We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rare gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Captain's House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 33 Patmos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A rare gem!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I'd never been to Patmos before but from my reading it appeared there was only one choice.
Situated literally 100 m from harbour and about 200m from the Ferry Terminal, Captains House is one of the first buildings seen as you disembark. The room I had was beautiful, with a balcony overlooking the harbour. The owner, a charming lady, cannot do enough for you, and the breakfast was excellent. The brewed coffee was the best I had in Greece, and each day she bakes a cake. Being right in town, the hotel is only a few minutes away from the main shopping area and many restaurants. On each floor there are small lounge areas, and to cap it all off a beautiful swimming pool and outdoor area at rear.

Room Tip: Get front balcony, but need to book well ahead I'd imagine. It was still quiet in mid May.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wrodd99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    25
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
34
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed for three nights in September
The Hotel is very well located just a few metres from the sea and port
Hotel is spotlessly clean and the owners and staff are extremely friendly - good and varied breakfast, balconies overlooking the sea or pool, free wifi in some rooms
The pictures on the web-site do not really do the hotel full justice as it is much more modern than I expected
Would give five stars for the hotel itself but as a holiday can only give 4 stars as I was not overly impressed with Patmos
I guess they cater for a lot of day trippers so there are always new customers turning up but apart from Petrino the cafe in the main square and a taverna up the back streets whose name I cannot recall the service and quality of food wasn't great
Maybe we were unlucky but had a much better experience on Samos and Leros on the same trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garymich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We debated whether to stay in Skala town or outside, but were so glad we chose to stay in Captains House. It's tucked away at one end of the harbour, with pretty views and easy walking distance to all the restaurants, bars and shops. Its a family run hotel, and the owner is really helpful and prepares a delicious breakfast buffet with home made croissants, cakes and really good coffee. You can eat your breakfast at tables on the small beach in front of the hotel. It is spotlessly clean and has been recently refurbished with new bathroom fittings, comfy beds and pillows. Undoubtedly the best rooms are those at the front with a small balcony and harbour view. If available it is worth spending Euro 20 a night extra for the suite 23 which has a balcony and is larger ( 4 beds), lighter with a bigger shower and Wifi connectivity. The shower cubicles in the other rooms are a bit cramped, and not all can access Wifi. The rooms at the back do not have a good view and are darker.
Next to the hotel is the old donkey path up to the Chora which is worth the climb for the views (about 1 hour walk).

Room Tip: Undoubtedly the best rooms are those at the front with a small balcony and harbour view. If availabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xxxasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canarian Islands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We went to Patmos to spend only 2 or 3 days , but finally we stayed one week to a very quite and relax family hotel, with nice sea view , just in the center . It get a small terass on the sea , nice and clean room with everything working - even if the bathroom is a little small - Wifi connexion, in the quieter place of skala. It has also a swimingpool on the back, excellent breakfeast and even a funny little dog, no bigger that one cat.
The ladie of the Hotel was also smiling and frendly.
And you ate just 3 steps from the old center of skala ,with many stores and bars.
You are also just close to a good tratoria " The mermaids " with a nice service and smiling girl.
We recommend this place.

Special note :
If you go there, after visiting the monastery, don't miss the Hora , a really beautifull and magic old village - like Mykonos but 50 years ago ! - and almost no tourists !

Room Tip: To sleep very well, take a room with balcony on the back. On the front , rooms with sea view can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loudima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

Captain's House is a lovely place to stay! The hotel has everything you need for a nice stay at Patmos: nice and clean rooms, we had one with a balcony with sea view, good breakfast with sea view as well, swimming pool, friendly manager and car rent. Close to the dock and the small little town of Skala (everything in Skala is walking distance). Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reizger_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

The hotel is just opposite the ferry terminal
Its in a grea position .Try and book a front room with a balcony, it will keep u enertained for hours
The lady who owns the hotel is charming and goes out of her way to help
Breakfast was great,the rooms modern and super clean.
The pool was handy

Great hotel.......we will be back again !

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TimFromAustralia3220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Floridaluvtotravel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The Captain's House in Patmos is an authentic captain's house right on the water. It is a very quick and easy walk from the ferry slip and it is on the opposite side of the densely crowded destination hotels,It is a short easy stroll from one end of the harbor to the other end. The Captin's House is on the quieter side of the harbor, more where the Patmos locals live. The Captain's House is authentic, spotlessly clean and well maintained. Get a room with a balcony facing the water and enjoy watching people in their day to day activiries. The Captain's House is a wonderful, comfortable place to stay. I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balconey facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gamkmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patmos hotels
0.2 mi away
Skala Hotel
Skala Hotel
#1 of 5 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Bay Hotel
Blue Bay Hotel
#2 of 5 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.3 mi away
9 Muses Patmos
9 Muses Patmos
#5 of 20 in Patmos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Patmos Aktis Suites & Spa
0.2 mi away
Rodon Hotel
Rodon Hotel
#3 of 5 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chris Hotel
Chris Hotel
#4 of 5 in Skala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's House Hotel

Property: Captain's House Hotel
Address: Skala | Patmos Island, 855 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Patmos
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Patmos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Captain's House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing