We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Byzantine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Byzance Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #4 of 32 Patmos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Byzantine”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We were comfortable and had a good stay at Byzance, and yet things could have been better. It certainly didn’t start so well. We arrived by the daily ferry (which was on time) along with another couple who had also booked, but found the reception to be deserted. We rang the bell, but nobody came for at least 10 minutes, and seemed surprised we had turned up wanting rooms. The lady was Russian, speaking some Greek and little English.
The hotel is only 200 metres from the port – you see it as you sail in. But it’s behind one row of buildings, so our spacious balcony looked out on a blank wall.
The room was of good size with ample clothes storage, and a safe in the wardrobe. But the plumbing was byzantine. A hand held shower with no curtain, so it always flooded the floor. A washbasin with a mis-matched waste system, so we had to reach underneath it to find the lever to let the water out. The water temperature was sometimes only lukewarm. At least the toilet worked OK!
There are lots of stairs, and no lift.
Breakfast was a big spread, delicious thick yoghurt with honey, bread & butter, cheese and ham, toast, marmalade & cakes, really good fruit juice. But it is spoilt by horrible instant coffee. However, upon request they did give us lots of boiling water and tea bags instead.

Room Tip: It seems pot luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    23
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012 via mobile

stayed for one night whilst waiting for the ferry to Samos. Its very close the port so we easily dragged our bags up to it. The room was clean and spacious and as we'd pre-booked our stay through the internet we got a good price on a larger room(No56) which served the two of us well. I would have more disappointed if we had to pay the rates that were indicated on a notice within the room. The two negatives were that the shower curtain was largely rubbish and the floor of the somewhat small bathroom became a pool. The breakfast was ok i suppose but it was of the cold variety with bread,ham,cheese and some preserve avalable. The coffee was lovely. There was a small cooker and a fridge in the room so we could easily have our own fry up if required. The views were poor but the hotel does not boast great views if memory serves.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonys1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We stayed for two nights. The bed was so firm that concrete would have been softer, we found all the blankets and pillow in the room and slept on them. The air conditioner was noisy all night too.

Breakfast was good and the room was clean. If you like noisy hotel rooms with super firm mattresses, this place would be fine. For the over all quality, this place is way over priced.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockguy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland OR
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2009

OK, we were there before the start of the season, but we were the only people in the hotel, and that includes the manager, who left after serving breakfast every morning. We were put in a charmless building across the street from the main hotel, which had a lovely view of the back balcony of the home in front of us. The room was plain and barely adequate. Maybe in season, if you can eat on top of the roof, it'd look more like the photos in the web site, but we never saw that.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PortlandDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2006

The hotel is very conveniently located being only a 5 minute walk from the ferry dock. Our room had air conditioning, TV (only Greek channels) and an ensuite bathroom, and the room was spacious. The receptionist didn't seem to speak much English so our arrival did result in some confusion but after a few minutes we got our key ok. The breakfast was very good, toast, yoghurt and cake were served together with some juice and coffee.

It isn't the most luxurious of hotels, but was clean and quiet. We paid 70 euros per night for bed and breakfast, but that is around the going rate for Patmos.

Helpful?
5 Thank josephdlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patmos hotels
0.1 mi away
Blue Bay Hotel
Blue Bay Hotel
#2 of 5 in Skala
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodon Hotel
Rodon Hotel
#3 of 5 in Skala
60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Skala Hotel
Skala Hotel
#1 of 5 in Skala
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Patmos Paradise Hotel
Patmos Paradise Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kambos
75 reviews
1.5 mi away
Petra Hotel & Suites
Petra Hotel & Suites
#2 of 4 in Grikos
257 reviews
1.6 mi away
Patmos Aktis Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byzance Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byzance Hotel & Apartments

Property: Byzance Hotel & Apartments
Address: Skala, 855 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Patmos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Patmos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Byzance Hotel & Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Byzance Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing