We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Hotel Eleni Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Eleni Beach
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tilos
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Whilst the location and the genuinely charming family remain a real plus the cracks are now beginning to show - in the original building (by far the best spot/view) the 70s plastic bathroom fittings are now brittle and rickety...the lack of a shower curtain or shower holder means that the bathroom is awash with water (and treacherous underfoot) every time a shower is taken! Our room wasn't as clean as we've come to expect from the Eleni - really dirty under the bed and cobwebs complete with spiders behind bedside drawers...the poor overstretched cleaning lady who works flat out dawn till dusk simply can't cope with the task...there used to be more cleaning staff in previous years? The eccentric 'charm' of the poor breakfasts has now worn off and the addition of a slice of very poor quality (think Aldi 'value' range!) spam and processed cheese only serves to remind you that you get far better elsewhere. We've championed and recommended the Eleni for years but (and we feel disloyal saying this) sadly can't do so any more - you can get better service for your money elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay in the new block if possible - we've stayed there twice before and had a great time and whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cynogwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    29
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
67
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Found it completely by chance and were delighted with the location, hotel and service. Michalis was at the quay to meet us when we landed and was there throughout the holiday if anything was needed. Looking forward to going back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shuftie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skovde, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed two weeks at "Eleni Beach", a down to basics family run hotel.
The pros: adjacent to the beach, free sunbeds and umbrellas for the guests, friendly atmosphere, polite and helpful personnel, walking distance from the town, pull-down mosquito net on the balcony doors, nice view, quiet, rooms well-furnished, AC, free and almost working Wi-Fi, grocery delivery at your room, six bottles of mineral water waiting upon arrival in your room.
The cons: almost non-existing pillows, they have yet to discover cloth softener, no hook for the shower head, no shower shelf for shampoo, hair conditioner, soap bar, etc, no soap, shampoo dispenser, monotonous and very limited breakfast (and hard-boiled-to-green eggs).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoylake
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed here for a week I think any more and I would have started to get very critical. The Hotel is very basic and the rooms typical Greek accommodation. The biggest gripe I had was the "Wet" room --not actually a wet room but the curtainless shower with no wall holder means water goes everywhere and as the floor drain is set proud of the rest of the room the floor was always wet and slippery. There is a cleaner who works incredibly hard all day long but is rather hard-pressed and thus the rooms are not as clean as I would hope for. The bed was hard, lumpy and uncomfortable and the mosquitios annoyingly active ( which of course is no fault of the hotel)
So what was good? I hear you say.... well the price was excellent and it included a very nice breakfast out on the sea facing terrace. the hotel is literally a stone's throw from the beach ( I tried and did throw a stone into the water from my balcony) The hotel is ideally placed on the promenade in Tilos and 5-10 minutes away on the flat from all amenities. The owners are friendly and helpful and will deliver stuff to your room Water etc from their supermarket in the main town area. I think I would shop around for the next visit to Tilos but if I ended up staying here again would not be too despondent. Would probably ask for a first floor room with a well drained shower-room tho'!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

very nice hotel on the beach of tilos. really, all of the hotels and apartments in tilos are on the beach. it is a great thing about the town. this hotel is no exception in that regard. we had a room on the second floor, with a little balcony overlooking the beach. close enough that I could have spit into the sea if I wanted. but if I had missed, I would have hit the family lounging on the deck chairs and there might have been some unpleasantness.
managers were accommodating, breakfast was simple, gravelly beach in front of the hotel identical to all the other gravely beaches in front of all the other hotels and apartments in tilos, which is to say, really really nice.

it's a very convenient hotel. except that at night, the rooms are hot and the air doesn't come in for some reason. only the Mosquitos do. and they are a total plague. if you don't mind sleeping with air conditioning, that's the solution.

also: there are more goats than people on tilos. consider contributing to population control by eating some.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank livnat l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Rooms clean and comfortable, breakfast good if a bit monotonous. The location, virtually on the beach, is hard to beat. What makes the hotel special is the personal touch. Although the harbour is only about 300m away we were taken there by car. Then Michalis appeared on the quayside to check that everything was in order and that the catamaran was on time. It's good to stay in a hotel where you feel confident that if you had a problem they would help you sort it out. I'll be back.

Room Tip: Book early for a room within yards of the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We returned from Tilos last night. First time on this island and loved the atmosphere. Very wild and rugged. Hunting banned here so unusual to see all the road signs intact rather than peppered with gunshot as in most Greek destinations.Cats on this island are well looked after and Lynne & Ian, an English couple who live in Lavadia, arrange medical care and neutering for the ones they can catch! Eleni Beach is real gem, only a paved footpath separates it from the pebble beach. Run by Michaelis and family who are passionate about the business. Our room (15) was ground floor with a large balcony. In the original building with a large fridge and free air con. which we only used at night, it was kept spotlessly clean. Lovely sea view but could not see the port or town due to trees. We had requested the top floor but the hotel was almost full and we were very late booking. Breakfast included and served outside at shaded tables. As mentioned by others sunbeds & shades free to guests. Very quiet at night and pleasant (level) seafront walk into centre took around 10 minutes, however some excellent tavernas on the front which we used most of the time just 3/4 minutes from the hotel.We dont visit Greece for luxury holidays and cruise ship type buffets and this hotel provided everything we needed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tilos hotels
0.1 mi away
Dream Island
Dream Island
#3 of 4 in Tilos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livadia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apollo Studios
Apollo Studios
#1 of 8 in Tilos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Stefanakis Villas
Stefanakis Villas
#8 of 9 in Livadia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Irini Tilos
Hotel Irini Tilos
#1 of 2 in Livadia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castellania Hotel
Castellania Hotel
#2 of 9 in Livadia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eleni Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eleni Beach

Property: Hotel Eleni Beach
Address: Livadia | Tasos Aliferis, 850 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Tilos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tilos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eleni Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Eleni Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eleni Hotel Tilos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing