We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunset Hotel”
Review of Faros Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tilos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Faros Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tilos
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Being at the opposite end of the horse-shoe shaped bay from Livadia, and a very pleasant 30 minute waterfront stroll, the Faros occupies the optimum west-facing sunset position. The rooms, although simply furnished, are of adequate size, have a fridge and electric jug, and spacious flower-draped balconies. Good wifi connection in room. They also supply an electronic mozzie zapper with mats although (unusually for Greece in my experience) the sliding patio doors are fitted with fly-screens so you can safely leave the door open at night. On the debit side - no TV, shower is typically small so the clammy plastic curtain sticks to your body. In front of hotel is a small (and very narrow) private pebbly beach with fixed rake plastic sun-loungers. The breakfast would have been better if they offered freshly-squeezed oranje juice and not what seemed to be a watery cordial. The restaurant menu, at least the early season time of our visit, was rather limited in scope. The owners are very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spesbona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2006

The Faros Hotel is located at the far end of Livadia Bay in Tilos. We booked a seaview room from Rhodes the day we travelled to Tilos. We were collected from the harbour by one of the owners, Rula. She was extremely chatty and friendly.

We paid 47 euros for our room on 29th September 2006. The room itself was clean with 2 single beds. It was quite sparsely furnished but light. There are double glazed windows leading onto the balcony which has fabulous views over the bay. The balcony also benefits from some beautiful plants and flowers.

The only downside we experienced was that the water pressure in the hotel is high, so you were aware each time your neighbours flushed the toilet at night.

The restaurant downstairs is lovely and also overlooks the bay. The menu was quite varied, although as a vegetarian who eats fish, I was struggling a little. Our waiter was very helpful and took us through the whole menu. He was also kind enough to help me with my Greek.

It takes about 25 minutes to walk from the Hotel to the main town where the tavernas and other amenities can be found. The positive side of this is that the Hotel itself is in a very quiet area. A small road passes behind the back of the hotel but, as it doesn’t really lead anywhere, it is not at all busy.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sarahcallan1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marrei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016
Thank andrea d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zooloo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank usb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tilos hotels
145.6 mi away
Dream Island
Dream Island
#2 of 4 in Tilos
154 reviews
145.3 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livadia
27 reviews
145.5 mi away
Hotel Eleni Beach
Hotel Eleni Beach
#1 of 4 in Tilos
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
145.0 mi away
Ilidi Rock Studios
Ilidi Rock Studios
#1 of 19 in Tilos
91 reviews
145.1 mi away
Apollo Studios
Apollo Studios
#1 of 8 in Tilos
182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Milios Studios
Milios Studios
#1 of 2 in Megalo Chorio
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faros Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faros Hotel

Address: Tilos, 850 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Tilos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tilos
Number of rooms: 202

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing