotel
Gaia Palace Hotel
#2 of 15 in Mastichari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
10.4 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
13.5 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
6.5 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mastichari Bay Hotel
Mastichari Bay Hotel
#3 of 15 in Mastichari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI MAGIC LIFE Marmari Palace by Atlantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI MAGIC LIFE Marmari Palace by Atlantica

Property: TUI MAGIC LIFE Marmari Palace by Atlantica
Address: 4km From Mastihari, 853 00, Greece (Formerly Magic Life Marmari Palace)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Kos
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Kos
#33 Luxury Hotel in Kos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — TUI MAGIC LIFE Marmari Palace by Atlantica 5*
Number of rooms: 332
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your TUI MAGIC LIFE Marmari Palace by Atlantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marmari Palace
Marmari Palace kós

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing