We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, relaxing atmosphere”
Review of Hermes

Hermes
Ranked #21 of 1,318 Restaurants in Rhodes
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
TX
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food, relaxing atmosphere”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This place is relaxed and has good food. The atmosphere is more pleasant than that of the restaurants a couple of blocks away on the main tourist street which is crowded. Hermes had excellent food with great prices, and several customers obviously came here often. It also had free Wi-Fi and a lovely setting.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Irrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    543
    72
    20
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Lovely food, reasonable proces stumbled upon this restaurant by accident,owners and the family are very friendly ,we watched some of the works cup games here

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hidden gem deceives the eyes but not the taste buds!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stumbled upon this small taverna nestled along the street and far enough from the louder places of the square. I don't like hustlers and Maria and her husband are the perfect welcome couple. A humble restaurant that has not over priced itself. With giros, Greek salads, ztiziki and many traditional yummy Greek apps, this place is outstanding. Our family of four with a tween and a 10 year old LOVED the food and patio charm. It is all under stated but over the top flavourful. I also enjoyed Mythos later in the evenings without family and great to relax under the grape vines!! This is a must return to restaurant for lunch or/ and supper!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous authentic Cafe / Taverna - the best in Rhodes old town.”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I cannot recommend this place highly enough. Small genuine, authentic Greek cafe / taverna in Rhodes old town with very friendly and accommodating owners, wonderful food and amazingly low, non rip off prices. Attentive service, freshly laundered table cloths and overall a very clean establishment. But it's the food and the prices that really make this place - evidenced by the fact as many Greek's eat and drink here as tourists. Large local wine €2. Large Mythos beer €2. Greek Salad (one of the best you'll find) €4. All food freshly cooked to order and proper home made chips that remind me of the ones my Mum used to make 40 years ago. You can see why most other establishments in the street are empty and this one is mostly full. They are equally happy to serve you just a coffee or ouzo, or a full meal. Please patronise them with your custom and help small, genuine establishments such as this continue. A really happy atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Worcester-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great small taverna”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I enjoyed very much my lunch at Hermes taverna, as well as my boyfriend. It is a small place, on a shday street and nice atmosphere. The food was great, buth not a very wide choice selection, the prices were very good and we definetly reccomend it to everyone. During our lunch there it was always full with either greek people stopping for a coffee and a chat with each other, or tourists getting a beer or lunch. Big like.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Sorina_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hermes also viewed

 

Been to Hermes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing