We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Trip to Tilos!”
Review of Apollo Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apollo Studios
Ranked #1 of 8 Tilos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bonn, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Trip to Tilos!”
Reviewed 28 June 2011

This June my girlfriend and I went island-hopping in the Dodekanes and our second stop lead us to Tilos. We did not know what to expect and had not booked a room before. On the ferry from Rhodes to Tilos we met Ira and Andreas who offered us a studio at Apollo. From the harbour it took us two minutes to walk to the studios, which are situated within the centre of the nice village Livadia, directly next to the main square with two or three bars/cafes, two small supermarkets, a bakery and a great tavern (Nikos). The studios are not directly located at the beach, but approx. 50 meters away from it, so it is still perfect. Our studio had a balcony anyway, so we could take our breakfast overlooking the beautiful bay/harbour of Livadia. The studio has been freshly renovated and had everything we needed: a private bath with a shower, a small kitchen, an electric kettle, fridge, dishes and cutlery, AC,... All looked brandnew and it felt as if we were the first to rent this nice room. Furthermore we could use the great roof terrace, where you could sit down, look at the bay and the surrounding landscape and have a beer or wine you can buy in the small supermarkets.
It is a great place to discover the beautiful island of Tilos, we went hiking (you can buy a small map at the tourist info with 9 hiking trails, but i think the map of Tilos you can buy at the small travel agency at the harbour is more exact), snorkeling and swimming, had beautiful bays just for ourselves and visited the surrounding villages and the monastery at the western coast of the island with a rented scooter. After the stressful stay at Rhodes the stay at Tilos was perfect, very relaxing, a beautiful landscape and crystal-clear water. From the islands we visited (Kalymnos, Patmos, Rhodes and Tilos) this was the nicest spot we have found so far in the Dodekanese.
But it was especially for Andreas and Ira, the landlords, that made the stay at Tilos and the Apollo Studios so relaxing and nice. They helped us everywhere they could, gave us information about the island, always had time for a little talk although they were busy working for the wellbeing of their guests. A very warmhearted and dedicated young couple, that made us feel at home in Tilos from the first minute on. So: Check out Tilos and the Apollo Studios are your place to stay! We had a great time there and will definitely come back!

Marcel & Anna

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IPWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloStudios, Manager at Apollo Studios, responded to this review, 24 July 2011
Thanks thanks thanks for good words about me and Ira and ApolloStudios. We are waiting you here again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    21
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
25
98
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

My girlfriend and I spent a couple weeks in Greece island hopping. We only planned on staying one day in Tilos, but after landing a place at Apollo Studios we ended up staying for three days and only wanted to stay longer. We were greeted by Andreas at the harbor and he put our luggage in his car to take us to our room. Even though it was only a short walk from the harbour we felt that we were being welcomed into his home.

The room was an amazing apartment with all new fixtures. You could tell that Andreas and his girlfriend have been working hard to get the place ready for the summer season. Everything is high quality and they are their for you if you need anything at all.

The location is great because it is next to a few great restaurants and just off the main square and right off the beach in a quiet area. There is even a great bakery a block away. We really enjoyed the rooftop view, which has to be the best on the island. We look forward to coming back and seeing what other amenities they will add to this fantastic hotel. Don't tell too many people about this place because we want it to be our secret too.

Ryan and Molly
San Francisco and London

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rj_hildebrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloStudios, Manager at Apollo Studios, responded to this review, 24 July 2011
Hello! Thank you very much for such a nice review. We are waiting you to come back ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Me and my husband were visiting many islands of Greece and this year we dicided to visit calm island named Tilos. It was our first time in Tilos. We booked through internet a studio in the hotel "ApolloStudios" in May and we didn't regret that we did it, the studio was majestic.
In the port (which is very closed to the hotel) met us the friendly smiling owner of ApolloStudios named Andreas. And in 2 minutes we were in the hotel. Knowing that the hotel is just renovated we didn't expect that the studio would be so nice. We got a studio on the 2-nd floor with view to the see. The sea was 2 minutes walking from the hotel.
We saw a lot of hotels in Greece because we travel a lot, but this studio was one of the best, having inside not only air conditioner,but also fan. For us it was very good, because we don't use airconditioner. Everything inside was new, the bed with ortopedic matras, the new kitchennet, the Led TV, the toilet was new and modern, the room inside was so nicely fixed and warm and it was cleaned every day. The studio was fixed in the different style of all other hotels we visited before in Greece. It was realy something unforgetable. And the price of the studio wasn't expensive.
On the top of the hotel there is a nice roof tarace where we were having our breakfast, reading a book and enjoying the beautiful view to the sea and to all the village.
We liked Tilos very much with its friendly people, virgin nature and calm atmosphere which makes you to forget the noisy city life.
Having such a nice hotel and vacation in Tilos me and my husband were staying 1 week more instead of staying 7 days (as we booked before).
Next year we'll come again to visit the nice island Tilos and we'll book the studio in the wonderfull hotel "ApolloStudios"

Paola & Frode
Oslo,Norway

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Paola4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloStudios, Manager at Apollo Studios, responded to this review, 24 July 2011
Big big thanks for this review. We happy to make you happy :) And see you next year ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

After looking at 5 or 6 studios and one hotel by the sea (usually our preferred location) and finding each one to be uninviting, we looked a little further and found Apollo Studios just 50 metres from the sea.
We stayed in one of the apartments comprising a kitchen/diner with sofa, a bedroom with a double bed and a shower room with a huge curtained shower. All of the rooms are extremely spacious. There is a huge terrace furnished with chairs, a table and sun umbrella. The cleanliness and daily service were truly impressive as was the genuine welcome and all round helpfulness. We didn't get our sea view which we usually prefer but the quiet, privacy and seclusion of our terrace more than compensated. We only had to pop up to the furnished sun deck to have what is probably the best view in the island of the harbour and coast and we often took our lunch and spent the afternoon there.
My only criticism is that the kitchen was not as well equipped as I would have liked but anything I asked for was cheerfully and readily produced and following a chat with Andreas, the young and very keen owner, I am confident that future guests will have everything they need and more!
I heartily and confidently recommend Apollo.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank B8bby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloStudios, Manager at Apollo Studios, responded to this review, 24 July 2011
Thank you very much for such a nice review, for staying in our hotel. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

The june 2009 I spent my holiday in the hotel "Apollo Studios". This hotel wasn't situated near the sea,but it has the wiev to the sea. And to go to the sea it takes you only 3 minutes. I did't regret that I rent this hotel,because the studios were perfect,I felt myself like I'm at home. I had everything:good fridge,washing mashine,tv with any programes,which I need,condicioner,comfortable bed,nice bathroom and everything what I need. It doesn't matter that you aren't near the sea,the best thing is that you feel yourself like you are at home. WHAT ELSE YOU NEED? Realy,I'm not making advertising,I'm just saying my opinion. If you want to spend a nice time in Greece,choose Tilos ireland and choose the hotel "ApolloStudios"

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank IRINASA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloStudios, Manager at Apollo Studios, responded to this review, 24 July 2011
Thank you very much for such good words. Hope to see you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2007

We booked 3 nights in these studios in Tilos through a travel agent in Rhodes who recommended the place. When we arrived we were shown our studio. The "sea view" was of the building in front with just a slight view over the top. The room was small with an old rusty fridge and 2 hobs in the corner. My husband then washed his face and nearly gagged on the smell of the old towels on the bed. We left the studio to go for a walk feeling a little down about the accommodation. After walking along the beach front road and through the village it became clear that there was much better accommadation available so we inquired in couple of places. we were shown rooms that were a 100 fold improvement and cheaper than the Apollo studios. We ended up taking another room in a different place which was the same price and the comparison was unbelievable. We had a fantastic view that could be seen from the 4 poster bed, a brand new kitchen, a private beach and huge balcony over looking the ocean - all for the same price. We asked our travel agent for a refund but was told that the owner of Apollo wouldn't give us any money back even though we didn't stay one night. We ended up extending our time in Tilos as we loved our accomodation and the island so much but I know if we had stayed at the Apollo Studios we would of ended up cutting our time in Tilos short.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
54 Thank Intrepids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloStudios, Manager at Apollo Studios, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
May be it's not a reason to answer to this false review, because it's published in 2007, but I (like an owner and manager of ApolloStudios) feel really upset that somebody wrote such a bad and false review.
First of all, we made full renovation in 2011! We change everything, windows,doors, kitchens with fridges, ovens and etc, beds, tv, design of the rooms, bathrooms and so on. So our studios and apartments are new and modern.Our studios are not small, and we also have big apartments with 2 rooms.
Secondly, our towels are not old, we never use the old towels or old sheets or something else. We clean the studios and apartments every day. We change towels and sheets 3 times per week or if it's needed, more often.
Thirdly, our tourists were and are always happy of our service and accomodations. And if they need something we are always there ready to help and make their stay in ApolloStudios and Tilos happy.
And the last, I don't know who and why wrote this review. And did he/she become happy to write such a bad review. If he/she feels happy to make upset other people, what can we do.Anyway I wish him/her good luck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tilos hotels
0.0 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livadia
27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tilos Fantasy
Tilos Fantasy
#8 of 19 in Tilos
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tilos Mare Livadia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stefanakis Villas
Stefanakis Villas
#8 of 9 in Livadia
15 reviews
3.5 mi away
Eristos Beach Hotel
Eristos Beach Hotel
#5 of 8 in Tilos
58 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ilidi Rock Studios
Ilidi Rock Studios
#1 of 19 in Tilos
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Studios

Property: Apollo Studios
Address: Tilos | Livadia, 850 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Tilos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Tilos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
APOLLO is located in Livadia Tilos. All rooms are nicely furnished with all the comforts as kitchen, fridge, fan, air-condition, balcony.Near distance: beach 50m. Class A' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apollo Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing