We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Setting, Wonderful Food”
Review of Vagellis Taverna

Vagellis Taverna
Ranked #64 of 73 Restaurants in Patmos
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Unique Setting, Wonderful Food”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We have been eating at Vagelis for 20 years. Manolis, son of the owner whom we knew well for so many years, took over the restaurant a few years ago, and his mother is thankfully still cooking up some of our very favorite dishes, including the stuffed vine leaves with lemon sauce, beetroot with her outstanding skordalia (creamy garlic sauce), and her one-of-a-kind taramasalata. Vagelis has an absolutely unique and beautiful setting in the whitewashed square of the old town of Chora, a UNESCO World Heritage site. The atmosphere in the square is a little more reserved than in most Patmian restaurants, and I find myself minding my table manners, possibly out of a subconscious respect for the elegance and history of the surrounding town. However, Manolis manages to create both a dignified and yet friendly and relaxed environment at the same time. I should also say that the service is professional and attentive. Main dishes that we cannot resist are the pork in paper (seasoned with delicious herbs) and rabbit stifado, perfectly cooked so that the rabbit and onions are tender and flavorful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diiplo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    16
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Combine this Restaurant with Vagellis Restaurant Reviews”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Dear Trip Advisor,

There is only one Vagelis (Vagellis if you prefer) Restaurant in Chora, no Vangelis. The misunderstanding arises because in Greek, Vagelis is pronounced with a light "n" before the "g" even though there is no "n" there in the name. You have thus created two sets of reviews for the same restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank diiplo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athens
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A definite place to stay away in Patmos....”
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

We bumped into Vangelis walking around the beautiful Patmos Chora. It was the most unfortunate dinner of our stay!
The service was slow and lacked manners. Obviously they were busy but if they cant handle it, they should not serve so many tables.
The food was bad and we all suffered with stomach aches all night long. Just stay away....

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank natvag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Taste and Place spliced with spice”
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Really Chora is the place that matters in Patmos, Skala though pleasant is just a recent add-on. And in the central square of Chora, under a nearby bellfry is Vangelis.
Here I found a real art in the preparation of meat - I had oven baked pork - how do you say en papillotte in greek - that was, positively "luscious" as my granma wld've said. Most refined notes of spices - you try & figure out which. My wife's roasted goat was something to justify the climb as well (yes it is possible to climb up by foot from Skala on a stone footpath, and I recommend working up your appetite this way). Καλι ορεξι !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank francoisfourvoye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vagellis Taverna also viewed

Patmos, Dodecanese
Patmos, Dodecanese
 
Patmos, Dodecanese
 
Patmos, Dodecanese
Patmos, Dodecanese
 

Been to Vagellis Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing